We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redesdale Revisited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We booked 3 nights in the new mews rooms this time and first impressions were wow .From the intimate private patio ,the quiet, small lounge ,the very wellappointed bedroom, to the elegant bathroom you could see someone had given this some thought .On a cool night and certainly at all times a warm towel rail is very welcome ,but not to be acheived here .Unfortunately the power shower let us down too many times during the first two days so we had to give up our new mews room .To his credit Robert and his loverly staff looked after us for our final days stay and we enjoyed the Redesdale once more .Great service ,good food and an excellent location but please get your showers sorted out in the new rooms because we would like to come back .We will be reading further reviews !!!!!.

Room Tip: Read some reviews first ,then make up your own mind .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martintaylor9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

879 - 885 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in one of the Mews Rooms (I asked for one of these having read the reviews) and also asked specifically for one with a walk in shower rather than a bath which they accommodated no trouble. We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We had an upstairs mews room, parked outside (great for taking baggage up and for quick exit for a day out)... the room had a very comfy bed, clean, spacious and we had a little balcony though a couple of chairs out there would have been good. A huge tv on the wall and the sherry was a nice touch. The back of the hotel was very quiet and the courtyard setting nice. Breakfasts were lovely, we liked the sausages so much that we found the butcher on the high street and took some home in our coolbag. Staff friendly and obliging. The only small negative,ate in the restaurant on the first night and found the menu limited and the specials didnt change so sought out the restaurant in the hotel opposite on the following evenings which wasnt as dear and had a better choice. Would definately go again and recommend the new mews rooms.

Room Tip: Room 32 a winner! We called it 'our apartment' as spacious and had a little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Comfortable, excellent staff and wonderful food. The hotel is run is run in a very professional manner. it is idealy placed in the centre of the town with off road parking to the rear of the hotel.
My room was extremely comfortable and well furnished although the power shower in what is a well appointed bathroom was not very good.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Snowhill room which is upstairs off of the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSP190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed at the Redesdale Arms for a long weekend in August 2012. From check in to check out the staff were all extremely friendly and very helpful. It is nice to be in such a central location and the on-site parking makes it very convenient. It is a good hotel, but the edge is just taken off it by three small things: breakfast is a buffet rather than being cooked to order; our very modern room had a power shower which was not up to the job in hand and would turn off at will; and the walls are paper thin, so we heard ever word of our neighbour's choice of late night movie.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMCandFMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We took advantage of a special offer of a Mews Room with D,B&B and a packed lunch for £159 to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. We were even more impressed when we saw the room with its King sized bed which proved very comfortable, a 40" flat screen TV and a decanter of sherry in addition to the usual coffee etc. There was also a lounge area with doors to an enclosed patio with table and chairs on artificial grass. The bathroom was very up to date with an excellent shower which would have been even better if it had been in a separate enclosure rather than over the bath which made it feel a little restricted and it was hard to prevent water from spraying on to the tiled floor. It was a ground floor room away from the main hotel building and we were able to park immediately outside our room door. Golf style umbrellas were provided for the short outdoor walk to the main building in the event of bad weather and the newspaper we ordered was delivered to our door in the morning. Free Wi-Fi was available with a good signal in our room. We were exceptionally pleased with our room but recognise that our comments may not apply to all other rooms.

The staff were all very friendly and service was good. Our order for dinner was taken while we enjoyed a drink in the bar. The starters and deserts were very good. I thought the Creme Brulee was one of the best I have tasted for some time. We did not enjoy our main courses quite as much, partly due to the generous portions for the starters taking the edge off our appetites but perhaps also to our particular choice of dishes for our main course which were also of generous proportions and which, with hindsight, may not have been the best to choose in conjunction with our starters. I had seafood linguine which was disappointing in the amount of seafood it contained although there was plenty of salmon and too much pasta for my taste but perhaps the right amount for someone else.

Breakfast was good and is buffet style athough tea or coffee together with toast is served to your table. There was a good choice of hot and cold dishes and other hot dishes were available to order.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom180311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Ate at the Redesdale Arms on Saturday night and the meal was superb. The service was excellent and attentive, the meals fresh and beautifully presented. I had the fish and chips, the fish was lightly battered and the chips well cooked on the outside & soft inside. My companion had the Salmon & Ginger fishcakes which I was told were lovely. I would thoroughly recommend this pub for a very good meal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Just spent four nights at this charming 17th Century country hotel and was housed in a mews apartment at the rear of the hotel and enjoyed every minute of my stay. I had a car parking space directly outside my room each evening. As I was attending a training course in the town and needed a quiet room to study in the evenings - I was not disturbed once.

Having read a few of the other reviews here I am surprised at some of the comments and attitudes of the people that wrote them. I always ask this question - why do people just write poor negative reviews instead of giving the hotel staff the opportunity to correct any problems. These people seem to just like to whinge.

Every member of staff from the hotel director to the restaurant staff and cleaners were very friendly, helpful and respectful to their guests.

The hotel room was cleaned to a very high standard every day with clean towels, complimentary tea and coffee, bottled water and a decanter of good quality sherry - Very civilised! The buffet breakfast was of an exceptional standard and HOT! The choices on the dinner menu provided an excellent selection catering for all tastes. The quality, standard and presentation of the four evening meals that I overwhelmingly enjoyed was also exceptional (and HOT).

To conclude, this is most certainly one of the best hotels that I have stayed in out of the 40 to 50 that I have stayed in so far this year. I must add, this is the only review that I have written following a stay in a hotel - that should speak volumes of this hotel. Most definitely, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and I will go out of my way, within reason, to stay at this hotel again.

Don't take any notice of the whingers try this hotel for yourself and if you have any problems - play fair and give the staff a chance to put things right.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InspectorYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,025 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,150 reviews
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
286 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,086 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redesdale Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redesdale Arms Hotel

Address: High Street | Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range: £78 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Redesdale Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 32 en-suite rooms including recently renovated Double and Twin rooms in the main buildings first floor/ground floor of annex to rear of hotel and purpose built executive rooms including stunning four poster room and wheelchair friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Redesdale Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redesdale Arms Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing