We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfection” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Almost perfection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here last weekend on their Valentine package.

We arrived mid afternoon and enjoyed a lovely cream tea with freshly baked scones in the library.

Champagne and chocolates were in our room but what impressed me was the attention to detail - strawberries in the glasses, full size Molton Brown toiletries etc

The same attention to detail continued in the bar with its excellent range of skillfully prepared cocktails with 'the right' glass for each - some well known and others more original. Great snacks to accompany them as well.

Dinner was a delight with an interesting and varied menu - well cooked food beautifully presented. The same can be said for breakfast even down to the magnificent freshly squeezed pink grapefruit juice.

The one thing that let this place down was the rather pathetic shower in our bathroom. Not only did it run at not much more than a trickle in the morning but it didn't stay warm for more than a minute. Come on Manor House sort this out and perfection will have been reached!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spartak55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    277
    80
    38
    17
See reviews for
134
617
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed for several days in this hotel and were very happy with the accommodation and food. Especially nice were the real log fires in the sitting rooms and the special full board rates. The location is in the town centre with easy walks to most services.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 896DonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
274 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a lovely weekend at this Cotswolds hotel. The hotel is located in an old manor house, and the well equipped if compact bedrooms have a traditional feel, while the dining room and bar combine tradition with a modern ambience. The food is first-rate: we particularly enjoyed the tasting menu with wine flight on our first night. Both the more formal dining room and casual brasserie are comfortable and service is generally good. Breakfasts are freshly prepared, with a good selection. Staff are helpful, and there are nice places to sit on a rainy day as well as outdoor seating in the extensive garden for summer. You won't go far wrong here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bristolreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

my partner took me to the Manor House last weekend for a birthday treat. We are frequent guests of this hotel group, and they never fail to impress.
The staff were all friendly, courteous and professional without being overbearing. The room, on the second floor, was impeccably clean and very well appointed. The shower was very powerful and there were the usual complimentary items offered.
We spent Sunday afternoon in the bar and we were very impressed by the furnishings and decor.
We booked dinner in the Mulberry restaurant which was superb. The menu is very extensive. I had pigeon to start and lamb for my main course, both of which were cooked wonderfully. My partner had duck which was also excellent. All in all a wonderful weekend and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Was recommended the Manor House whilst in Moreton as a good place for lunch. Had slight misgivings as we walked towards it as it looked very old fashioned and dark, but what a lovely surprise inside! The bar has been sympathetically refurbished keeping a good balance between traditional and up to the minute, and the conservatory at the back of the building is spacious, airy and has a fine view of a lovely garden. As frequent visitors to this hotel chain, it was our first visit to this hotel, and I would say that as far as service, fine food and location is concerned, it is far and away the best of the bunch. The staff were friendly and efficient, and the food was superb. We shall be returning when the weather improves to get the full benefit of that lovely garden.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carroll b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed here on business and was incredibly surprised at the high standard of accomodation and food on offer. The hotel is well appointed, and manages to merge the historical aspects of the building ( (c) 1688), with more modern contemporary twists.
Standard rooms are on the small side but that is to be expected in this kind of building (and it is a bit of a rabbit warren as well). They could do with a little less furniture in them if I was to be really picky - I had to move one chair to be able to use the other at the desk.
The B&B package is great value though, and the food is excellent - I had the 4 course set price menu and it was excellent. Drinks were a little pricey though.

Room Tip: If you want a little more space, probably best not to book a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jt0475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business but will certainly go back on a leisure trip. Excellent service and awesome food. Attention to detail was superb and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Grounds are really nice, would make an excellent location for a wedding. Nice touches in the room like a great selection of teas and coffees, Molton Brown toiletries and cuddly teddy bear on the bed.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ruth3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
8.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
4.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel Moreton In Marsh
The Manor House Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing