We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location ... good food and drink ... lots of character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel is in the center of town with private parking in the rear of property. The entrance fronts the town's main car park and main street with easy and convenient sidewalk access for walking through town. Our room was in the rear with lovely views of residences and open fields. The room and bathroom were of adequate size (no AC ... but operable window for fresh air). Good wifi reception ... but no elevators to upper floors. The building has architectural charm ... and pub food, drink, and atmosphere are great. The hotel is perfect for a Cotswolds adventure!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelerPromise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

My wife treated me to a luxury weekend break at the Redesdale Arms for my 60th Birthday recently. I have never been to the Cotswolds myself and didn't really know what to expect. When we arrived at the hotel and had booked in we were shown to our room 30, which is part of an annex to the main building. My wife was a initially disappointed as we walked to our room that we were not located in the main building itself, however, this emotion soon turned to joy when we checked out our room. The room was found to be spacious with a comfortable queen size bed and had an additional sitting room with patio doors overlooking a very private garden that was for our sole use. In summary, we had a very pleasant stay at the hotel an visited some local towns: Boughton-on-the-Water, Lower Slaughter, Stow-in-the Wold and Broadway. All of these venues were worth visiting and had different attributes with Boughton-on-the-Water being our favourite - mainly because of the range of craft shops present and a picturesque setting with the river running through the town.

Room Tip: Our room No. 30 had its own private garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Visited several times for just drinks and sometimes meals and been pleased each time. Initially the food looks pricey but we consider it worthwhile as a lot is home made and locally produced. Have previously sat on the veranda at the back which was pleasant and this time ate in the lounge area which had a relaxed feel. We even played one of the provided board games whilst we waited. I'm sure we'll return again!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Caroline U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times over
Sat 5/6years and have never been disappointed.Staff are always friendly,rooms are clean and bright,and kept to a high standard.The manager Ronert runs a very slick operation here,and you will not be disappointed staying here.
It is an absolutely perfect base for visiting the Cotswolds.
Breakfast is a must,sets you up for the day,lovely selection of food,and very attentive staff.
We would not consider staying anywhere else whilst in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the classic rooms in the rear courtyard,preferably upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PENANGMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Taking a long trip from Yorkshire down to Devon we decided to travel down the Fosse Way (great route) and stopped in Morten in March for lunch, we then made a dreadful decision " lets book somewhere here to stay over on our way back" So we reserved a room at the Redesdale Arms Hotel. The room we had been allocated on our return was room 15 in the courtyard at the rear of the hotel. The room initially looked OK however on closer inspection (as you do when you've been in the room awhile), the decorations were very shabby, wall paper pealing off the walls, skirting boards that were so rotten only the paint was keeping then in one piece in parts of the room, then we noticed the damp smell and marks on the wall, the bed side lights were almost a hazard as they swivelled around on the mounts at the slightest touch (they are screwed to the bed head of difficult to avoid ). I don't think this room has been decorated for over 20 years. The bathroom was again something from the 1970's with what appeared to be DIY plumbing for the shower, the head of which needed a lot of de-scaling not to mention the mould on the bath sealant. I think it's over 20 years since a spent a night in a room so shabby and tired, and did I mention the dirty marks on the bed valance sheet (around were it meets the floor). The hotel food was very good and the front of house presents well but come on get your priorities sorted out and get what your guests are paying good money for THE ROOM.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the NEW rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank PaulKDN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Old coaching inn, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The Redesdale Arms has good clean accommodation, attentive and helpful staff, great restaurant food, a good selection of real ales and good wines, the bar meals were not the best but edible.
The Hotels great location in the centre of town with free parking is a real plus, especially on Wednesdays where the weekly market is right outside the front door.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the rear, traffic noise in the mornings is quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 66John1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We opted to move into town at the last minute, having planned to stay the week with friends near by. All very friendly, but we felt we should give their large family more room and less concern about looking after us as they were just returning from a very long trip themselves.

Since my plan to hire a car from Oxford fell flat (hilarious Hertz office behaving badly), husband, child and I needed to secure a room somewhere close to a good train station and places to eat. Staying in Moreton made sense.

We'd booked too late for one of the modern rooms, so we got two of the older rooms upstairs (in the single digits). Of the two, one of them - room 6 - had a collapsing shower pump mechanism, no wifi and was perpetually hot (I'm guessing in part due to proximity of hot water pipes?). Temperature differences between the rooms were extreme despite no direct sunlight. Daughter's room was airy, wifi good and the plumbing in better shape. So why the solid 4 stars? Wait for it...

First, frankly even with the busted shower and iffy wifi, Room 6 was a pretty darned good value for high season given the excellent quality breakfast, good location and proximity to restaurants and other car-free sightseeing (using trains and the odd local taxi).

Second, when I asked after our second night if we could change, and explained about the shower pump mechanism being badly unhinged to its tile wall (a repair that, as an experienced refurbisher, I know typically takes at least 24 hours to address given water-repellent adhesives and caulking), the manager addressed the change quickly and professionally getting us a somewhat better Room 3 - still a smallish room but with comfortable double bed, healthy wifi and bathroom in good working order.

The Redesdale is very cute. It's well run. Management care about getting it right (He took Room 6 totally off line so they don't re-book it whilst attending to the repairs). Food so far (breakfast) has been hearty, and the service is very polite and well intentioned. Much of staff are very young people, eager to please, all apparently working fairly well as a team and striving to be attentive with no sign of buck passing, or ignoring guests because they're "not your concern" at the moment. Mostly these kids have a good sense of what's needed, and when they don't they ask for help.

Good job all around for a well located historic property that's partially remodeled and very popular. And many thanks to the management for moving us in the midst of a very busy summer week. The Redesdale is a very good value for the money as a hotel. Not sure about the dining room yet for any meal other than the included breakfast.

Room Tip: If you have a choice of rooms, you might wish to pay a bit more for a more modern room, which I hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsCOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,992 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,142 reviews
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
283 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,301 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redesdale Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redesdale Arms Hotel

Address: High Street | Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range: £79 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Redesdale Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 32 en-suite rooms including recently renovated Double and Twin rooms in the main buildings first floor/ground floor of annex to rear of hotel and purpose built executive rooms including stunning four poster room and wheelchair friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Redesdale Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redesdale Arms Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing