We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Tea, Wonderful Dinner, and the Beautiful Cotswolds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“High Tea, Wonderful Dinner, and the Beautiful Cotswolds”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Manor House Hotel is a very nice place to settle in the quaint village of Moreton-in-Marsh. The guest room areas are a bit cramped, but the public spaces are spacious and thoughtfully designed and decorated. We enjoyed high tea by the fire in a very comfortable library area off the main lobby. Our guest room was clean and comfortable, if not elegant, and provided a quiet night's sleep. After exploring the grounds behind the hotel we enjoyed a multi-course dinner in the hotel's dining room that was creatively and expertly prepared. After breakfast we explored the local shops in the village, which were all located right outside the hotel. This is a wonderful place to serve as your home base as you explore the historic and beautiful villages and countryside of The Cotswolds.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmcct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    289
    85
    40
    19
See reviews for
141
643
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed at The Manor House Hotel with my boyfriend recently and I can’t recommend it enough. We were on a package deal of 2 nights B&B including a 3 course dinner for £278 which is out of our normal budget, however, it was worth every single penny.
The food in the Mulberry restaurant was absolutely incredible, especially the very impressive cheeseboard to finish off. It was fine dining and the service matched it. We had dinner in the Brasserie on the second night and once again, were not disappointed. The breakfast was a delicious selection and impossible to feel inadequate when leaving. On all occasions, the staff were happy to alter some meals to suit my taste which is always appreciated.
The room was a bit on the small side for my own personal liking, however, it was very cosy. We had a four poster room overlooking the courtyard which was really pretty.
The staff were incredibly friendly, efficient and attentive. It was my birthday and when we arrived in our room, there was a birthday card from all the staff at the hotel which was a simple but very impressive touch.
We were literally sad to have to leave but know that we will return there once again and would also like to visit their sister hotels.

Room Tip: Room 15 is a four-poster room which is cosy and has a very pretty view into the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laramcguinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Friends had their wedding there, so we got a room for the night. The wedding made the most of the well manicured grounds, and the various rooms that the hotel has to offer. Lovely location, great service and worth the price.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rob p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Aubin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. There is quite a lot of traffic noise in the roadside rooms, but the gardens at the back are very peaceful. Moreton in Marsh is an interesting, historic town, though sadly transected by a busy arterial road. Very handy stopping-off point, though, and the Manor House certainly makes it worth a detour. Lovely.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aubinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stopped at this Hotel as part of a birthday celebration. We booked for two nights starting on a Monday so we could enjoy the weekly market the next morning & then travel down to do the Cotswold thing in the afternoon & then returning for evening meal in the hotel.
The hotel at first impression was very much in keeping with the area, the reception was very good, well organised & the staff were very polite, we were given a quick tour of the hotel & then shown to our room. The room was a standard double facing out onto the main street, thought the bathroom was a little inferior as it was tiny and there was only a bath with a hand held shower head attached to the taps, but it was clean & bright & well equipped. Our first breakfast was very nice with an excellent choice & very attentive waiters. The evening meal was an add on and would be best described as fine dining, The food was some of the best we have ever eaten & the service matched the food. The breakfast on our final day was well below the standards we had previously experienced, the hotel had hosted a wedding the previous evening & the guests who had stopped over filled the restaurant & spilled over into the dining room, as a result the service was slow & the food quality was poor. But despite this little blemish we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Lovely hotel in beautiful moreton in the marsh the manor has got character and charm with a modern twist our double was small but everything worked and was spotless the staff professional and friendly. the drinks and food were fab we couldn't fault it there's ample parking at the back of the hotel and a few spaces are up for grabs at the front we will be back soon

Room Tip: Maybe upgrade depends how much space you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Super little hotel, bags of historic charm while also being modern in it's feel and decor.
Staff were extremely helpful and courteous with nothing being too much trouble but weren't overbearing and the food was quite simply superb, we had a fabulous dinner Saturday night and breakfast was equally as good.
Would strongly recommend this hotel and if the sister hotels are as pleasant as this one, we will definitely stay with this group of hotels in the near future.

Room Tip: Room 3: Small, bed comfy - but request extract fan in the disabled W.C. below is isolated at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiretwister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
8.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel Moreton In Marsh
The Manor House Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing