We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sport, great ale, great place to stay”
Review of The Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bull Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fairford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great sport, great ale, great place to stay”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great little secret. Lovely location right on the square. The hotel is spacious with good food and welcoming staff. Rooms are perfectly sized with nice features. There is a good selection of local ales on tap which was well enjoyed by our fishing party. If you are after a weekend away fishing then this place is worth a try, Fairford is located on the River Coln, it is a great little chalk stream and within walking distance from the hotel. We will be back.

Room Tip: Good veiws of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    59
    51
    24
    26
See reviews for
23
127
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I haven't stayed here but have been in a few times for drinks and business meetings. It's a potentially very cute little spot, right on the square in Fairford and with some nice little quirky touches inside. Drink selection is ok, although possibly a little over-priced. I would like to see it refurbished with a high quality spec, while retaining the touches of history and quirkiness. That would make it more than it currently is in my view.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Business T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is my 3rd visit to stay at The Bull Hotel and yet again it was fantastic, our trip was for 5 people staying in twin rooms on a fishing break. Fantastic value, great service (special mentions to Ian and Jamie), who made our trip extra special as usual, and thanks Jamie for the never ending ribbing. The food was great on both days, only slight downside was that we had the Sunday lunch menu on the evening (late 9pm), and the quality was let down a bit possibly due to it being past the end of their normal service times (our fault). However the beer and wine were fantastic and both reasonably priced, the fishing was excellent (for some) and the weather was amazing. Overall I cannot really fault you yet again, and we will be back next year. Please take the time to visit this little gem, even if it's only for a pint, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterGolfBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I met an old girl friend at the Bull who needed a bit of cheering up, althogh the bar was quite busy we didn't feel at all over looked or overheard.Our drinks were served quickly, and our food orders taken by a very courteous landlord/ manager. Both meals were very tasty, both plates were completly clean, I think that speaks for it self. We followed the meal with coffee, a little strong for me, but then I'm not a regular coffee drinker so maybe not a fair comment. The Bull at Fairford is ok, parking can be a bit of a problem, on this particular day there was a torrential hail storm and I got fairly wet after parking the car ( I had dropped my friend off at the hotel entrance)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

As Fairford locals we have shunned the Bull for the past 3 ish years as the standard of food, service and quality of cask beers was nothing short of below average................WOW!!! what a change now lies in wait with the new landlords in charge. Having visited several times in the last 2 months and eaten there on 3 separate occasions, we thought it only fair to comment on a superb evening. We booked a table of 6 for the Saturday evening midweek but, we upped the table number with only a few hours to go and were greeted with a ' nothing was too much trouble' approach.
3 courses of wonderful food, excellent service and fantastic ales later.....including a very well kept Arkells ale or seven....we were also treated to a round of drinks courtesy of the very accommodating landlord Ian. Whatever he is doing, along with his very capable team, long may they continue. The place is a completely different entity as a restaurant and a local pub and at long, long last it now commands respect. Rather than giving it a wide berth we shall certainly be returning in the very near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19pmc72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have recently stayed for two nights for the first time. Our room overlooked the front of the hotel and it was lovely just looking out onto the square. The room looks like it has recently been refurbished and was very clean and comfortable. Again same for the bathroom, nice to have a bath and good shower facility. Comfortable bed with wonderful clean fresh covers.
Nice bar with traditional ales. We ate twice in bar area and menu was good.
As we are not 'big' traditional breakfast eaters it was lovely being able to specify what we would like with no trouble.
Have already booked to stay again !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night, Tuesday. Reception staff really helpful and friendly. Room was lovely and warm overlooking the square. It's a lovely hotel and I would recommend to couples ", singles. The village in itself is small but very warm and the locals are list helpful. My only regret is that I couldn't stay another night.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dskinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairford
4.3 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
8.0 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
7.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cirencester Town Centre
8.7 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Hotel

Property: The Bull Hotel
Address: Market Place, Fairford GL7 4AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Fairford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fairford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull Hotel Fairford
The Bull Hotel Fairford, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing