We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm, cosy, perfectly situated English cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cottage, High Street, Moreton in Marsh,  Cotswolds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage, High Street, Moreton in Marsh,  Cotswolds
Cosy Lounge, Log fire, The Cottage, High Street, Moreton in Marsh,  Cotswolds Kitchen, Modern, Fully Fitted, The Cottage, High Street, Moreton in Marsh,  Cotswolds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
50 reviews
The Cottage, High Street, Moreton in Marsh,  Cotswolds
Cosy Lounge, Log fire, The Cottage, High Street, Moreton in Marsh,  Cotswolds
Kitchen, Modern, Fully Fitted, The Cottage, High Street, Moreton in Marsh,  Cotswolds
Kitchen, Modern, Fully Fitted, The Cottage, High Street, Moreton in Marsh,  Cotswolds
Kitchen, Modern, Fully Fitted, The Cottage, High Street, Moreton in Marsh,  Cotswolds
Lounge, The Cottage, Moreton
Front Double Bedroom, The Cottage
Front Double Bedroom, The Cottage, Moreton
Cottage Courtyard Garden from Lounge, The Cottage, Moreton
Cottage Courtyard Garden, The Cottage, Moreton
Cottage Courtyard Garden, Private & Quiet, The Cottage, Moreton
Bathroom, The Cottage, Moreton
Bathroom, The Cottage, Moreton
Walk in Shower with limitless hot water !! The Cottage, Moreton
Back Double Bedroom, The Cottage, Moreton
Back Double Bedroom, The Cottage, Moreton
Back Double Bedroom, The Cottage, Moreton
Washroom Second Floor, The Cottage, Moreton
Washroom Second Floor, The Cottage, Moreton
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cath72727...
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Warm, cosy, perfectly situated English cottage!”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 for a stay in December 2012

The perfect location as a base for travelling around the Cotswalds. We travelled with our 11 year old daughter and 15 year old son. They shared a double bed which was no problem at all. A lovely bottle of Australian red wine was waiting for us when we arrived. Great email communication when we booked. Would stay again and have recommended to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, could not fault.
Liked least: Extra dry firewood world be great to already have on hand.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie P
1 review
“An excellent home base for exploring the Northern Cotswolds”
Reviewed 28 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The Cottage in Moreton-on-Marsh was the perfect location for our week of exploring the lovely northern Cotswolds villages. The Cottage, right on busy High Street, had free parking out front and was the perfect place to begin and end each day. Every night we would plan our hikes for the next day in the cozy living room with VERY comfortable chairs and a couch with plenty of reading lights and warm blankets. We didn't mind not having internet access in the The Cottage since it was a nice break and gave us more time to read. When needing internet connection we would go to any pub in town, order and ale and relax while using their connections. We didn't use the fireplace but it really added to the charm of the Cottage. The kitchen was well appointed for fixing meals and came stocked with milk and teas. The toilet and shower were modern and clean. Two bedrooms upstairs were very comfortable with crisp linens and pillows. Funny, we didn't discover the third floor toilet until the second day and then it really came in handy during the rest of our stay. The courtyard was lovely and private. At first we were concerned that the Cottage would be noisy due to its location on busy High Street, but the thick stone walls kept it quiet indoors. Moreton-in-Marsh had just the right amount of conveniences to keep us stocked with breakfast and picnic foods. Two, very good Bangladeshi restaurants in town were a treat (The Spice Room and Hassan Balti.) The Horse and Groom just up the Hill in Bourton-on-the-Hill was an amazing place to eat. We would highly recommend The Cottage - a highlight on our three week UK visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cottage living room was sublime
Liked least: As Americans, learning to drive on the left side of the road and backing out of the parking space in front of The Cottage on to busy High Street.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanne E
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Cotswolds cottage”
Reviewed 28 June 2013 for a stay in June 2012

My son and I and his girlfriend spent a nice week at The Cottage in June last year. The house is stylish with many original details and a lovely fireplace where we spent the evenings. The cottage is well equipped with everything you need. The only thing we missed was wifi. The location is very good for exploring the Cotswolds with bus stop just across the street. Moreton is a typical Cotswold village with all the charm that goes with it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely beautiful house with fireplace
Liked least: The lack of internet access
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsho
1 review
“Great location, friendly owners and village - shame about the beds”
Reviewed 28 June 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Lovely village, easy to get to on train from London as we didn't have a car. Gorgeous cottage - kitchen has everything you need for a short stay, bedrooms upstairs are small - just fit the double bed & the beds are not comfortable - the pillows are even worse so we didn't sleep well! Had to use cushions from the sofa underneath them to plump them up.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2013
We are so sorry you felt the beds were uncomfortable and hope it didn't taint your stay too much.
Beds are such a personal thing and it is so difficult to select them to suit every individual preference. Not too firm and not too soft is obviously not to everybody's liking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesdawe...
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great to be back!”
Reviewed 19 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We stayed at The Cottage last year and vowed to go back because we were so impressed on our first visit - we loved it even more this time around! The location is perfect as a base to visit all around the neighbouring Cotswolds villages, or just to stay in lovely Moreton as we did. The fireplace was as fantastic as we remember it, and the cottage as clean and well appointed as last time. Good to see the TV has been updated. Everything is on your doorstep - pubs, restaurants, art galleries etc so I cannot recommend this bolthole highly enough. Absolutely perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and fireplace
Liked least: Maybe update the sofa?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ooh-lah-l...
1 review
“A perfect cosy get away cottage for exploring the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 25 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

This is our second visit to this beautiful cosy cottage and we were not disappointed. Parking was easy, directly outside the cottage and we walked in from a chilly November day to a cosy cottage with a fire all laid, just waiting to be lit with a full basket of logs. The cottage is very well equipped and very comfortable with everything you need for your stay and for exploring the Cotswold with lots of maps of the area. A perfect retreat for a weekend get away as it was in our case but would also be ideal if you wanted to stay longer. There are lots of local pubs but tired from our journey we opted for the fish and chips from the local chippy which were wonderful and then on the Saturday evening ate at the hotel opposite, The Manor House and had a superb meal and would highly recommend that as well.
A previous comment was no wifi available but I managed to hook onto the wifi available at the hotel for their guests without any problems.
Am already looking for another excuse to visit the Cotswolds again and stay at The Cottage.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stilltrav...
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best location for exploring the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 2 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

This cottage was perfect for our two week trip exploring the Cotswolds. Good train and bus connections in this market town and many roads leading to interesting places. The cottage was very comfortable. The living room was spacious with comfortable seating and a large wood burning fireplace. We found the kitchen very well equipped and cooked most nights after shopping locally. The cottage is right on the high street and I thought there might be road noise but never found this to be a problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: washing machine was confusing to use - no instruction manual
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$132
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing