We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was our 3rd Christmas at Redesdale and yes once again we cannot fault our stay. We had the suite at the rear of the pub which has 2 seperate rooms as well as the ensuite bathroom. Rob as always made us very welcome. Christmas day was exceptional and great fun, especially in the evening when a group of us gathered round to play jenga!!!!! I am sure we will be back again!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinafrost20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,157)
There are newer reviews for Redesdale Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have stayed in this hotel many times over the years and this is the second time we have stayed for Christmas. There were eight of us in total, ranging in age from 76 to 17 and we've all thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Comfy beds, roaring fires, friendly staff and excellent food all name this hotel a winner. Robert, the manager, has become a friend over the years and always goes the extra mile ensure our comfort. If you like wonky floors, beams and character have a room in the main hotel. If you prefer more space and modernity have a room in the annex. All round excellent value.

Room Tip: Character, beams and smaller rooms in the main hotel, bigger and more modern rooms in the annex.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I was in the area on business and needed somewhere to stay for two nights, I already knew of the hotel as I had used the bar on a previous holiday.
Reception had a good warm welcome stayed in a superior room which was very comfortable, well decorated, warm , good lighting, comfortable bed, plenty of hot water , and good shower. Parking was available at the back of the hotel.
Used the bar for a nice pint of local beer before dinner, evening meal was very good, and service was good attentive but not over powering, the breakfast had a full choice on the menu and again the food and service were very good, would not hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We recently spent 2 nights here and have to say it was one of the best hotels we have stayed at. It's location is ideal for exploring the Cotswolds and Stafford upon Avon. We stayed in one of the junior suites to the rear of the building in the courtyard. The room was big,roomy and clean with a welcome carafe of sherry which was a nice touch, just what was needed after the journey. All the staff were friendly and attentive, we were shown to our room and made very welcome. The restaurant was nicely decorated and comfortable, dinner on both nights was extremely good with a menu to suit most tastes. Breakfast was serve your self, well cooked and plenty of it.
We will definitely be back, hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Probably better than very good but a bit shy of excellent. I would definitely stay here again. Cotswold charm in abundance! Nice open fires in the bar and good beer in the pumps. Staff were pleasant and helpful without needing to be in your face.

The restaurant food was really very nice but the conservatory was not the best place to eat in the winter - try and get a table in the main restaurant if it's cold. We had two fish dishes from the specials menu and they were both very good, tasty and nicely presented with great sauces. The accompanying side veg was a bit sad looking and scant, a minor thing easy to overlook in consideration of the main dish. They were also very busy the night we ate so may have been a bit more rushed than normal.

The overall menu was very meaty and had a game bias. If you are vegetarian it would be a bit limited although they do say they will offer vegetarian alternatives on request. I will eat here again and I don't eat meat. Prices were reasonable considering the quality and setting. Prevailing dress code - red trousers for men while ladies seem to favour Jods and gillets.

Booked a superior room for a few extra £'s and seemed worthwhile. Good bed, nice linen, good wifi (free as it should be), complimentary sherry in room. Took a while to find the main light switch - a bit hidden beneath the thing that you put your key in to turn the power on. Good TV etc and generally fitted to a high standard - with enough space not to feel cramped. We did not check before but our room had a shower that was a bit pathetic but no bath - other fittings were nice and it was clean.

Niggly little things let them down in the slightest - the shower rail was loose and the cloth under the tea-making tray had not been changed, so when we moved the cups you saw some old tea stains that the houskeeper overlooked or forgot about. More an error I think rather than lack of endeavour, the +'s by far outweigh the few negatives, this place is good and you should try it.

Room Tip: Check if you want a bath and do think about splashing out a few extra £'s for an upgrade. The st...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Living locally, we are indeed spoiled as there are many excellent pubs and restaurants in the Cotswolds. However, without exception, in our opinion the Redesdale Arms is the best in terms of quality, service and value. £12.95 for Sunday Lunch includes a glass of wine (or beer, soft drink or coffee). Sitting in the comfortable lounge/bar in front of a roaring log fire before dining is relaxing whilst enjoying a pre-lunch drink. To start, my wife and I shared home made bread with balsamic dip and a bowl of olives. My wife then had a Cotswold free range chicken with vegetables whilst I opted for roast beef and Yorkshire pudding and vegetables. Wonderful ! My wife was too full for pudding but I had the most amazing local Cotswolds apple crumble with cream and ice cream - delicious! The important word here is consistency - not once have we been disappointed when dining here. The service is quick, the food superb. The girls looking after us at our table were polite and courteous, Needless to say we will be dining here again, and and again !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Booked this for my husbands birthday, because they knew it was his birthday they upgraded our room to a suite, which had its own lounge area and also a patio. There was a complimentary carafe of sherry in the room.
The hotel is lovely the staff are welcoming and friendly, we was shown to our room by a member of staff and on our departure they even had b ottles of de-icer on the reception desk for you to help yourself too ( nice little touch). The location is fantastic and if you enjoy indian food I would strongly reccomend The Spice Room it is a 5 min walk from the hotel in Oxford Street but make sure you are hungry because the portions are huge. We would definatley go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 30 in the courtyard alot of reviews mention the noise from the cars oin the carpar...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoobyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,940 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,116 reviews
4.5 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2 reviews
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
968 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redesdale Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redesdale Arms Hotel

Address: High Street | Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range: £115 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Redesdale Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 32 en-suite rooms including recently renovated Double and Twin rooms in the main buildings first floor/ground floor of annex to rear of hotel and purpose built executive rooms including stunning four poster room and wheelchair friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Redesdale Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redesdale Arms Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing