We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Redesdale Hotel provides excellence in food, accomodation and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
shropshire
2 reviews
“Redesdale Hotel provides excellence in food, accomodation and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

Returning to the Redesdale is like a homecoming such is the warmth of the welcome and the hospitality experienced. The food is par excellence and delicious. The staff led by robeert smith work as a courteous dedicated team.
The Redesdale coat of arms embroidered on the aprons of the Restaurant staff and proudly worn illustrates the attention to every detail.
One may stay in a quaint very comfortable room within the old coaching inn or in one of the de luxe modernrooms surrounding the courtyard, there is even a suite.
Everthing one requires is provided
Josie and Lawson Smith Shropshire

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josieshropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    339
    74
    17
    7
See reviews for
134
652
28
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

Great weekend staying at the Redesdale. Location ideal for touring the Cotswolds, shame about the weather! Staff were extremely helpful and professional making our stay very pleasant. Excellent food and service in a pleasant surrounding. Our room was "quirky" which added to the hotels appeal, but also provided for all our needs. Went out and about in Moreton on the 2nd night, but on reflection should have stayed put in the hotel. Will defintely stay again in the future.

Ross

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tylacoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob0304, Front Office Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2010
Thank you for your positive remarks, I did hear about your experiance down the road, hope it didnt spoil your weekend.
Look forward to having your group stay with us again in the future.
Joe Trice-Rolph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holmfirth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

Excellent hotel with really friendly and helpful staff.Good situation on main street,Ate in the restaurant on 2 of the 3 nights we stayed there and it was excellent.Food in the hotel in general was very good.and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdmHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob0304, Front Office Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2010
Thank you for your uplifting review, peole are so eager to leave negative comments it nice for someone to take the time to leave positive comments after a happy stay.
Your positive reveiw means alot to us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Joe Trice-Rolph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

We stayed for one night after reading positive reviews about the Redesdale. I must echo previous reviewers's comments about the service. When we arrived there was another couple at reception. Upon seeing 4 people, who obviously made up 2 parties, the receptionist exclaimed "oh no! Everybody is checking in at the same time!" which pretty much set the tone for the stay. We asked one area-related question which was met by ignorance. The room was adequate but the bathroom was far from spotless. Our room was in the main building which was quite noisy until quite late, people talking and tables being dragged repeatedly. Breakfast, a buffet, was nice enough but again the service was poor. The woman who checked us out and appeared to be the manager had absolutely no social skills. She barely acknowledged us, did not ask if we'd enjoyed our stay. I worked in the hotel industry for some years and was shocked at her lack of civility. We paid and she just wandered off without a word, I had wanted to ask a question about the restaurant, which is supposed to be very good. Alas I shall not be able to comment on that as we decided, after having to ring the bell for the wanderer to return, that we'd rather spend our money elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frogsareus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

I stayed here with my wife for two nights at the end of April 2010.

I thought The Redesdale was a fine hotel and pub and we got a great deal for 65 pounds a night. The room was extremely well-appointed, the breakfast buffet was fantastic and the bar/lounge area was a nice place to drink in,

However, I'm a great believer in the adage that 'people make a business' and far too many of the staff looked overworked and underpaid. The place needed a few more smiles and good mornings and the reception manager (a guy in his mid-20s) needed to tone down the cockiness a little.

My biggest complaint would be about the wi-fi connection. Having a good wi-fi connection is the most important thing to me because I run an on-line business. The reception manager gave me a good deal and promised me a decent wi-fi connection. When I realised I couldn't get the connection (or it was ridiculously weak) the reception manager said he would refresh the signal or something and just disappeared. He really couldn't care less.

When I read the hotel guide on the dressing room table, it mentioned that wi-fi was available in the bar / lounge but not in the rooms. Fair enough - but that wasn't the deal I signed up for. I felt rather misled and disappointed to say the least.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BangkokPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob0304, Front Office Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2010
Sorry to hear bout your difficulties with the wireless, while signal is very high in the bars we are in the process of extending the network.
The room you were allocated does usually receive a very good signal however there was an issue with the wireless in that area which is now being resolved.
We would like to assure the reception manager did indeed do his best to reboot the router and did not simply disappear and also that it was less of a case of being misled regarding the choice of room as like I said it does usually receive a very good signal.
Apologies once more
Joseph Trice-Rolph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

A last minute delay and we were lucky to find a room at this Inn - or not. Room was cheap at £70, but we should have remembered - you get what you pay for. We had dinner at the hotel, and complained about one of main courses being so small - starter size - there were no apologies - and no one came to speak to us. We adjourned to our room to find the bathroom was dirty, we had the remnants of other guests drinks in the room. We were woken at midnight by the pacing of the upstairs guest and the noise of the television - which went on until 1.30 am. We were again woken at 4.47 am and 7 am by the footsteps of the guest upstairs - not the fault of the guest - the ceiling of the converted stableblock is obviously inadequate. Breakfast was good, but throughout the service was appalling. When the food was eventually placed in the buffet we had to run around looking for plates, the staff unattentive and surly. An experience to be missed. We have previously stayed at the `Manor Hotel in Moreton which is fantastic - go there!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoubleDUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob0304, Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2010
I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay, I would like to assure you that this is an iregularity and that the vast majority of our guests are very happy and return time and time again.
I apologise for the issues in the restaurant as our restaurant usually receives nothing but praise with a large folowing of regular diners.
As for you issues with staff I believe I know the person in question and they have since been removed and no longer works here.
Joe Trice-Rolph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

We booked this after reading reviews on this site and seeing it on laterooms. Had a fantastic spacious suite for £69.00 bed and and breakfast. Very nice hotel, fantastic rooms, excellent breakfast, friendly staff. Will definately go back, did not eat dinner at the hotel, but will try that next time.

Well worth a visit

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebutlerdiditagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob0304, Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2010
Im glad to hear you enjoyed you stay, your kind commentsmean alot to us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Joe Trice-Rolph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redesdale Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redesdale Arms Hotel

Property: Redesdale Arms Hotel
Address: High Street | Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Redesdale Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 32 en-suite rooms including recently renovated Double and Twin rooms in the main buildings first floor/ground floor of annex to rear of hotel and purpose built executive rooms including stunning four poster room and wheelchair friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Redesdale Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redesdale Arms Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing