We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redesdale Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We first visited The Redesdale looking for a last minute weekend break in January and loved it so much we have been back twice since.The staff are friendly and welcoming. The bar food is lovely and reasonably priced and the restaurant meals were excellent. The bar has a lovely comfy seating area next to the real log fire.The atmosphere in the whole place is relaxed and friendly.The rooms are spotlessly clean and have a good range of toiletries.We have stayed in rooms in the main hotel and the courtyard and were equally happy with both.

The Redesdale is ideally situated for visiting nearby villages and also Stratford upon Avon.We have recommended The Redesdale to all our friends and relatives and can't wait to go back.Highly recommended and good value too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjd234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    333
    74
    17
    7
See reviews for
130
646
28
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We just stayed here in an executive plus room for 2 nights on the wine and dine deal. It was a Valentines and Anniversary treat that did not disappoint. The accomadation was amazing with a room more like an apartment, the whirlpool bath was a real treat although it did take a very long time to fill due the the amount of water leaving the hot water tap but it was worth it in the end. The food was amazing and we struggled to finish it. You get a very high quality service in a place that is cosy and unpretentious! We loved every second of our stay and have already recommended a visit to everyone we know. Thanks for a great break!

Room Tip: Executive plus was worth the extra ten pounds a night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed for a Saturday night in early February, during the cold spell. We opted for the Dinner, Bed & Breakfast package which was good value, including a 3 course meal and wine on the saturday evening.
The location in the centre of Moreton is good with plenty of parking outside and the puba t the front of the hotel is lively with a good choice of beers.
We opted for one of the modern executive rooms, which are at the back of the hotel. It waswell supplied with toiletries and tea/ coffe, etc. There were a couple of light bulbs not working, but the biggest issue was the heating in the bedroom which was provided by storage heaters, which we were unable to shut off in the night. Despite the outside temperature being several degrees below zero, we could not cool the room down, causing problems sleeping,and in the end we resorted to opening a window, which is not efficient. When we mentioned this in the morning we were just told that it's a problem with storage heaters and there's very little they can do. Perhaps replace them with a more efficient heating method.
The breakfast on Sunday was reasonable, although my wife had to wait almost 15 mins for a boiled eggs, which when they arrived were very hard and certainly were of no use to the bread soldiers provided.

Room Tip: Rooms in main buiding may have a better heating system
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonytourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt Uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I have stayed at many big branded big range hotels over the past several years who could learn a lot from this place, Great welcome, great room, great service, friendly atmosphere, good surroundings, nice bar, really good food, it has it all. We were in the area for a weekend, 1 night at the Redesdale followed by another at a large Country Club/Spa in Chipping Norton. We left the Redesdale after a great night and headed to what should have been a perfect conclusion in Chipping Norton. How we regreted that we hadn't booked the Redesdale for the weekend, the other (far more expensive place) was aweful and we just wanted to go back. Look at the score this hotel has and read the reviews, it truely is a gem of a hotel with remarkable staff. The room was just so much more than anticipated and I cannot praise them enough for making our (sadly only) one night memorable. I have stayed in all of the bigger hotels in Moreton in Marsh, and this one stands alone and well ahead of the other extortionately priced alternatives. Take a tip from me and book the Redesdale, you won't be disappointed !!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the block to the rear of the hotel, seperate from the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveECheshuntUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Went for a weekend with 2 friends, the hotel was clean comfortable and warm. The bar has a cosy and friendly feel to it and the fires were a very welcome sight with the snow outside.There is a very good choice of menu in the restaurant and on the whole the food is good. The staff could not do enough for you. The choice at breakfast was excellent, the facilities in the room are very good. The sherry was a pleasant and welcome surprise. We are sure we will be back.

scoops83

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smmerto. england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

To take a countryside holiday in England in January, always lays extra importance on the hotel. We don't like big pretencious hotels, and The Redesdale Arms was just right - a perfect home base from which to tour The Cotswolds, Oxford, Cheltenham and Stratford upon Avon. Our room was warm, the food was very good, and the staff were great - helpful, friendly and attentive - the decanter of sherrt in the room on arrival, was a lovely surprise. We had found a lovely home base, at a good price, and we were very pleased.

Room Tip: We were happy to have a room at the back of the hotel - it was very peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

I booked this hotel for a meeting for 12 of us. I was given a lovely, huge room with a window seat overlooking the high street. The heating was on and the whole building was warm.The bed, bedding and pillows were comfortable and of high standard. The room and bathroom was spotlessly clean. Tastefully furnished. There's even complimentary Sherry, should this be your tipple! Gilchrist and Soames toiletries and caddy items such as a nail file were much appreciated. The shower was 'OK' not as modern or powerful as i would have cared for. The lighting on one side of the mirror was not functioning, but these are quite minor, as the overall experience was so good.
The staff were accommodating and friendly.The bar has an open log fire, the only thing out of place, in my opinion was the large TV showing football. It detracted from the 'Olde Worlde' atmosphere somewhat! The dinner service was good, although i think the kitchen was a little overwhelmed that night, as wait times for starters were a little long. Had we not all been talking to each other so much, we would have questioned this. We went on the wine and dine deal, which was excellent value for money. My starter was a terrine, which would have been better had it been taken out of the fridge a little sooner...a tad rigid:) A good selection of bread with oil, balsamic vinegar and butter hit the spot. My main course of slow roasted lamb was delicious and perfectly cooked. The ice cream and sticky toffee pudding were also good. Our waitress Nori was calm and coped marvelously with a load of old 'luvvies'!
Breakfast is buffet service but they will do eggs to order. My poached ones were perfectly runny. To surmise, an excellent pub with rooms/small hotel to which i would return and recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for the room which has a curtain that covert the entrance to it, massive room and bed! Can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allvox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redesdale Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redesdale Arms Hotel

Property: Redesdale Arms Hotel
Address: High Street | Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Redesdale Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 32 en-suite rooms including recently renovated Double and Twin rooms in the main buildings first floor/ground floor of annex to rear of hotel and purpose built executive rooms including stunning four poster room and wheelchair friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Redesdale Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redesdale Arms Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing