We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Venue” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,125 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
“Nice Venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Attended a friends wedding at this Hotel. The Hotel is in the centre of the town and parking is not easy. The Hotel is very pleasant and has been tastefully extended around a lovely old building.
As we only attended the wedding reception i cant comment on the Bedrooms, but would like to say that the quality of the hotels reception rooms are excellent. The service offered by the Staff and management is of a high standard and it certainly made for a very pleasant venue for our friends wedding.
Would return again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    277
    80
    38
    17
See reviews for
134
617
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed one night on the food and wine package which included cream tea, an 8 course meal with wine pairing, and full English breakfast. What an amazing meal, the food was brilliant and so was the service. We've been to numerous hotels in the Cotswold, including Lord of the manor, greenway hotel but we both loved this hotel for the modern decor, lively bar area the amazing cocktails and it didn't seem as "stiff" as the others. The only downfall was the noise from the traffic outside, if we return, which I'm hoping, is too have a room that is positioned on the other side facing the small court yard.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy_sa2uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from a wonderful stay at the Manor House Hotel, having stayed in the secluded Apple cottage with hot tub, a fabulous 8 course tasting menu, cream tea with fresh hot scones, breakfast, pre dinner drinks and canapés and a lovely Molton Brown gift set, all of which was included as part of the "Suite Dreams" package. The cottage was wonderful and incredibly luxurious with a real 5 star feel, the dinner was lovely and service all round was excellent and we were made to feel very welcome and special. For everything included in the package, I must say that I believe it to be very good value. The only slight downside was the hot water ran out when trying get to have showers, but the staff rectified the problem so fast it was not an issue at all. We would love to come and stay again soon and can't recommend the package we chose highly enough.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoeWeaver500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown St Helena
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We visited the Manor House Hotel recently with friends and we all had an excellent stay. The rooms were spacious and well furnished, the restaurant and food were first class and the staff were all good. We will definitely visit again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravel034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Have just returned from a two night break at this very charming hotel with my wife and whilst I would like to give the Manor full marks one glaring error prevents this.Firstly the good points,the staff ,accommodation,bar,grounds etc all wonderful and worthy of congratulations,but on to the one bad point THE BRASSERIE RESTAURANT.Having on our first night enjoyed the delights of the tasting menu in the more formal Mulberry restaurant we thought we would try the more casual menu and setting of the Brasserie for the second evening when we were joined by our daughter and boyfriend.First major problem you are seated at round tables barely big enough for two allowing no space for cutlery side plates etc resulting in all of this having to be piled up to allow service.Secondly and more importantly the dreadful quality of the food,it is unbelievable that the food in the brasserie is cooked in the same kitchen as that served in the Mullberry.My wife ordered the parfait to start it came out as a slab of hard pate unspreadable,I chose the calamari and was presented with 5 or 6 rings with the batter falling away not a starter portion.Chips served with the main were overdone and appeared to have been thrown on the plate,the medium rare steak was medium well at best.The Brasserie gave an allround uncaring feel to the cooking and presentation of the whole meal.I should have known something was amiss when I mentioned to one of the excellent waiters in the Mullberry that we would be eating in the Brasserie he smiled and declared that "the food was different"how right he was. Dont let my review put you off the Manor it is a wonderful haven of peace and quiet and I would most definitely stay again but I would be eating in the Mullberry.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marklou32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just spent one night for our wedding anniversary at this lovely hotel. The staff, to a person, were friendly and very helpful. Beautiful building with a pleasant mix of old and new.
Nice touches were so many eg fresh milk on request rather than usual UHT milk in the room, staff quite naturally giving the customer options and choices. These may sound minor but beyond our experience of staying in hotels over the last 35 years!
The Mulberry restaurant was outstanding and turned out to be an amazing culinary experience however we felt the additional £7.50 for the cheese board was rather OTT having already paid £39 for the four courses.
Would highly recommend for a unique experience with excellent customer service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which overlooks the rear garden as the front can be a little noisy throughout the nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeggieMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

A lovely hotel well situated for exploring the cotswolds. Enjoyed a two night stay and I must say it was a real treat. We found the staff very attentive,friendly and courteous. We stayed in a superior room at the rear of the property which was charming and had ample room with views over the garden. I am a light sleeper and could hear the hum of the air con units situated on the roofs but it wasn't a real problem. There was a wedding on at the time of our stay and we were warned in advance that we may here noise, however we heard nothing at all so very pleased about that. Unable to comment on the quality of the dining in the Mulberry restaurant as we did not eat at the hotel. However the quality of service and of food at breakfast was superb and at times we were the only ones at breakfast at 8am. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and look forward to a return stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
8.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
4.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel Moreton In Marsh
The Manor House Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing