We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moreton-in-Marsh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Railway Cottages and Apartments
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We haveŷ stayed in the Cottages for over 60 nights in the last two years and have another 20 booked for the remainder of 2013.we were last there in March and wrote a review before therefore did not feel it necessary to write another,however after reading the last review (what planet are they from?) I felt I must!
If there is a nicer establishment in the price range ANYWHERE in the Cotswolds would someone please let me know!If there are better hosts than Emma and her parents,please let me know!
Please if you are planning a trip to the Cotswolds do not be put off by the last reviewer,you will not find anywhere nicer.

Malcolm & Adele Anderson (Harrogate)

Room Tip: All the properties are fine,depends what you want,we like the extra space so always book more room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Railwaycottages, Owner at Railway Cottages and Apartments, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Hi Malcolm and Adel,
Is it really 60 nights that you have stayed with us? Doesn’t time just fly!!!
Thank you for your very kind review – we understand that some people will like what we offer and some that don’t. We are really pleased that you choose to come back again and again!
Here is to the next 20+ nights!!!
See you very soon!!
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    7
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Channel Islands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed in the Stow Suite for 2 nights although we would have tried to cancel the second night if we could have found any management because although we arrived at 4pm no-one was around to greet us as promised. The apartment was drab, poorly lit, badly set out and generally depressing. Old net curtains hide grubby windows (that don't open) to give some privacy from the busy road. The kitchen is big enough to cater for a house of six in what is a studio apartment for two persons and is therefore completely out of proportion. At least half of the kitchen should be sacrificed for a small sofa as there is no where to sit and relax other than on the uncomfortable bed. The small cheap cafe table isn't even big enough to sit and eat at. I cannot believe that these apartments have had positive reviews. OK it is central but what isn't in this very lovely small market town. We were determined not to let this experience spoil our visit and we had two great meals out. The local Indian restaurant is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Railwaycottages, Owner at Railway Cottages and Apartments, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor before contacting us.

I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay.

Firstly let me run through your list so as not to miss anything:

1. As per the information that we send out to all our guests – we are a family business and we can’t always be at the properties when a family emergency arises. Therefore as per our information that is sent out to you:

“On your day of arrival we always try to make sure that we get to meet and greet you and to give you a guided tour of the property that you are staying in. However, you may not be able to get to us before we leave or we may have to leave before you arrive.

So we have installed a key box next to all the doors of every one of our properties. These key boxes have been installed so that you can have hassle free arrival to your property”
Along with this you also have available to you; an out of office emergency number, an office telephone number that is diverted to a mobile and also an email that you can contact us on.

This information is provided in the property and also outside the office. We were also in the office on the Friday and Saturday.

2. Drab, poorly lit and badly set out – we are a Cotswold Country / town house property and we dress the properties to suit this. I am sorry if our choice of décor is not to your taste. Lighting – they are environmentally friendly bulbs and can take some time to warm up – however, we do still work with the recommended wattage (and slightly higher) of the Tourist board. The property was built in the 18th Century and rather than removing all the character and turning it into a non descript box room we have tried to work with it and not against it. So yes, maybe it is not ideally set out however when you book with us we send you a floor plan of the property so that you know exactly what you are getting.

3. Old net curtains – the Voiles are not old as per above, as the unit is only just 1 year old and they are there to give you privacy from the passing walkers – but this road is far from busy – it’s a side road that is one way and very quiet. Even the parking spaces along this road are usually empty! Yes the glass in the windows may have been grubby, but we have had rain for several weeks now!

The windows do open - they have to open for fire safety and I know that you know that they open because I had to close a window that you had left open on your hasty check out.

4. The kitchen is large – the property has been designed for people with mobility issues and for self catering. Therefore there are certain items such as cookers, washing machines, kettles, fridges, sinks etc that need to be included in the design and unfortunately most of the items are at least 600mm x 600mm and require space. We also have to provide more plates, cutlery etc than what the property actually has to sleep. We have had positive feedback about how well equipped our kitchens are. But yes, I do agree with you that the table does need to be bigger – of which we are sourcing. Yes a sofa would be a positive – but there is no room as shown in the floor plan.

The bed is new – so it is firm and not soft and worn out so I am sorry that this is not to your personal preference. We have actually had people say what a wonderful night’s sleep they have had on it and that it wasn’t worn out!

5. Positive reviews – yes we have positive reviews – why not? I can’t believe that you would go on TripAdvisor complaining and haven’t even bothered to contact me before airing your views – If you had contacted us on any of the above ways of contacting us we would have quite happily assisted you with your issues. But if it was really truly that bad – why did you stay for that extra night – because I know that I certainly wouldn’t if that was really the case!

6. Moreton in Marsh is a small market town and we are just off the Town Centre down a very quite side road. We are one of the closest Self Catering properties to the centre of the town. The Cotswolds has lots to offer and I am sure the Indian Restaurant would appreciate a positive review from you.

We always appreciate constructive criticism on ways to improve and encourage our guest to do so – preferably by personal email to myself and not by TripAdvisor.

We always endeavour to make everyone’s stay as enjoyable as possible.

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

These cottages are an ideal base for exploring the surrounding areas, being literally a few mins walk to the high street as well is really handy. The cottages themselves are clean and tidy with plenty of space and everything you could need for a few days away, all in all would highly recommend staying here and at very reasonable prices!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Railwaycottages, Owner at Railway Cottages and Apartments, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Hi Terryh11,
Thank you for your review and visiting Moreton in Marsh.

Thank you for pointing out how close we are to the town centre and all the amenieties – sometimes it is really hard to put across how close we are to the centre.

I hope that you and your group managed to see everything that you wanted to see – if not you are all very welcome to come back and stay with us again!

Best wishes to you all!!
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at railway cottages twice and each time it's been excellent. Both the smaller cottages and the larger ones are well furnished and have plenty of thought put into them and are ideally located just off the main high street. The town itself is a shining example of why we have conservation areas in this country - not a shred of neon or high street gaudiness within miles. Definitely a place for the more discerning traveller.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank abvlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I rented two of these properties, and had a great time. Gorgeous inside, lots of lovely features (balcony in master bedroom, jacuzzi, open plan kitchen, nice finish) and more over the team were endlessly helpful and really made sure we had a great time in the Cotswolds.

Location: 1 min from train station, 2 min from a big budgens super market, 1 min from the old high street. Just perfect.

Stay here! It's just fantastic!

Room Tip: All rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidHughHenryMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Very well managed by very helpful family. Moreton is well placed for touring Cotswolds and an excellent base for walking. The town is large enough to have pubs, restaurants, and all provisions, with a supermarket around the corner from the cottages and apartments, which are in a historic building. If you are travelling by train, Moreton is one of the few rail stops in the Cotswolds. Moreton has a tourist office with excellent walking maps of all Cotswolds areas. The Railway Cottages are ideally situated on a very quiet street near the station. The owners are delightful and readily available for all advice.

Room Tip: The Moreton studio was spacious enough to feel like a three-room apartment, with bedroom, sitting ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadlongworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The Property its location and the Proprietor were beyond reproach!
We have stayed for over 40 nights (so far) this year and have already booked 30 nights for 2013!
If there is anywhere better for the money would someone please let us know!

Malcolm and Adele Anderson
Harrogate

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,883 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,083 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bell Inn
The Bell Inn
#4 of 18 in Moreton-in-Marsh
206 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Blockley
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Cottages and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Cottages and Apartments

Property: Railway Cottages and Apartments
Address: New Road, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 charming cottages and apartments sleeping from one to eight people. All in the centre of Moreton in marsh - the Cotwsolds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Railway Cottages And Apartments Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing