We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here twice now, and have been a couple of times for lunch.
We first stayed about 4 years ago as a new couple and had a wonderful time in a four poster room overlooking the Main Street, it was lovely to spend time relaxing by the fire in the lobby and having cocktails in the bar.

My partner surprised me last year with the Apple Cottage for my 30th Birthday which was divine!
There was a small damp patch on the entrance hall carpet and the gentleman showing us the cottage apologised profusely, offering us a complimentary drink in the bar which was very kind. The decor is lovely and comfortable and we made use of the wonderful hot tub outside. We also loved the bathroom and being able to watch telly from the bath!
The food served in the conservatory restaurant was delicious, very good service with a reasonably price lunch menu and good wine.

This lovely place holds a lot of fond memories for us, so much so that we have decided to get married here and cannot wait!

Thanks all!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mungo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    278
    80
    38
    17
See reviews for
134
618
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nr Banbury
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a night away at the Manor House Hotel. From the moment we arrived, we were welcomed by friendly, professional staff. Our room was very nice, although it was a little noisy as it was above the bar (room 15), although this wasn't a problem for us. There was the usual Molton Brown toiletries, that we have come to expect in the Cotswold inn hotels, a real luxury!I highly recommend the cocktails, fantastic!!! The meal was wonderful, can't believe a previous review about underwhelming food, and the cheese selection was to die for. The staff really make this hotel, and I would like to comment on James Brown especially, for his excellent service, although everyone was of exceptionally high standard. Great place!!!m

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank fifitrixabelle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radcliffe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for business. The staff member who looked after us for the day was brilliant no faults. However I had 2 sleepless nights due to a continuing hum in my room from the radiator. The first nights meal didn't go to plan my starter arrived with half of its plastic wrapper still on it, so it was obviously not fresh. Beautiful garden but glad it was just for business and not pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was the venue for my cousin's wedding on 15th March 2014. We were a little taken aback before the day as the rooms were a bit pricey - more than we would normally pay - and we needed three. However, they were worth every penny to stay at such a beautiful and enchanting venue. From the moment you step through the door you feel enveloped in an atmosphere of warmth and cosseting. The décor is classy; two log fires burn beguilingly drawing you in so you just want to sit and enjoy the setting - and never leave!

The wedding was perfect - as was the weather - a surprisingly hot weekend. Our room was delightful; not huge but tastefully decorated with views over the High Street. The staff were professionally friendly and helpful from the moment we walked through the door, earlier than the check in time. The food, both for the wedding breakfast, and the following morning at breakfast was superb, and again served in a perfect atmosphere. We were sorry to leave on the Sunday - so much so that we booked the following Sunday for a Sublime Sunday package - when again the food and atmosphere continued to impress - and we were able to relax and enjoy a rest after the hectic fun and excitement of the wedding the week before. (If you do want to have a relaxing time, do double check what is going on at the hotel during your dates. We were advised at the time of enquiring that a wedding fayre was taking place from 11-3.00 and there were loads of people milling around. This meant we weren't able to enjoy total peace in the sublime library; and then a note was put on the library door to say it would be closed at 3.00 for a private function - so much of the time we would have liked to have sat in the library we were unable to, and there is not much public space in the hotel.) When normally at a hotel, we would spend time in our room relaxing and reading; so for us, it's unusual to want to be in the main part of a hotel - indicative of just how lovely it is.

The drinks at the wedding were a bit expensive with a double gin and tonic coming in at £9.10 - but, as we don't normally drink, we don't know what other venues charge. The grounds of the hotel are magical and worth exploring (lovely to be there in the summer) - as is Moreton in the Marsh and the surrounding villages. I hope we will be able to return again - as you can probably tell, it has stolen my heart!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piglet56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Manor House hotel. The staff were brilliant and welcoming, rooms were comfy and food was great! We will definitely recommend to our friends and will be back. We really had a great time and will remember it well. Thank you

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stopped here yesterday for a meal on the way through Moreton in Marsh. The building is beautiful and the staff are delightful but they really let themselves down with the food. Two of us ordered a main meal chicken and panchetta ceaser salad. At £10 we expected a chicken breast as well as the usual ceaser ingredients. When it came there were a few chicken pieces out of a supermarket packet, measly piece of dry pancetta each, 2 tiny blobs of dressing, who knows if it even was ceaser, it was too small to tell, a few stale crutons and a tiny mound of shredded gem lettuce (the end of which ended up on the plate). The fish pie and fish and chips were better, but very small portions for the price. I went home and ate some toast. I wish I had mentioned something at the time, but we were with my parents who had suggested we eat there and I didn't want to upset them

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HannahWHannahW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your comments and whilst your feedback on Trip Advisor is appreciated, I only wish we had the opportunity to discuss this with you in person at the time and rectify our mistakes.

Clearly the dishes you describe are unacceptable and certainly do not sound like the style of food that we serve in our Brasserie and please accept our apologies if this had a negative impact on your time with us.

Having spoken with our Head Chef, he has already discussed your comments with the team in order to rectify the situation for other guests although I know that this does little to reassure you personally.

I would be delighted to discuss and offer my apologies in person should you wish.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

This review is long overdue and after such a perfect wedding its hard to find what to write!
We held our wedding reception here in May 2013 and we still have family and friends commenting on how beautiful the venue was.
The hotel is a prefect blend between old and new and the interior furnishings are cosy and welcoming, we instantly fell in love with the place and booked soon after. Tom Gibbons is just fantastic and will go above and beyond to make your day perfect; I was possibly a difficult bride and very particular but there wasn't a fault on the day.
The rooms in the hotel are beautiful and each one individually decorated.
The time, effort and thought put in to the hotel makes it such a lovely place to spend your time and even more so spend your wedding day.
There isn't one thing we would change about the day and there are not enough words to thank Tom and his lovely team for everything they did for us on the most precious day of our lives.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
8.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
4.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel Moreton In Marsh
The Manor House Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing