We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend....apart from Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed last weekend for 2 nights in Room 18. We were very pleased with our room in the court yard area, it was spacious with a living area and a jacuzzi bath in the bathroom. Our room was clean and our bed was comfortable. We were pleased with the extra touches such as the bottled water, decanter of sherry and lovely biscuits. The Buffet breakfast was very good and so was the service we had from all the staff we met. There is a carpark at the rear of the pub and a public carpark at the front of the hotel, with 2hr parking from 8am-6pm Mon-Sat. The village itself is a good place for exploring the Cotswolds and there are a number of restaurants in the area. We ate at the Spice lounge after a disastorous meal at the Redesdale, which we couldnt eat on Fri night. We had a pub meal at the black bear on Sat night, which was good basic homemade pub food.
The reason I could not give The Redesdale Arms 5 stars is for 2 reasons; on the Sun morning at approx 9am a member of staff just opened the door to our room and walked in without knocking, which i was not happy about as i was dressing and the door opens outwards into the hotel carpark. The other reason is for the appauling meal we had on the Fri night. I ordered the chicken and my partner the liver, which was ordered well done. Our meals arrived they looked really good, so we put our vegetables onto our plate. When i cut into my croquette is was not just tepid it was ice cold, my partners plate was also swimming in blood from under cooked liver. The server was professional when we mentioned it and appologised and informed us that the chef was refiring our order. After a while our food returned, there was no sauce, presentation was awful and to my horror it was our original food which had been recooked. They then didnt even bring fresh veg, just the bits of veg that were left in the dish after we had originally taken what we has wanted. We called the server and explained that this was not acceptable and we were not going to eat reheated food. The server agreed and aplogised. We went to the Spice lounge and had a fantastic meal.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BUSTYBREEZER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,157)
There are newer reviews for Redesdale Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

561 - 567 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Four of us stayed for three nights and were very pleased with our choice of hotel. Food at both breakfast and dinner was very good and nicely presented by friendly restaurant staff. We had booked deluxe rooms which were in the courtyard at the rear and there was no noise, apart from the birds singing in the morning. Our only slight disappointment was that one room was very much more deluxe than the other for the same price. Room 35 was smaller than 34 and had an extremely small wardrobe and only one chair, unlike 34 which had a full size wardrobe, two comfy chairs and door opening onto a small terrace. A minor annoyance admittedly and it did not really detract from our enjoyment of the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EileenFowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

From the lovely, well-appointed rooms and large bath to the first class restaurant this hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff at checking and in the restaurant were friendly and helpful. Probably the best restaurant service we got in England outside of a famous place in London.

We had both dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and both were well above average.

We would happily return here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redheadca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very good three star hotel in the perfect spot for travelling the Cotswolds.

Rooms were clean, tidy, spacious with an excellent bath and very hot water.

Staff were great, attentive, friendly and efficient.

The food in both the restaurant and the pub bar were excellent. Lovely lamb shank and well cooked fish an chips.

In short, for the money the Redesdale is brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonenglandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Lovely spacious room, well appointed. This hotel was great for an overnight stay in a gloomy and wet Cotswolds. The manager and staff friendly and very obliging.
Free sherry in room a nice touch. Would always stay again here.......if only they could fix the weather as well as their hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed at the Redesdale arms because of work.
I travel a lot and found this a very relaxing hotel.

The staff give you space and make sure that you have what you need
and they don't rush you.

My room was modern and included a whirlpool jacuzzi bath.
top tip - don't put the whole bath foam in unless you want to sit
reading your book with foam in your ears.

great food and excellent staff attitude makes a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here in 1994 and it was excellent then. Took 20 years for a return visit to the Cotswolds and had to pop in for lunch for old times sake, this time with the family. Was not disappointed. Interior has great character, matched by exceptional quality food at very reasonable prices. Local ales served, with a good selection of wines. Arrived 1pm'ish and it was very busy, but fortunately turn was quick enough for us to get a table, helped by efficient service.
Won't leave it 20 years again - look forward to a return visit soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard_ATB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,940 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,116 reviews
4.5 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
3 reviews
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
968 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redesdale Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redesdale Arms Hotel

Address: High Street | Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range: £115 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Redesdale Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 32 en-suite rooms including recently renovated Double and Twin rooms in the main buildings first floor/ground floor of annex to rear of hotel and purpose built executive rooms including stunning four poster room and wheelchair friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Redesdale Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redesdale Arms Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing