We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb group”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
york
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb group”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on the 16th April 2012. The hotel is one of the best. Staff are very friendly and the menu is one of the best.
The hotel gives 100% exsperience. I have also stayed with the other hotels in the group and they are all top draw.

Room Tip: Car park at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    297
    86
    40
    19
See reviews for
148
655
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was a last minute choice and as it turned out , what a jewel in the heart of the Cotswolds town of Moreton in Marsh with its seemingly endless selection of antique shops and tea rooms. All interesting and with some "character" owners.

From the moment we arrived in this 17th century hotel we were amazed by the period quality of the interior, the beautiful gardens and especially the room we had. Room 9, called the Tudor moot Room, had a view out to the main street and a sort of annexed 3 aspect nook which sits over the main entrance to the hotel. Ideal for people watching.
The dinner menu was sort of nouveau cuisine but extremely well presented and very tasty. We didn't try the 8 course tasting menu as the 4 course menu was more than adequate.
The staff were exceptionally ( without being sycophantic or obsequious) frendly, efficient and were obviously not from the local agency!! Top marks to them. To be able to take coffee in a quiet library after dinner was a real treat.
You have to go there but try to book room 9 - you'll not regret it.

Room Tip: ROOM 9!!!!!!! Has a four poster and feather pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waywoodwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Just returned from a night staying here with Friends. Met for a catch up and birthday celebration. Booked on a deal with room, cream tea, 4 course dinner and breakfast and will say it was well worth every penny. The rooms are small but well equipped and beautifully decorated. The Staff everywhere were incredibly helpful, friendly and polite. We spend the afternoon lounging on sofas, drinking and eating then after freshening up and changing spent the evening in the restaurant eating and drinking. The food was incredible. Everything was beautifully designed on the plates and tasted fantastic. The cheese board added a surplus cost but we decided to go for it anyway and it was worth it. Cheeses were to die for and the truffle honey I will be searching for. The Molton Brown toiletries were fantastic and all the sofas and open fires were so inviting. As mentioned previously there is a service charge added to the bill but we left it on as the Staff deserved every bit of it. Down sides I'd say were it was hot hot hot! Summer wear only in the hotel and there were a few little flies about and we did have then floating in our drinks a couple of time but everything else was so good this didn't bother us. We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicha4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I have recently taken my Husband for the night. We had the best time .. the Hotel was beautiful, the staff very helpful and friendly. The 8 course tasting menu was out of this world with excellent service. I would def recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue186368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a cotswold inn winter deal. The building is very old and situated in
a beautiful Cotswold village, near other delightful picturesque places,so the situation is excellent.
The rooms are comfortable with coffee and tea making facilities and ensuite facilities with Molton Brown accessories.

It is difficult if you are tall as the ceilings are low and there is no lift. There is a restaurant
with 2 rosettes which I cannot comment on as we had an evening meal in the Brasserie which was outstanding.

The breakfast was excellent and the staff were helpful and courteous. Highly recommended
for a Cotswold Break.........they are also dog friendly as are all the group of 6 or 7 Cotswold
Inns and Hotels.

Room Tip: Beware of low ceilings, superior rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirstyskennelmate100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We booked a night at this hotel through a discount deal for bed, cream tea, 8 course taster dinner menu and breakfast, which amounted to about half the normal price, which was beyond our means.
It was a great experience, with a few reservations. This is a chintzy place and the best features are the bar, restaurant and garden. The bedrooms are well furnished but very small. The water supply failed and although my wife managed a bath I missed out on ablutions, so had a quick wash in one of the public toilets. To their credit the management had fixed the problem by bedtime so we were able to shower and shave in the morning. As we were in the town for the day we had a sandwich lunch in the bar - very expensive at £38 for two rounds of sandwiches and three glasses of wine. The taster menu was very inventive, like a live version of MasterChef on TV, and delicious. When it came time to leave I got a bill for the dinner and found that the hotel puts 10 per cent service charge on bar service and just about everything. After explaining that we were on a package and had already paid the receptionist got the bill right at the fourth attempt and I only paid for the wine at dinner and a couple of drinks in the bar. I managed to get them to take off the 10 percent for serving dinner but missed the 10 per cent for serving us a couple of gin and tonics in the bar. General opinion: very pleasant surroundings, first class chef, but very expensive.
Tip (free from me) - Watch out for the extras tagged on the bill.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EAJDOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, England
Level Contributor
290 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012 via mobile

My family and I have eaten here several times and enjoyed a superb lunch on Mothers Day. Excellent choice of dishes for each course and something for everyone. The food was beautifully presented and of a good quality. The restaurant and brasserie were vey busy but we were still able to find a nice cosy corner for our coffee afterwards.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank CAMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,114 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,060 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,160 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel Moreton In Marsh
The Manor House Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing