We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and great for short indulgent getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great for short indulgent getaway”
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and throughout our stay the service afforded to us by ALL staff was excellent. We felt looked after and 'important'. We booked on a dinner bed and breakfast basis with dinner being in the Mulberry Restaurant each night. The menu is a 'set dinner' which only changes 4 times a year but each night we did find something new to try but had we been there for longer would have found the choices difficult and no doubt chosen to eat in the brasserie. If we were to stay here again (which we would without hesitation) we would go on a B & B basis and then eat in each restaurant as the mood took us to give us more flexibility of food.
Cream teas and nibbles in the library are to be recommended.
A lovely wine list and help in choosing the same together with help with the menu offered by the excellent staff. We felt that nothing was too much trouble.
It is clearly a place popular for weddings and on the Saturday night we were there a wedding reception was taking place but there was little noise or disturbance because of it. In the summer/good weather I can imagine that there would be noise associated with people milling about in the courtyard garden and music coming from open doors/windows but cannot imagine it would be later than 1am and would expect these days any good hotel to have this potential 'hazard'.
It is an old property and the room we were in and rooms we saw on our floor were all quite compact with small bathrooms but fine for a short break and had all the facilities one needed. We were in room 47 overlooking the garden. Our bathroom had two outside walls and was a bit chilly. I expect the building is listed and so cannot benefit from the delights of modern double glazing. It was fine for the time we were there - 2 to 5 April - but it probably not be good for mid-winter. Don't expect all rooms are the same. The decor of the room and welcoming teddy bear were lovely.
Public areas are all superbly decorated with lounge chairs throughout and lots of places to sit by the open fire and read the paper. Garden area lovely and in summer must be a joy to enjoy a glass of something in.
Parking right outside the front entrance if you are lucky or large car park at the back.
All in all a lovely hotel, not cheap but well worth it for an indulgent break.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curhalios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    301
    87
    40
    19
See reviews for
151
663
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Our stay at the Manor House Hotel was a last minute night away with some friends who had booked to stay here. The hotel was lovely from the outside, with a beautiful garden at the back. Our room was a superior double ans whilst there was plenty of space, the room was not as clean as I would have initially expected. There were thick layers of dust on the bedside tables as well as the TV table. I note that other reviewers have also commented on this. Our bed however was great and very comfortable.
We decided to dine in the Mulberry Restaurant and were led to believe that there was an a-la-carte menu. We were somewhat disappointed with the choice on the menu and the vegetarian menu was also disappointing. Other reviewers had thought the service and food were very good, but this was not our feeling. The food was either under or over seasoned and the food somewhat bland. Service was definitely not up to scratch and although we were asked if our food was ok, we didn't feel like it mattered. The meal was way over priced for what was served.
We were also offered a turn down service when we checked in, but again this did not happen, either for ourselves or our friends.
Unfortunately, our stay at this hotel did not meet our expectations and we would choose to stay in other, similar priced hotels within the area next time.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Character hotel with top quality gourmet restaurant. A great place for a luxury break. Very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms well appointed but don't expect loads of space. Pricey but worth it for a indulgent short stay

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomsons39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middle england
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

A lovely hotel, homely and comfortable. Welcoming. Excellent food beautifully prepared and presented. A delightfulk place for a romantic interlude or special celebration

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mottyandfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

What a birthday treat this was and I could get used to it. The room (superior) was a good size and although the bathroom was quite small, the space was well designed and the molton brown toiletries were lovely. The highlight was the evening meal, the food was fantastic and the service the best I have experienced. I was made to feel valued rather than awkward when I had a complaint and everything they could possibly do was done to ensure we were happy. Many establishments could learn from this kind of service. My negative experience was very quickly turned into a positive one. The breakfast although small was perfectly cooked and there were plenty of cereals, croissants,etc to fill upon if you wanted to. I was really impressed and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveLey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Stayed here for 1 night (valentines). We were allocated a room on the second floor - at the front of the hotel and in the roof. The room itself seemed clean but decor lacked a little freshness. Our biggest gripe was I came to take a shower before dinner only for the shower to be cold to barely warm back to cold....and so on. Shower was fine the next morning I can only assume it was because everyone else was showering at the same time. So went down to dinner feeling less than fresh. The staff were apologetic and we were offered and accepted a free drink in the bar.
Overall dinner was good...I'd say 7/10 ~ i.e: had better but also had a whole lot worse, breakfast also good the next morning.
In addition we were sure (but never queried this) that we should have had complimentary chocolates being valentines day - but they never materialised.
The room (25) was noisy (from road outside) through the night due to its location.
Would I say there again - close call but no.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

There is no doubt this is a beautiful hotel with a lovely garden and the staff are very good. It is a little expensive, but not ridiculous. Dogs are also welcome in some parts, so If you are staying in the Cotswolds this is the place to stay because it is very central and although Moreton in Marsh has little else to offer in the way of good food it does have some lovely niche little shops (much better than Stow on the Wold, which is very lacking in eateries and quality shopping), although I did hear that a new restuarant is opening soon on the way out of Stow towards Burford which is apparently going to be run by an excellent Chef (let us hope). Maybe Stow will be worth visiting when that happens until then give Stow a miss as the attitude in the only restaurant worth even thinking about visiting is pretty poor and the food pretty average and very expensive for the quality and if you are not a local you will be treated like a tourist!!. Broadway is not too far away (Russels is the place to eat there), and the pretty village of Kingham offers 'trendy and exceptional food and ambiance' at the Plough where you may bump into a few celebs. AFTERNOON TEA AT THE MANOR HOUSE IS A TREAT

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheltenhamLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,877 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,127 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,070 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel Moreton In Marsh
The Manor House Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing