We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“very very good”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

The staff are so good and a credit to the hotel. We could not fault anything and we are very fussy. room very comfortable and spotless, love the molten brown products in the bathroom.
Food very tasty and excellent wine. Highly recommend you will not be disappointed.
Thank you Manor House Hotel

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleWorldUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    297
    86
    40
    19
See reviews for
148
655
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We decided upon a last minute break to the Cotswolds and found a deal at this Hotel that included a four course dinner & breakfast for £170. From the very first contact with Reception through to the bar service and onto dinner and breakfast the next day, we were completely overwhelmed by the first class friendly service and the attention to detail that we experienced at the Manor House Hotel.
We were blessed with superb weather and following our tasty breakfast we sat in the Hotel garden and enjoyed the tranquillity offered in the walled area by the fountain.
Altogether a fantastic stay, please go there you will be totally spoilt.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peetrobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

It was our 1 year anniversary so I booked us in for the food lovers 2 nights, we went on a Wednesday and Thursday night. We arrived Wednesday evening and were booked in for the 8 course taster meal with the wine flight.... It was delicious, the wine was fantastic too. On the Thursday we had a fantastic breakfast with everything you could want. Thursday afternoon we had a Cotswolds cream tea in the library inform of a lovely log fire. Dinner was a 3 course meal and we both had the steak. It was cooked to perfection. Friday morning was another fantastic breakfast. All the food mentioned above was included in the deal.

Would highly recommend this gem of a place. The staff were very attentive and remembered your name. And the cocktails were lovely too.

Thank you for a great 2 nights

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Blondie_jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed here for the occasion of my niece's wedding on Easter Sunday. Reception staff on check-in were efficient if understandably slightly preoccupied. My single room had all the comforts, especially the toiletries, and all public rooms are beautifully presented. I would like to make mention of James, who served at the Wedding Breakfast and again the following morning at breakfast with cheerfulness and great capability.Also of Michelle at Reception who dealt with my forgetfulness in leaving a valued jacket at the venue, with care and attention that was much appreciated. I highly recommend this gorgeous hotel.

Room Tip: I am sure that all rooms are beautiful but some are more physically challenging to reach, in keeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I booked the Gourmet Package for my husband's birthday due to some great reviews of the restaurant food and the nice-looking taster menu online.

First up, the hotel itself is utterly gorgeous - right on the main street in Moreton in typical Cotswold style; tourists were taking photos of it. On arrival we were given a mini tour and found it also boasts a beautiful back sun-catching patio and landscaped garden. We opted to have our Cream Tea (included in the package) on the patio in the sunshine and it was bliss - made better due to the unbelieveably fluffy and warm scones.

The dinner was absolutely great. We've had a few tasting menus in the past, including Michelin ones, and this I think was actually my favourite. The menus were personalised and presented to us in the bar to look over, and we had the choice on the evening of the standard menu or the seasonal Asparagus menu - the special one did look interesting but we decided on the standard due to some particularly tasty looking dishes.

Included in the package we had was the wine tasting flight, which we both enjoyed immensely. All the whites particularly were much more acidic than we would usually have chosen but they went very well with their courses. Special mention needs to go to the pigeon course which was the best pigeon I have eaten, and the two-lamb course which I purposely ate slowly to make it last longer. The cheese board also offered a selection of very local (i.e. the next village over!) cheeses which was nice to try.

I'm not going to lie; this was pretty darn expensive (watch out for the £16 service charge for the restaurant dinner that wasn't included in the package but was included in our bill). But overall we had a really wonderful stay and were talking about how great the dinner was days later.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front do look out onto the road that runs through Moreton-in-Marsh so if you are sensit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzewearsshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Situated in a beautiful area with lovely garden, will be fantastic in the summer. Staff were very friendly and attentive, with a wrong cooked steak, this was replaced as quickly as possible. We dined in the Brasserie restaurant and was a nice quiet relaxed atmosphere.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Uggy077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for a short weekend break in April. Lovely location in the middle of Moreton-in-Marsh. Staff very attentive on arrival and our room was excellent overlooking the gardens.

The restaurant was superb and I highly recommend the sampler menu with a different glass of wine accompanying each course - it was excellent!

The gardens and outdoor patio looks superb unfortunately it was a little cold when we visited but in the Summer I'd imagine this would be a lovely spot to sit and chat while having a drink.

My only gripe (which is small) is that the hotel hosts weddings and when we were there it was quite noisy due to a wedding reception. That said a small gripe for a great place to say - I do recommend.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room overlooking the courtyard and Garden. Although not available when we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,844 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,114 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,022 reviews
8.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel Moreton In Marsh
The Manor House Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing