We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming cosy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming cosy hotel”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed one night at the Manor House Hotel, taking advantage of the Summer Sparkle deal, which seemed to be pretty good value (three course dinner, glass of prosecco, overnight stay and full English breakfast from £89pp). The hotel was lovely, beautifully decorated & very cosy; we received a complimentary upgrade to a four-poster room, with charming window seat - not a huge room, but comfortable and well-equipped. There was even a nespresso machine in the room so we enjoyed a really good cup of coffee and some biscuits on arrival. The Molton Brown toiletries were also lovely; the bathroom had a rather low ceiling, however, and a hand held shower, which made showering a bit tricky (would have been a particular problem if you were very tall, which neither of us are). The food in the restaurant was good - of the fancy rather than hearty variety, but well-cooked and interesting, and the service and atmosphere was excellent. The chocolate ganache dessert was particularly good, and we enjoyed the after dinner cocktails as an extra treat.
This hotel was perfect for a relaxing, romantic break, with good food & charming surroundings.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel, facing over the gardens, and was very quiet - no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen1039Leicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    297
    86
    40
    19
See reviews for
148
655
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We went here on a Sunday evening. The staff were attentive, perhaps as there was only 6 of us in the restaurant. The food was well cooked and really tasty. I thought it was good value for money. I have nothing bad to say about this place. I will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete_laws231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

3 nights at the Manor House really recharges batteries. Highly professional attentive staff cater to your every whim without intrusion. Pots of tea by the roaring log fires on comfy sofas in the well stocked library allows the cares of the world to fade away. Wander along the high street to sample the antiques shops and charity shops, then back for more rest. A great base for exploring the Cotswolds - a bit too county for us, but the hotel made up for the shortcomings of the area. A brilliant hotel for a short break. Not too expensive. Wonderful food, served in a lovely setting overlooking a beautiful garden. There is a station in this town, but you really need a car.

Room Tip: Room 18 is a cosy attic room at back of hotel - completely silent at night - even with a wedding par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Parley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel after having been given a voucher for use at one of the Cotswold Inn chain hotels.

The Manor House Hotel has lots of character charm with creaky and uneven floors and low ceilings. There was plenty of charm to the hotel in the main areas and in the rooms themselves.

There was a good array of modern conveniences and well decorated throughout.

The room was comfortable and the service received from the front desk was very good, including a call shortly after arrival in the room to ensure all was good.

The double bed was massive at about 6ft wide and very comfortable.

Included in the £140 per night for 2 people was breakfast which offered excellent selection and quality.

The only disappointment was the shower over the bath. The slanted ceiling and lack of shower screen made it practically impossible to use. My 5.2" partner struggled!! It would have been better not to have a shower at all. There rubber duck was a nice playful touch however.

There was a good car park, centrally located within the Cotswolds and lovely grounds.

Overall very pleased and would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Have stayed in a wide range of hotels and B&Bs in the UK, Europe, US. None were any better than Moreton-in-Marsh's Manor House Hotel. The building, 16th century with well designed additions, and the gardens are beautiful. Our double room was elegantly furnished and very comfortable. Loved the Molton Brown toiletries (they were available for purchase and I wish I had done so). We had a light dinner in the Beagle Pub one evening that was quite good. Breakfast is phenomenal, both the fruit and breads buffet and the cooked to order egg dishes. Staff is accommodating and politely friendly. Great location on the High St., where you can easily walk to window shop, visit a pub, or catch a train.
One small quibble: Bathroom needs better lighting.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceili7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I were recommended this hotel for dinner by a reliable source, so we went there one night on a four day visit to Moreton. We were seated in the conservatory which was very pleasant and ordered a two course meal (a main course and dessert) all was well at this point but went rapidly downhill. The main course took 45 mins to arrive and although at first glance looked ok, we sat there for a few moments expecting a tureen of seasonal vegetables or something to arrive, but soon realised that what we had was what we were going to get, we both had the slow cooked pork, which I would say was about the size of a beef burger, but in fairness was quite thick, then there was garlic mash which was a piped sausage size shape and a tablespoon of red cabbage, this all had a drizzle of Jus around the outside. The pork was reasonable, but a little dry, the mash did not taste very garlicky and was not very creamy, the red cabbage however was very good, but the Jus what there was of it was dry around the edges as if it had been standing on a hot plate for a while. We did not complain at this stage, but about a third of the way through the meal I found what turned out to be a piece of cling film in my pork, we called over the waiter who apologised and took away the plate to show to the chef. The plate was not returned or indeed an alternative meal, Instead we were offered our desserts for free, this seemed reasonable at the time, until I realised later that I had not eaten the meal which cost £15.00 and the desserts were £4.90. We paid the bill and vowed never to return, when another younger waiter returned with our change and inquired if we had enjoyed the meal, when I started to explain to him what had happened, he was extremely rude and mumbled an apology before walking away with me in mid sentence, clearly he couldn't care less. We have no other experience of the hotel, but going by this, the food was overpriced and not of a very good standard, and the staff were far from warm and friendly, we will not be returning to stay or indeed for another meal. Very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JOHN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
I am disappointed to hear of your comments regarding both the food and service on this particular visit to us in the Brasserie.

While we strive for perfection 100% of the time, occasionally we get things wrong however I am a firm believer that is it the way in which these situations are dealt with which shows the integrity of our business. Clearly your encounters with certain members of the team did nothing to help overcome the issues with the food and I am disappointed to hear this.

Perhaps you would consider getting in touch with me personally and I would be delighted to have the opportunity to discuss things in person and offer my apologies.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We recently went to a wedding here which, by the way, is an excellent venue for a wedding, especially on a hot summers day.
We weren't staying at the hotel but were enjoying the wedding so much we asked if there were any rooms free which there were not. This was at about 3:00 p.m.
We carried on enjoying the day, then at about 5:30, the lady who we spoke to came into the wedding and found us to tell us someone had called and said they couldn't make the wedding so a room had become available.
The room was in a seperate building from the main hotel and was just beautiful.
Breakfast was included the following morning which again was first class and the satff couldn't have been nicer, especially the lady who took the trouble to come and find us !!
The accomodation and food at the Manor is superb and the hotel has a lovely homely feel about it. Thank you to all concerned for making our day especially welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments and what an excellent way to demonstrate the courtesy and efficiency of the team!

Glad to hear you enjoyed the wedding and the impromptu stay so much!

Perhaps next time we can help you plan your stay to make the most of the beautiful Cotswolds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,114 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,022 reviews
8.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel Moreton In Marsh
The Manor House Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing