We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
White Hart Royal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Sale, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Almost perfect...”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I and our friends visited this lovely hotel this weekend on a fantastic bargain KGB deal - £99 per couple for two nights b&b including a glass of champagne on arrival!
It is right in the centre of the village and even though there is limited parking immediately outside the hotel, there is plenty of parking spaces directly across the road if these are full.
The rooms are a good size and well appointed; crisp white bed linen, thick white towels, tv, iPod dock, even an iron and ironing board provided. The only couple of small negatives are the lack of a shower cap in the bathroom and no fridge to keep cold the bottle of water they provide.
We had a drink one evening in the cosy snug in front of a roaring log fire - very welcome after a wander round the local villages in bitterly cold weather!
Breakfast both mornings was delicious and we were very impressed that the waiter had remembered on our second day that we had asked for more toast the previous morning and brought another rack of toast without the need to be asked! Again one tiny fault, no tongs for the sugar lumps, but easily remedied...
We ate in the restaurant on our second evening and again it was faultless - we asked for a jug of water with our meal and it was presented with list of ice and slices of lemon and lime! :)
We went for a cocktail in the Manor House Hotel at the far end of the village (turn left as you come out of the hotel) and it had a lovely atmosphere - highly recommended for a pre-dinner
drink.
Our room was at the front of the hotel on the main road but thanks to the double glazing and heavy curtains I can honestly say the traffic noise did not bother us.
I understand that the hotel has only been under current ownership since August 2008 and was in a dilapidated condition when they took it over and they have done a really great job. The
hotel is comfortable without being pretentious and you get a real feeling of the history of the place without it being dowdy.
As a base for exploring the lovely Cotswolds and at a reasonable price (even without our KGB deal) I think it would be hard to beat and would love to return one day.

Room Tip: If you are visiting as a group requiring more than one room, request your rooms together - we were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aceandace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,105
    539
    122
    37
    14
See reviews for
229
1,199
50
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Powys
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We were on a kgbdeal and the staff were all very friendly, we were surprised that the young man in reception showed us to the room and offered to carry our bag. The room was very nicely decorated and the complimentary water and biscuits was a very nice touch. I had the smoked salmon and scrambled egg for breakfast which was so different from the usual full English. My husband asked for his eggs to be very well done and they were, lots of hotels take no notice when he asks. We had 2 evening meals and although not cheap, they were no more expensive than any good restaurant and were very nicely cooked and presented. We had a room at the front but once the thick curtains were closed, the noise from the road was minimal. The weather wasn't brilliant but we had a very relaxing break.

Room Tip: we found our room at the front very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Wanted to find some where different and special and we found it! Stable room was wonderful, bathroom out of this world!

Already recommended to family and friends!

Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EleganceBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The White Hart Royal feels like its owners got halfway through refurbishing then paused to save up a bit more money before finishing the job.

For example, the room we stayed in had a modern feature wall, iPod dock, nice curtains and bedding and stylish tiles in the bathroom (brownie points for the White Company toiletries), but the bathroom also had unattractive vinyl flooring and the bedroom was made to look dingy by the ugly, gloomy overhead light.

It has to be said though that this is a three-star hotel and it is more than adequate for that category. Just make sure you ask for a room at the back if traffic noise keeps you awake, as it's on the main road.

The White Hart Royal is is a fab place to stay if you like hotels with history: the plaque by the entrance says that Charles I stayed there, and with stairs so wonky you feel like you're drunk when you ascend them, it shows (but in a quirky, charming way). The only downside is that the water in the shower didn't go beyond tepid - I guess because of the limitations of providing hot water for multiple bedrooms in an old building.

The staff are really friendly and helpful and gave us a lovely warm welcome despite our being there on a KGB deal.

On the whole, the breakfast was pretty nice, but the sausages weren't good - stick with bacon and eggs if you're particular about meat quality! - and unfortunately the croissants were stale.

However, dinner-wise, I cannot recommend the hotel restaurant enough: the food is really wonderful, and while not cheap, we were pleased we ate there. It's like an entirely different team is operating the kitchen in the evening.

If you're in Moreton for more than one night, it's also worth checking out the Thai restaurant round the corner - we had an amazing meal there too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you get annoyed by road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieJourno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed here in January 2012 along with some old school friends for a "girls weekend". The customer service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The bar area and sitting rooms downstairs are great. The bedrooms are a strange mixture of beautiful new furnishings (curtains and a feature wall paper) and old anagylpta magnolia painted wallpaper with old fashioned (think 1970s) wardrobes and draws. The flooring of our toilet area was cold and horrid and made me wish I'd bought slippers! The food is good - not great, but good and the staff really try very hard to make your stay as wonderful as they can. Try the Manor hotel just up the road for the most amazing cocktails!

Room Tip: Get a room at the back! Our friends stayed at the front and it was very noisy both from the road noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Great hotel,*** 5 star plus***
staff very helpful, friendly and not intrusive, food well prepared, delicious and served with a smile and on time . Room very clean, tidy and well appointed. All in all, excellent value for money. You get what you pay for, but this was well beyond what was expected. Well done!
Highly reccommended, will be staying again.Thank you Roberto , Andrew and your team.
Gary & Marilyn

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I own my own Travel Agency & have been very lucky to stay in some wonderful hotels but I have to say I cannot fault the White Hart Royal ! The staff were so helpful & friendly, great food & beautiful room.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Royal Hotel

Property: White Hart Royal Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Royal Hotel is conveniently located in the market town of Moreton-in-Marsh at the head of the beautiful Evenlode Valley in the English Cotswolds. The principal part of the hotel is early 17th century and has recently reopened following a major restoration and refurbishment program utilising the original building. Its collection of period artifacts and paintings reflects the four centuries of the hotel's evolution while guests now have use of 21st-century facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Hart Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Royal Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing