We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked into the Manor House Hotel to celebrate our anniversary rather than travel abroad in the school holidays. We took advantage of their room and food deal which meant that arriving on Sunday we had lunch and breakfast included at a cost of £178. The Mulberry restaurant is the more formal of the restaurants and the service was excellent throughout our stay. My wife had traditional roast beef and I had lamb and both were of the highest quality and our starter of crispy hen's egg on black pudding was perfect. The food was so good we immediately booked for our anniversary dinner the following night and the mackerel salad Nicoise was delicious and a very clever idea and my wife's scallops perfectly cooked. The perfectly pink rack of lamb in a mustard crust was also perfectly served. Again we took the room, dinner, bed and breakfast option at £208 for four courses for two people, which looked expensive until we tasted the quality of all the food and drinks we had during our stay. The building and gardens are charming and the older parts of this historic hotel are fascinating, however it is probably the best place in the village and we were disappointed by some of the local pubs. A good tip is to get a room at the back in the older part, as the newer rooms are possibly more noisy. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 20 is up in the old attic overlooking the garden at the rear and the oriel window and roof-ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nicholas u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 660 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Living locally, and regular visitors to the several hotels and pubs in the locality for Sunday Lunch, we decided we'd try the Manor House Hotel for a change. Firstly, the service and ambience is excellent. The gardens are beautiful and well-maintained and the hotel has olde-world charm. The bar are is very comfortable and well furnished, but the decor is a little too dark. Sunday Lunch for two courses costs £19,95 - far more than other establishments charge. My wife had sea bass and myself with sea bream. The quantity and quality was not exceptional, more like "average". Our opinion is that better quality and more affordable Sunday Lunch is available in other 3* hotels and pubs in the area, certainly within a 4 mile radius. We suppose the higher charges reflect the Hotel itself, but certainly not the food.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is faultless. We got married here in 2012. The way Tom and his staff accommodated us, not just for the bride and the groom but for the whole party was nothing short of brilliance . The way each staff makes you fel so comfortable and at ease was lovely and very satisfying. Yes the price could be looked a little on tje expensive side but you are in the cotswold and to be fair the standard and quality of food soon makes up the price. Im really struggling to find any negativity about the place.. fantastic gardens, well maintained. Hope to seebyou back in August for our third anniversary.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Only stayed one night on a Sunday evening, the cocktails are great, the bar is cosy, the room was well furnished and the bed was very comfortable. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble, every request was met with a smile and fulfilled in a very timely manner too.

Definitely would stay again and for the service and the quality of the surroundings, I think the cost is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the Hotel as these are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chaywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had mixed feelings about our stay at this hotel. Whilst the standard of service was high, we had very little sleep during the night we stayed in our (very small) room (no. 19). It was a warm day and we did have a fan in our room but in order to get the hot air out (caused by the kitchen?) the window was open when we arrived and we needed to keep it open. Immediately outside the window was a ventilator which was very noisy - we felt stuck between a rock and a hard place - keep the window open and put up with the noise or shut it and bake. No doubt this room would be lovely and cosy, albeit very small, in the winter but in the summer it was inappropriate for the price we were charged. Had we paid in the £100-£120 region for the room we would have felt it was a fair price and would have given the hotel 4 or 5 stars - £199 for a small, hot, noisy room was excessively expensive and we felt ripped-off. I therefore recommend that travellers book with caution in the summer.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 19 in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rasplicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your review and of course I am sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay with us.

While we do our best to ensure all of our bedrooms are perceived as offering value for money, they are all different in size and character.

I was glad to hear that your rated our level of service high and I feel that this sits alongside other reviews. Ultimately I only wish that I could have had the opportunity to talk to you in person during your time with us and rectify any such issues to your satisfaction prior to your leaving.

Kind Regards

Simon Stanbrook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a charming and characterful old building towards one end of the high street in a very attractive village that is perfectly situated for exploring the Cotswolds. Parking at the front is very limited but there is large car park behind the garden at the rear. Given the age of the building you have to accept that most rooms are not overly large and a little eccentric. Also, there is no lift so perhaps it not best suited to those of a frail disposition.

We stayed here for 4 nights in early June. We left it quite late to book so our room choice was very limited and we ended up taking the junior suite, which was spacious and very comfortable and not a lot more expensive than the ordinary rooms. The bathroom was functional rather than luxurious and the suite itself was a little worn and in need of updating. Cleanliness was very good apart from some stains on the carpet and blind. The bed was fantastically comfortable (and I speak as the owner of a bad back).

The downside of the suite, and other rooms at the front of the hotel, is traffic noise from the main road. Although the double glazing keeps the room quite quiet, it won’t be much help in hot weather as you will need the windows open for ventilation (no aircon). We were lucky, it wasn’t that warm while we were there, but our advice would be to book early and get a room overlooking the beautiful gardens at the back of the hotel.

We ate dinner in the Mulberry Restaurant twice, which is a very positive comment in itself. Both meals were excellent if expensive. A third meal, this time in the Brasserie, was also very good and less expensive. The breakfast menu offers a wide choice and the hot food is cooked to order. The Beagle Bar mixes an amazingly wide range of intriguing cocktails that we thoroughly enjoyed sampling.

The staff were always smiling and nothing was too much trouble. Throughout our stay every aspect of hotel service was faultless and the restaurant’s outstanding service award is well deserved.

With the combination of high standards of service and food, together with the extensive function rooms and gorgeous garden we can understand why this hotel is a popular choice for wedding receptions. We just wonder whether this might impinge on other guests from time to time.

When we next visit the Cotswolds this will be our hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back overlooking the garden. Not only is the view better but it will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 309Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your very kind and detailed review and we were all pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us so much.

Your comments with regards your room have most certainly been taken on board and we are lucky enough to benefit from a virtually continuous rolling refurbishment programme which keeps not only bedrooms but public areas in tip top condition.

I would like to add that the hotel does benefit from lift access to virtually half of its rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor House once again in the near future perhaps.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We decided to book this hotel based on the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor, and we weren't disappointed. We went for the 'Summer Sparkle' deal, which includes breakfast, evening meal and a free glass of prosecco. We paid £89pp for midweek, which is very reasonable for a top quality hotel in this location.

We arrived a little early, parked up nearby and wandered around this charming village (I recommend the snug bar at The White Hart if you have a bit of time to kill.) We found the car park, which is at the rear of the hotel off East Street. I would advise setting the SatNav for East Street, not the hotel, as the streets are narrow and very busy (cars and pedestrians) and not the kind of place you want to be driving round searching for the car park.

We checked in and were given a tour of the hotel by the friendly receptionist, which was a very nice introduction to the hotel, and then shown to our room. The hotel is a bit of a rabbit run, which I would imagine isn't so good if you have mobility difficulties or small children (although there are ground floor apartments available), but for me it just adds to the charm and unique character of the hotel. (Some advice if you are taller than 6ft like me - you may need to practice your limbo to go up and down stairs to avoid hitting your head!) We requested an iron, which was bought up to the room immediately and politely. The room was very clean and had lots of nice touches, such as the teddy bear that you can 'adopt' and the Molten Brown toiletries. We had a couple of drinks from the bar, which were reasonably priced (£5.30 for a pint of Krusovice and a glass of rose) and relaxed into the deck chairs in the garden, which can only be described as a quintessential charming English country garden.

We ate in The Mulberry Restaurant, which despite being nearly empty (it was a Tuesday), struck the perfect tone. The staff were very professional and called us by our names, which was a nice personal touch. I had the Scallops to start, which I have to say were disappointing - they were tasteless and the black pudding that accompanied them had a gritty texture. My partner had the Stinking Bishop, which was much nicer, although it did have a small bit of plastic wrapping in, which the waitress apologised for and informed the chef. If you like strong cheese, which we do, I highly recommend this starter. For the mains we had the lamb and the beef, both of which were cooked to perfection with perfectly balanced flavours. The desserts (malt and rhubarb) again were excellent and a perfect finish to the meal.

We retired to the bar, which again has a very pleasant and relaxed atmosphere, and sampled the cocktails. These were exceptional and definitely worth a try - they were very fruity and not too 'boozy'. Again they were served with a smile and pleasantries, which really makes you feel comfortable.

We were worried that we might not get much sleep, as we were located at the front of the hotel overlooking the main road, which gets very busy during the day, but I was glad to find that it was much quieter at night and didn't present a problem at all. The only slight problem was that it was a very hot day and there was no way of cooling the room down apart from opening the window. A fan or cooler would have been appreciated. The room has free Wi-Fi, although this was difficult to connect to and you had to log back in every time you wanted to use it.

The breakfast room was relaxed, with the same excellent level of service that we had come to expect by this point. There is an excellent range of cold and hot breakfasts, with toast, tea, coffee, juice etc on demand. The restaurant manager immediately recognised us from the night before and welcomed us, again using our names. We had the full english, which was just what the doctor ordered to cure our slight hangovers from the cocktails!

Our overall impression is that this is a unique hotel, set in beautiful grounds with a 'local' charm and character. The staff were very professional, well-trained and friendly. If you are looking for a relaxing escape for a few days you need look no further.

My only slight criticism is that the starters didn't live up to the other courses, although I'm confident this was just a blip, and certainly not enough to put us off this fantastic hotel.

We are already planning our next visit and are also hoping to sample The Hare and Hounds, which is owned by the same group.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems or small children I would recommend phoning the hotel first to check w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,225 reviews
8 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,076 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,118 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range: £96 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel Moreton In Marsh
The Manor House Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing