We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel for a weekend stay - but beds too small!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2011

This is a lovely small hotel, with nice staff who were very friendly. We stayed here for New Year. The hotel was quieter than we expected for a New Years eve but it was nice for us. Breakfast was to die for - made a nice change from many places you stay - everyone was a big fan of the sausages. I think to be fair its only right we point out that we all found the beds a bit small - the one in our room was more like a large single( room 9)! Its in a graded listed building so we understand that its not easy ot make repairs - there was water leaking from the shower into the bar from one of the rooms but no one was bothered about this. The bar prices are very good. The town is very quaint. One tip for the hotel: we would all have loved to have had a juicy steak New Years Eve but it seemed too much trouble. We'd all looked forward to it and although we'd booked then cancelled for the set dinner - we decided that we couldnt face a 4 course coupled with a a night of boozing. Instead we were left with just the bar food - it was disappointing - the chips were undercooked and the burger and veggie burger flavourless. Shame as the menu looked good but we never got to truly sample it. Since there were 6 of us wanting the steak - at 16 quid a head would have been a nice earner - for them especially as we were early for dinner too. Never mind!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbarnes_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2011

I am glad you liked the hotel however I would like to point out that when you canceled your reservation for our New Years Gala dinner in the restaurant late on the 30th you were informed that only the bar menu would be available in the bar area and I feel you comments on this matter are unfair.
I hope that this do not prevent you from considering us in the future.
Thanks
Robert Smith
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,063 - 1,069 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2010

just stayed the weekend for my husbands birthday the hotel is lovely, bar area good with log fire, food excellent breakfast the best i,ve had in any hotel sausages to die for, service great staff friendly and attentive, our room was great had a lounge as well as very comfy bed, cant fault hotel location excellent and surrounding areas so picturesque would definitely return and recommend it to anyone and for the price we paid we couldnt have asked for more, 2 full english breakfasts 2, 3 course dinners with a bottle of wine and a deluxe room, would go back antime

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank residentAlmoradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We booked at the last minute for a 1 night stay as we were meeting friends in Moreton. From booking by phone to the end of our visit nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The room no 29 was more like an apartment with huge comfortable bed lounge area with TV and tea and coffee making facilities. They evenprovided an umbrella which we used during our stay having left ours at home. The bar menu was good value with an offer of some complimentary drinks with the main course for caravan club members.Breakfast was also excellent with plenty of choice. We would definitely recommend this hotel and only wish our stay had been longer.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikerbabe07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

..from a hotel where my wife and I enjoyed our 30th Wedding Anniversary.

We stayed between the 21st and 23rd November 2010, with our Anniversary being on the 22nd, so it was absolutely perfect.

When booking, we originally wanted to arrive on Saturday the 20th, but it was full, so, as a 3 day package from the Sunday, we were offered an upgrade to one of the Executive Suites, Room 18, which is one of the rooms with a whirlpool bath, a DBB deal for the three days, with a complimentary bottle of wine each night with our meal, all for £135 per night!

The room, the staff and the hotel itself were just amazing and we couldn't have wished for a better experience.

The food was superb on each night, with a good choice from a wide menu with the main courses choice being supplemented by two or three specials such as Bream and Bass, however, even the 'humble' fish (Cornish Cod) and chips was a winner with us.

The breakfast was buffet style for two of the three mornings, with cook to order being offered when the numbers were a little lower on the Tuesday morning. We actually preferred the cook to order purely as it ensured everything was piping hot, but that's purely personal. The food itself was excellent and set us up for the day.

The bar and the wine offerings are expansive, with Stowford Press Cider being a fantastic surprise and the 'mini' bottles of Moet a great idea for the moderate celebratory tipple!

Complaints - one, my wife now wants a whirlpool bath installed at home!

Favourite quirk - As a child of the Prog Rock era, it has to be The Commemorative Tangerine Dream plaque in Reception from a Fan Meet at the hotel in 2009, I wish we had been there

Funniest moment - Seeing a private ad in a local Moreton shop for a handyman by the name of Dicky Hart (being from Merseyside, we thought that name was hilarious)

Thanks to all at the Redesdale Arms for absolutely everything, we had a hoot!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAD-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We are very fond of the Redesdale we love the open fire in winter and the dog friendly staff. The food is also of high quality using local produce. It's one of those places you can spend all afternoon in and never feel pushed to leave.
Free wifi as well.
Moreton in a typical Cotswold town with history king Charles 1st stopped in a pub opposite the Redesdale during the civil war and apparently left without paying !
Stow on the wold also nice 7 miles.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenben71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

My husband and I took our seven-month old daughter away for our first family hotel break and had a fantastic four days. When we arrived we had been upgraded to a large, modern room - plenty of space for our travel cot and we had a very comfortable king-sized bed. The room was tastefully furnished and we had complimentary sherry, still and sparking water, tea, coffee and biscuits, all of which were refreshed every day. Unfortunately, the shower wasn't very powerful, we think there may have been an airlock, as it improved slightly towards the end of our break. My main criticism was the alarm clock. We made the mistake of not checking it and were woken up at 6am the first day (before our baby daugher awoke!), as the alarm had not been cancelled from the previous resident. We were also woken at 7am one morning because the alarm had not been cancelled in the room next to us, which was now empty and we could hear the alarm ringing out through the wall.

The restaurant food was delicious and we enjoyed three fantastic evening meals. The service was very good and the staff very accommodating, always reserving us a window seat, so that our baby monitor was in range. The breakfasts were also great - fresh and plentiful with attentive staff service.

Highlight - the food
Lowlight - alarm clocks!

Would thoroughly recommend and would definitely go back - friendly staff, excellent value, outstanding food and highly enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treesruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Very good value in excellent location.We stayed overnight and would rate the breakfast one of the best we have enjoyed in the Cotswolds.The bar meal the previous evening was also good.The staff ( particularly the bar staff) were friendly and efficient. If we need to stay in Moreton again we would return

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiathos2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,967 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,129 reviews
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
37 reviews
4.5 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,045 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redesdale Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redesdale Arms Hotel

Address: High Street | Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range: £95 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Redesdale Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 32 en-suite rooms including recently renovated Double and Twin rooms in the main buildings first floor/ground floor of annex to rear of hotel and purpose built executive rooms including stunning four poster room and wheelchair friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Redesdale Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redesdale Arms Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing