We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Situated in a beautiful area with lovely garden, will be fantastic in the summer. Staff were very friendly and attentive, with a wrong cooked steak, this was replaced as quickly as possible. We dined in the Brasserie restaurant and was a nice quiet relaxed atmosphere.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Uggy077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

638 - 644 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for a short weekend break in April. Lovely location in the middle of Moreton-in-Marsh. Staff very attentive on arrival and our room was excellent overlooking the gardens.

The restaurant was superb and I highly recommend the sampler menu with a different glass of wine accompanying each course - it was excellent!

The gardens and outdoor patio looks superb unfortunately it was a little cold when we visited but in the Summer I'd imagine this would be a lovely spot to sit and chat while having a drink.

My only gripe (which is small) is that the hotel hosts weddings and when we were there it was quite noisy due to a wedding reception. That said a small gripe for a great place to say - I do recommend.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room overlooking the courtyard and Garden. Although not available when we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed for two nights at the hotel. Parking excellent as they have car park at rear of hotel. We stayed on the second floor and the hotel has a lift, so easy for luggage etc. The room overlooked the rear of the hotel and was very quiet and very clean with everything you would expect from Cotswold Inns, including a dog mat, bowl and treats for our dog (which we thought was a nice touch). Staff are very polite and friendly and we look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Underhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Bit of a mixed bag this one. The package includes dinner, bed and breakfast with the use of a private garden and hot tub based out of a little cottage in the grounds. You get a few extras thrown into the bargain - a half bottle of champagne, a couple of strawberries and a Molton Brown Gift Set.

The hotel is very pretty, set a little way back from the busy main road. On arriving, it didn't bode well when the dizzy girl behind the desk asked us our name three times in a row, forgetting it instantly after each time.

The cottage is a bit of a walk down the garden and we had to nip though the wedding photos of the couple getting married. There being a wedding on usually means that a hotels' attention is focussed on that, with everyone else being a distraction, but the quality of the service we received was actually pretty good for the most part - especially in the restaurant.

What they don't tell you on the website is that the cottage is right next to the car park and the patrons using it will be walking right past your door and window at all hours of the day and night. Inside is very nice with a small sitting room and a larger lounge downstairs and a bedroom and bathroom upstairs. The bedroom is very large and we didn't end up using the downstairs at all, the window overlooks the pretty garden and beyond the churchyard with its half-hourly chiming bells. There is also a fancy coffee machine but unless you fancy having it with out-of-date UHT milk you will have to go without. Across the hall there is a roll top bath and big power shower, but the main draw is the hot tub in the walled garden.

Wrapping up in the robes and slippers we made our way outside and avoiding the discarded lime slices that were presumably discarded by the previous occupants, hopped in. As promised it was hot, which was nice as I though I would have to put it on myself and wait, however it was very difficult to get the lid off as the handles are broken and was even harder to get back on.

We got 30 seconds of good use out of the bubbles and the machine stopped working. After a long chat with reception and a visit from a member of staff, it turns out that the 'bubbles' button does not in fact provide bubbles but is the 'instant break' button. To fix this you have to hop out of the tub and with your wet hands reset the power switch at the wall. This got very old by the fifth or sixth time and in the end we gave up and moved back in the cottage.

Dinner was held in the main house and we had drinks in the bar before hand which was very pleasant and served same nice cocktails. The meal, service and environment where all of a very high standard and we were very impressed with the cheese board. The only thing that slightly took the shine off it was the man across the room who appeared to be suffering from TB and could not stop coughing for more than a moment. Breakfast was also of a good standard, however my eggs benedict could have been less overcooked.

All in all, probably not worth the extra money for the hot tub when it is so unreliable but the restaurant is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staffjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your detailed review.

It is re-assuring to hear that you received attentive service during your time with us and we have worked hard over the years to ensure that there is no compromise in terms of service or product to either party when we are hosting a wedding. The hotel is well set up with one wing being dedicated to such events and the other looking after our leisure or business guests. We have specially dedicated and trained staff for each area as opposed to pulling staff in every direction which can often be the case.

I was sorry to hear that you experienced an issue with the hot tub and this is certainly something that has been rectified and is being closely monitored by myself going forward. It certainly is not what I would expect from a hotel such as ours and therefore please accept my apologies.

The Apple Cottage remains our most popular upgraded room and it really is a special retreat within the hotel grounds.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile



From the moment you step into the garden from the car park at the rear you can tell this place is a bit special. Perfectly beautiful floral beds and lawns. The interior is just well designed with a modern traditional mix. The staff are exceptional - all were so helpful and warm.

We stayed for a night, with a 4 course dinner and breakfast for £190.00 which is amazing value.

The food was excellent with sweet little amuse bouche and a pre-dessert treat too. The cheese board is exceptional.

Breakfast again excellent with smiling friendly staff. You can have a full English or Eggs Benedict or kippers. Plus a buffet with fresh fruit, muesli and perfectly tiny pastries.

Quality and happy staff sums up our stay.

Ben was great, he served us at dinner and was up early in the morning, it was a nice touch to be greeted by name by him each time. He clearly works long hours, but was attentive and knowledgeable throughout.

James at breakfast was also fantastic and they way he greeted a lovely, but frail, elderly couple and anticipated their needs was heart warming.

All staff were excellent however, and when we arrived home to find we left our charger in our room, I emailed to ask if they had found it, they had AND it was already in the post.

You're really great Manor House Hotel!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sandyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed for one night as the hotel I normally use was full. But I think I would choose to stay here in the future. Very professional staff in every area. The room was very comfortable and had good quality furnishings and toiletries. The food was excellent and as I have a food allergy had to ask for a few things that were not on the menu or to be altered slightly. Nothing was too much trouble and every request was catered for without fuss (which makes a refreshing chanfe). Thank you and hope to stay again soon

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for one night on, we booked because the hotel we originally booked had to cancel, but this turned out to be to our advantage because this was a fantastic hotel. Beautifully decorated inside and out, quirky due to the age of the building.

We had room 7 overlooking the garden, really clean, lovely touches with the bear on the bed and the rubber duck in the bathroom! Molten Brown toiletries, very nice. Lovely powerful shower in a large bathroom. The bed was comfortable had a great nights sleep.

As the building is so old then floorboards are creaky and noise is heard from other areas, but this didn't put us off.

We had dinner in the brasserie which was delicious, breakfast just as tasty. The brasserie is situated in the conservatory and luckily the sun came out which gave a beautiful view of the garden whilst enjoying breakfast. The staff were efficient, polite and helpful throughout the hotel

We would definitely book again and also stay in other hotels in this chain.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are lovely and free from any traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,171 reviews
4.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,264 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,064 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range: £121 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel Moreton In Marsh
The Manor House Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing