We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cottage, High Street, Moreton in Marsh,  Cotswolds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage, High Street, Moreton in Marsh,  Cotswolds
Cosy, quiet cottage on the lovely Cotswolds Moreton in Marsh High Street Kitchen, Modern, Fully Fitted, The Cottage, High Street, Moreton in Marsh,  Cotswolds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
53 reviews
The Cottage, High Street, Moreton in Marsh,  Cotswolds
Cosy, quiet cottage on the lovely Cotswolds Moreton in Marsh High Street
Kitchen, Modern, Fully Fitted, The Cottage, High Street, Moreton in Marsh,  Cotswolds
Kitchen, Modern, Fully Fitted, The Cottage, High Street, Moreton in Marsh,  Cotswolds
Kitchen, Modern, Fully Fitted, The Cottage, High Street, Moreton in Marsh,  Cotswolds
Lounge, The Cottage, Moreton
Front Double Bedroom, The Cottage
Front Double Bedroom, The Cottage, Moreton
Cottage Courtyard Garden from Lounge, The Cottage, Moreton
Cottage Courtyard Garden, The Cottage, Moreton
Cottage Courtyard Garden, Private & Quiet, The Cottage, Moreton
Bathroom, The Cottage, Moreton
Bathroom, The Cottage, Moreton
Walk in Shower with limitless hot water !! The Cottage, Moreton
Back Double Bedroom, The Cottage, Moreton
Back Double Bedroom, The Cottage, Moreton
Back Double Bedroom, The Cottage, Moreton
Washroom Second Floor, The Cottage, Moreton
Washroom Second Floor, The Cottage, Moreton
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TracieL19...
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Stayed over the August Bank Holiday weekend - 2 couples - the cottage is right on the main High Street in Moreton in Marsh, so if you have the windows open at night the traffic can be heard clearly first thing. This did not detract from teh beauty of the palce - there are 2 double bedrooms - both quite small as it is a Grade 2 listed cottage, but ample room /storage for a short stay. The facilities were great - plenty of crockery/cutlery/cooking utensils - we had a bottle of wine waiting for us on arrival & some milk in the fridge - the cottacge has a fantastic open fireplace (although we did not need it). The price we paid was well woth worth the stay - my friend & I went to the Bannatyne Spa in Banbury whilst our partners played golf at the Chipping Norton Golf Course (both of these are within 20 mins drive). On the Saturday evening we went for a meal at the Manor House Hotel which was amazing! Can also highly recommend the Bear Inn on Moreton High Street if you want a relaxed evening with good pub grub. The only small niggles I had was the softness of the beds - I prefer a firm mattress - also as it was a busy bank holiday weekend it was not always easy to park outside the property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace - can imagine it in the winter
Liked least: the sound of the traffic outside
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenience and price
Liked least: No bath
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LoonNem
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable and spotlessly clean – the perfect stay”
Reviewed 2 July 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Beautiful cottage in a great location, right in the centre of Moreton-in-Marsh. The cottage is very well equipped with a lovely stone fireplace, great shower and idyllic garden. It is finished to a very high standard, well maintained and spotlessly clean. The owners were easy to contact and looked after us well with a fire laid when we arrived. Highly recommended - we look forward to coming back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluenoser...
Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A charming and comfortable cottage with all the amenities one could want, and ideally located for shopping or exploring.”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My mother and I spent the Christmas of 2012 at The Cottage as a special treat. We were able to take the train from Paddington to Moreton-in-Marsh and walk 3-5 minutes to the door of the cottage.
There was a bottle of wine waiting for us in the kitchen, and two big bundles of wood for the large fireplace. The atmosphere was lovely: stone floors and oak beams, cosy furniture and rugs, fully applianced kitchen with a gorgeous cookstove for us to make Christmas dinner on, and fancy little bathrooms. The central heating was excellent, and we had all we needed.
Food shopping is easily done by foot, with plenty of options. I think we tried four of the many pubs that one can walk to. Moreton-in-Marsh has a very good Tourist Information bureau as well, and it turns out that the town is perfectly situated to use as a base for exploring the region.
We had a wonderful time, and I would definitely stay there again if I got the chance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: General atmosphere, location
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeTyn...
Tyne And Wear
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Don't miss this Cotswold delight”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a couple of nights in November - wished it could have been longer. The cottage is truly lovely - very comfy with a superb log fire. The downstairs shower room was fantastic. The kitchen was very well stocked and Jo had kindly left us a welcoming bottle of wine.
The cottage is on High Street with on street parking outside. The nearby pubs and restaurants were great. We could certainly recommend the White Hart and the Redesdale Arms. The open air market on Tuesday is worth a look if you are there then. We also loved the Cotswold Cheese Company shop - too tempting by half.
We would certainly recommend this holiday rental

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation on the High Street
Liked least: Nothing - it was great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cath72727...
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Warm, cosy, perfectly situated English cottage!”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 for a stay in December 2012

The perfect location as a base for travelling around the Cotswalds. We travelled with our 11 year old daughter and 15 year old son. They shared a double bed which was no problem at all. A lovely bottle of Australian red wine was waiting for us when we arrived. Great email communication when we booked. Would stay again and have recommended to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, could not fault.
Liked least: Extra dry firewood world be great to already have on hand.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie P
1 review
“An excellent home base for exploring the Northern Cotswolds”
Reviewed 28 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The Cottage in Moreton-on-Marsh was the perfect location for our week of exploring the lovely northern Cotswolds villages. The Cottage, right on busy High Street, had free parking out front and was the perfect place to begin and end each day. Every night we would plan our hikes for the next day in the cozy living room with VERY comfortable chairs and a couch with plenty of reading lights and warm blankets. We didn't mind not having internet access in the The Cottage since it was a nice break and gave us more time to read. When needing internet connection we would go to any pub in town, order and ale and relax while using their connections. We didn't use the fireplace but it really added to the charm of the Cottage. The kitchen was well appointed for fixing meals and came stocked with milk and teas. The toilet and shower were modern and clean. Two bedrooms upstairs were very comfortable with crisp linens and pillows. Funny, we didn't discover the third floor toilet until the second day and then it really came in handy during the rest of our stay. The courtyard was lovely and private. At first we were concerned that the Cottage would be noisy due to its location on busy High Street, but the thick stone walls kept it quiet indoors. Moreton-in-Marsh had just the right amount of conveniences to keep us stocked with breakfast and picnic foods. Two, very good Bangladeshi restaurants in town were a treat (The Spice Room and Hassan Balti.) The Horse and Groom just up the Hill in Bourton-on-the-Hill was an amazing place to eat. We would highly recommend The Cottage - a highlight on our three week UK visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cottage living room was sublime
Liked least: As Americans, learning to drive on the left side of the road and backing out of the parking space in front of The Cottage on to busy High Street.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$138
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing