We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redesdale Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

I hate to go against all the very good reviews that this hotel has had but my wife and I were very disappointed with our stay here.
The room was very tired and the bathroom probably hadn't been refurbished for at least 20 years. The shower, as mentioned by another reviewer, was very weak. It may be that some of the other reviewers were in the newer rooms.
Dinner was no more than OK and the extreme heat of some of the food hinted that it had been "finished off" in the microwave. Staff in the restaurant were pleasant but struggled with the service when the restaurant was full.
All in all a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedesdaleArmsHotel, Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
I am deeply sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
All our bathrooms were refurbished in 2010 and I can politely assure you nothing we serve is ever "finished off" in a microwave oven.
Once again I apologise you did not enjoy your visit.
Robert Smith
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    333
    74
    17
    7
See reviews for
130
646
28
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

We chose the hotel for our family party, 12 adults stayed at the hotel and 4 adults with 2 young children came as non residents. We were given the " Conservatory " for the dinner, 2 tables, it was perfect. The tables were decorated with flowers and the place settings we supplied were laid in exactly the right places. The children were able to go from one relative to the other without disturbing other guests.
The food was excellent and the staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble for them.
Everyone who stayed in the hotel were very positive and pleased with their rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b2d4b2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

a very nice place to stay , lots of personal touches all around the hotel and most things that you could want will already have been thought of. good value for money and a nice friendly reception on arrival. breakfast was good. all in all a quality hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

The best thing about this hotel was the food - both evening meal & lunch were delicious & comparable with an AA rosette restaurant. Breakfast in comparison only ok, by the time we got there the food left out was not piping hot and there were only cold sideplates to put it on, we also had to take butter and milk from another table as we weren't given any.

The actual old part of hotel was lovely with roaring fires and a comfortable lounge & bar. Staff were also friendly, polite and helpful.

We stayed in an 'executive' room and it was well furnished in a modern style, big comfortable superkingsize bed, modern (if small) bathroom and had all the amenities you would expect. However, the reason I would only give this hotel 4 stars not 5 is that the executive rooms were motel style with doors opening out into the car park. Unfortunately, in January this meant we got an icy blast coming in from under the door. Even with the heater on full we had to use the extra blankets and it was still a bit cold in the rooms so we made a makeshift draught excluder from cushions to put along the bottom of the door. There is also no curtain over the door which lets light into the room, not good if you like to sleep totally in the dark. The hotel conservatory restaurant also had the same issue with cold draughts if you sat next to the window.

However, we did stay when the temperature had dropped below zero so I'm sure this is not an issue the rest of the year & i would recommed ths hotel at any other time and especially the food.

Once last thing, I have never stayed anywhere before where the switch to turn the shower on was in the wardrobe, this took a while to work out, maybe worth informing guests this before they have taken all their clothes off and then wonder why the shower doesn't come on!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellcat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

We stayed at the Redesdale Arms Hotel for 2 nights and the food was amazing both nights - especially the pork tenderloin and as mentioned in several other reviews the sausages at breakfast (as well as the rest of the full english and fruit/cereal options) were delicious.

The rooms were comfortable and the shower was hot if not massively powerful. The location (5 mins walk from the train station and on the High Street) was great too.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxdeg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

We booked for a two night stay on the hotel's special offer of £99 per night 3 course dinner, bed & breakfast and we had a fantastic break. We stayed in room 29 (1st floor) which is more of a suite than a room. It had its' own large lounge with a door out to a small veranda, complimenatary sherry and the biggest bed I have ever seen - 3 pillows across! The only drawback was the over the bath shower as there is a sloping ceiling and it is difficult not to bump your head! The food was excellent and service was great - friendly, helpful and professional. (Our waitress from New Zealand was fab). Breakfast was semi self service from both hot and cold buffets - the choice was superb. All in all we had a great time and we will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scoopWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

This is a lovely small hotel, with nice staff who were very friendly. We stayed here for New Year. The hotel was quieter than we expected for a New Years eve but it was nice for us. Breakfast was to die for - made a nice change from many places you stay - everyone was a big fan of the sausages. I think to be fair its only right we point out that we all found the beds a bit small - the one in our room was more like a large single( room 9)! Its in a graded listed building so we understand that its not easy ot make repairs - there was water leaking from the shower into the bar from one of the rooms but no one was bothered about this. The bar prices are very good. The town is very quaint. One tip for the hotel: we would all have loved to have had a juicy steak New Years Eve but it seemed too much trouble. We'd all looked forward to it and although we'd booked then cancelled for the set dinner - we decided that we couldnt face a 4 course coupled with a a night of boozing. Instead we were left with just the bar food - it was disappointing - the chips were undercooked and the burger and veggie burger flavourless. Shame as the menu looked good but we never got to truly sample it. Since there were 6 of us wanting the steak - at 16 quid a head would have been a nice earner - for them especially as we were early for dinner too. Never mind!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbarnes_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
I am glad you liked the hotel however I would like to point out that when you canceled your reservation for our New Years Gala dinner in the restaurant late on the 30th you were informed that only the bar menu would be available in the bar area and I feel you comments on this matter are unfair.
I hope that this do not prevent you from considering us in the future.
Thanks
Robert Smith
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redesdale Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redesdale Arms Hotel

Property: Redesdale Arms Hotel
Address: High Street | Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Redesdale Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 32 en-suite rooms including recently renovated Double and Twin rooms in the main buildings first floor/ground floor of annex to rear of hotel and purpose built executive rooms including stunning four poster room and wheelchair friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Redesdale Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redesdale Arms Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing