We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service and excellent evening meals”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and excellent evening meals”
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Spent 2 nights with another couple on the special offer in the traditional rooms. Cannot praise the welcome and service enough. The beds were comfortable and, as the website says the rooms are well equipped with hospitality tems and toiletries. I have marked down the sleep quality a little as in our room (10) there was a low "hum" all night which we could not place. Our friends were not similarly bothered. Dinner was superb. Breakfast was good but, we felt, not quite at the same very high standard as dinner. Moreton is an excellent base

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naishcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    350
    75
    17
    7
See reviews for
135
664
29
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Stayed 3 nights on one of the hotel special offers and were upgraded to one of the superior rooms (Batsford) - if that was intended to persuade us to stay again then I think it succeeded! Meals were very good, staff excellent and having a jacuzzi in the bath was an added extra! Nice touch of sherry in the rooms as well. If I was to make one quasi-negative comment it is that the hotel does not have what one would call a proper lounge with comfy chairs etc. But that is only a small point and would not stop us staying again. All in all, a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigeljameson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedesdaleArmsHotel, Front Office Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
Thank you for your positive review and Im glad you appreciated the upgrade, we regularly upgrade guests when availability allows on the morning of arrival however this is subject to availability.
The £99 Dinner Bed & Breakfast Offer you took advantage of is proving to be one of our most popular packages ever and has now been extended in to March.
Thanks
Joe Trice-Rolph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2011

me and my partner stayed here for 1 nights for the £99 dinner and breakfast offer, we had an excellent stay the room was beautiful the bed was enormous and comfy and we had a lovely shower room. the 3 course meal which we had was one of the best meals ive ever had all the food was hot and cooked lovely, the staff were all pleasent. really couldnt fault the place and it had all been decorated and done all to a very high standard and had lots of little bits that made our stay even special, would highly recomend this.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chbcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedesdaleArmsHotel, Front Office Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
Thank you for your comments.
The Exclusive TripAdvisor £99 Offer has been very popular and has now been extended to include March.
I hope you consider returning to us when next in the area.
Thanks
Joe Trice-Rolph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I hate to go against all the very good reviews that this hotel has had but my wife and I were very disappointed with our stay here.
The room was very tired and the bathroom probably hadn't been refurbished for at least 20 years. The shower, as mentioned by another reviewer, was very weak. It may be that some of the other reviewers were in the newer rooms.
Dinner was no more than OK and the extreme heat of some of the food hinted that it had been "finished off" in the microwave. Staff in the restaurant were pleasant but struggled with the service when the restaurant was full.
All in all a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedesdaleArmsHotel, Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
I am deeply sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
All our bathrooms were refurbished in 2010 and I can politely assure you nothing we serve is ever "finished off" in a microwave oven.
Once again I apologise you did not enjoy your visit.
Robert Smith
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2011

We chose the hotel for our family party, 12 adults stayed at the hotel and 4 adults with 2 young children came as non residents. We were given the " Conservatory " for the dinner, 2 tables, it was perfect. The tables were decorated with flowers and the place settings we supplied were laid in exactly the right places. The children were able to go from one relative to the other without disturbing other guests.
The food was excellent and the staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble for them.
Everyone who stayed in the hotel were very positive and pleased with their rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b2d4b2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2011

a very nice place to stay , lots of personal touches all around the hotel and most things that you could want will already have been thought of. good value for money and a nice friendly reception on arrival. breakfast was good. all in all a quality hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

The best thing about this hotel was the food - both evening meal & lunch were delicious & comparable with an AA rosette restaurant. Breakfast in comparison only ok, by the time we got there the food left out was not piping hot and there were only cold sideplates to put it on, we also had to take butter and milk from another table as we weren't given any.

The actual old part of hotel was lovely with roaring fires and a comfortable lounge & bar. Staff were also friendly, polite and helpful.

We stayed in an 'executive' room and it was well furnished in a modern style, big comfortable superkingsize bed, modern (if small) bathroom and had all the amenities you would expect. However, the reason I would only give this hotel 4 stars not 5 is that the executive rooms were motel style with doors opening out into the car park. Unfortunately, in January this meant we got an icy blast coming in from under the door. Even with the heater on full we had to use the extra blankets and it was still a bit cold in the rooms so we made a makeshift draught excluder from cushions to put along the bottom of the door. There is also no curtain over the door which lets light into the room, not good if you like to sleep totally in the dark. The hotel conservatory restaurant also had the same issue with cold draughts if you sat next to the window.

However, we did stay when the temperature had dropped below zero so I'm sure this is not an issue the rest of the year & i would recommed ths hotel at any other time and especially the food.

Once last thing, I have never stayed anywhere before where the switch to turn the shower on was in the wardrobe, this took a while to work out, maybe worth informing guests this before they have taken all their clothes off and then wonder why the shower doesn't come on!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellcat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,849 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,068 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,159 reviews
7.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redesdale Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redesdale Arms Hotel

Property: Redesdale Arms Hotel
Address: High Street | Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Redesdale Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 32 en-suite rooms including recently renovated Double and Twin rooms in the main buildings first floor/ground floor of annex to rear of hotel and purpose built executive rooms including stunning four poster room and wheelchair friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Redesdale Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redesdale Arms Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing