We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting, fantastic food but motel style rooms are cold!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redesdale Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, fantastic food but motel style rooms are cold!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

The best thing about this hotel was the food - both evening meal & lunch were delicious & comparable with an AA rosette restaurant. Breakfast in comparison only ok, by the time we got there the food left out was not piping hot and there were only cold sideplates to put it on, we also had to take butter and milk from another table as we weren't given any.

The actual old part of hotel was lovely with roaring fires and a comfortable lounge & bar. Staff were also friendly, polite and helpful.

We stayed in an 'executive' room and it was well furnished in a modern style, big comfortable superkingsize bed, modern (if small) bathroom and had all the amenities you would expect. However, the reason I would only give this hotel 4 stars not 5 is that the executive rooms were motel style with doors opening out into the car park. Unfortunately, in January this meant we got an icy blast coming in from under the door. Even with the heater on full we had to use the extra blankets and it was still a bit cold in the rooms so we made a makeshift draught excluder from cushions to put along the bottom of the door. There is also no curtain over the door which lets light into the room, not good if you like to sleep totally in the dark. The hotel conservatory restaurant also had the same issue with cold draughts if you sat next to the window.

However, we did stay when the temperature had dropped below zero so I'm sure this is not an issue the rest of the year & i would recommed ths hotel at any other time and especially the food.

Once last thing, I have never stayed anywhere before where the switch to turn the shower on was in the wardrobe, this took a while to work out, maybe worth informing guests this before they have taken all their clothes off and then wonder why the shower doesn't come on!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellcat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    333
    74
    17
    7
See reviews for
130
646
28
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

We stayed at the Redesdale Arms Hotel for 2 nights and the food was amazing both nights - especially the pork tenderloin and as mentioned in several other reviews the sausages at breakfast (as well as the rest of the full english and fruit/cereal options) were delicious.

The rooms were comfortable and the shower was hot if not massively powerful. The location (5 mins walk from the train station and on the High Street) was great too.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxdeg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

We booked for a two night stay on the hotel's special offer of £99 per night 3 course dinner, bed & breakfast and we had a fantastic break. We stayed in room 29 (1st floor) which is more of a suite than a room. It had its' own large lounge with a door out to a small veranda, complimenatary sherry and the biggest bed I have ever seen - 3 pillows across! The only drawback was the over the bath shower as there is a sloping ceiling and it is difficult not to bump your head! The food was excellent and service was great - friendly, helpful and professional. (Our waitress from New Zealand was fab). Breakfast was semi self service from both hot and cold buffets - the choice was superb. All in all we had a great time and we will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scoopWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

This is a lovely small hotel, with nice staff who were very friendly. We stayed here for New Year. The hotel was quieter than we expected for a New Years eve but it was nice for us. Breakfast was to die for - made a nice change from many places you stay - everyone was a big fan of the sausages. I think to be fair its only right we point out that we all found the beds a bit small - the one in our room was more like a large single( room 9)! Its in a graded listed building so we understand that its not easy ot make repairs - there was water leaking from the shower into the bar from one of the rooms but no one was bothered about this. The bar prices are very good. The town is very quaint. One tip for the hotel: we would all have loved to have had a juicy steak New Years Eve but it seemed too much trouble. We'd all looked forward to it and although we'd booked then cancelled for the set dinner - we decided that we couldnt face a 4 course coupled with a a night of boozing. Instead we were left with just the bar food - it was disappointing - the chips were undercooked and the burger and veggie burger flavourless. Shame as the menu looked good but we never got to truly sample it. Since there were 6 of us wanting the steak - at 16 quid a head would have been a nice earner - for them especially as we were early for dinner too. Never mind!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbarnes_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
I am glad you liked the hotel however I would like to point out that when you canceled your reservation for our New Years Gala dinner in the restaurant late on the 30th you were informed that only the bar menu would be available in the bar area and I feel you comments on this matter are unfair.
I hope that this do not prevent you from considering us in the future.
Thanks
Robert Smith
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almoradi, Spain
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

just stayed the weekend for my husbands birthday the hotel is lovely, bar area good with log fire, food excellent breakfast the best i,ve had in any hotel sausages to die for, service great staff friendly and attentive, our room was great had a lounge as well as very comfy bed, cant fault hotel location excellent and surrounding areas so picturesque would definitely return and recommend it to anyone and for the price we paid we couldnt have asked for more, 2 full english breakfasts 2, 3 course dinners with a bottle of wine and a deluxe room, would go back antime

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank residentAlmoradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

We booked at the last minute for a 1 night stay as we were meeting friends in Moreton. From booking by phone to the end of our visit nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The room no 29 was more like an apartment with huge comfortable bed lounge area with TV and tea and coffee making facilities. They evenprovided an umbrella which we used during our stay having left ours at home. The bar menu was good value with an offer of some complimentary drinks with the main course for caravan club members.Breakfast was also excellent with plenty of choice. We would definitely recommend this hotel and only wish our stay had been longer.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerbabe07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

..from a hotel where my wife and I enjoyed our 30th Wedding Anniversary.

We stayed between the 21st and 23rd November 2010, with our Anniversary being on the 22nd, so it was absolutely perfect.

When booking, we originally wanted to arrive on Saturday the 20th, but it was full, so, as a 3 day package from the Sunday, we were offered an upgrade to one of the Executive Suites, Room 18, which is one of the rooms with a whirlpool bath, a DBB deal for the three days, with a complimentary bottle of wine each night with our meal, all for £135 per night!

The room, the staff and the hotel itself were just amazing and we couldn't have wished for a better experience.

The food was superb on each night, with a good choice from a wide menu with the main courses choice being supplemented by two or three specials such as Bream and Bass, however, even the 'humble' fish (Cornish Cod) and chips was a winner with us.

The breakfast was buffet style for two of the three mornings, with cook to order being offered when the numbers were a little lower on the Tuesday morning. We actually preferred the cook to order purely as it ensured everything was piping hot, but that's purely personal. The food itself was excellent and set us up for the day.

The bar and the wine offerings are expansive, with Stowford Press Cider being a fantastic surprise and the 'mini' bottles of Moet a great idea for the moderate celebratory tipple!

Complaints - one, my wife now wants a whirlpool bath installed at home!

Favourite quirk - As a child of the Prog Rock era, it has to be The Commemorative Tangerine Dream plaque in Reception from a Fan Meet at the hotel in 2009, I wish we had been there

Funniest moment - Seeing a private ad in a local Moreton shop for a handyman by the name of Dicky Hart (being from Merseyside, we thought that name was hilarious)

Thanks to all at the Redesdale Arms for absolutely everything, we had a hoot!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAD-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redesdale Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redesdale Arms Hotel

Property: Redesdale Arms Hotel
Address: High Street | Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Redesdale Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 32 en-suite rooms including recently renovated Double and Twin rooms in the main buildings first floor/ground floor of annex to rear of hotel and purpose built executive rooms including stunning four poster room and wheelchair friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Redesdale Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redesdale Arms Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing