We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location was a plus” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redesdale Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Valencia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location was a plus”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

If your goal is to experience a market town in The Cotswolds...this is a great place to visit. We were there one afternoon and stayed the evening ( that was more than enough time to experience Moreton in Marsh.) the Redesdale Arms Hotel was very conveniently located right in the center of the shopping / eating/ drinking area - also very close to the train station! Our room was nice, clean, plenty of room for two. The only negatives arose at the break of dawn the next morning....the loud back and forth of some large cart / service cart? ( cleaning? Idk?) sounded like repeated thunder or maybe someone bowling on the cobblestone outside our door. Next the shower was impossible to regulate....ice cold or scalding hot (trickle of water) were the only two choices! Overall a decent place to stay....just a rough way to start the day :( !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    333
    74
    17
    7
See reviews for
130
646
28
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We overnighted here but wished we could have had longer. The room was large and well equipped and incredibly quiet. The bed was very comfortable and we particularly like the fact that you could find the bathroom in the night without having to put the lights on. We appreciated the the complimentary sherry decanter and the quality toiletries in the bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and although the evening menu was a bit limited (they'd had a very busy day in the restaurant) we really enjoyed our meal. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Moreton-in-Marsh is well-located for an exploration of the Cotswolds. We stayed for four nights. The service at the Redesdale Arms was excellent, from booking over the phone, to reasonable nightly rates. Our room could have used a little updating, but it was clean and large enough for our family of four. The food was excellent at dinner, but the food was extremely slow coming out of the kitchen. Breakfast was buffet style and good. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcnl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights while touring around the UK. This place was recommended by an Australian friend living in London. Great location, delicious food, quiet rooms and fantastic helpful staff (Thank you Terri). Next door to a lovely cheese shop selling some nice French cheese & baguettes. We ordered a packed picnic lunch from the Redesdale Arms and set off for a day of walking through the Cotswolds. There is also a laundromat close to the hotel - bonus for travellers who've been travelling for a few days. For £10, we dropped our laundry there in the morning and picked it up later that afternoon washed, dried and folded. Lovely town and lovely people! Ate at the pub the first night which was delicious, and the Bangladesh restaurant down the road was superb on our second night in the town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wick54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed here with the missus over the August Bank Holiday weekend and it was very pleasant. The breakfast was buffet-style, but the food seemed fresh, also, additional items could be ordered off the menu - the smoked kippers were delicious. We paid for the "dinner, bed and breakfast" for one night, and it was excellent. The portions were big and the food was very tasty (i had rainbow trout and the lady had the lamb). We just managed to squeeze a dessert in as well. The room itself (room 31 - deluxe to the rear of the establishment) was well kept and clean and all the staff we met were polite. Overall, worth the money.

Room Tip: We went for a deluxe room, and it was quiet and clean. The bed was huge
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We spent the August bank weekend here and it was very pleasant indeed. The staff are most helpful and attentive without been an irritation, the dining room is intimate without been over crowded and the dinners were rather good value for money and prepared and served to a high standard. Tip - go for the lamb - it was delicious. Breakfasts are English breakfast buffet style and as a fan of this type of breakfast I enjoyed every mouthful and the coffee was just right. This hotel s highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were in room 29 outside the main building which was probably quitter than been in the main buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROMFLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Visited the Redesdale Arms for lunch one Saturday afternoon. Whilst prices are on the high side, the portions are large, so all in all good value. Staff very friendly and obliging.

I had fish and chips and it was well presented, with a lovely homemade (I think) tartare sauce.

Worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kprkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redesdale Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redesdale Arms Hotel

Property: Redesdale Arms Hotel
Address: High Street | Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Redesdale Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 32 en-suite rooms including recently renovated Double and Twin rooms in the main buildings first floor/ground floor of annex to rear of hotel and purpose built executive rooms including stunning four poster room and wheelchair friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Redesdale Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redesdale Arms Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing