We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Cotswold Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Hart Royal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Had a very pleasant stay at the White Hart Royal Hotel. This hotel is on a fairly busy street and we were concerned that our street level room facing the street would be noisy, but it was very quiet. One of the reasons we chose this hotel was because some rooms had air conditioning. We were very glad as it was unusually warm at the time we were in the Cotswolds and the air conditioning worked very well. Our room (Evesham Four Poster) was very spacious and nicely furnished. The recently remodeled bathroom was quite nice. Reception and concierge was okay (with a couple of exceptions). Breakfast was very good. Our dinner in the restaurant was adequate. Moreton-in-Marsh is in a central location with good transportation access but it is not particularly pretty and does not have much to offer scenically. As we had a car, staying in a smaller pretty Cotswold village would have been a better choice for us. Overall though, we enjoyed the White Hart Royal Hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanFran11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,460 - 1,466 of 2,025 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at the White Hart Royal Hotel this past weekend, I had booked the Evesham four poster room. It was exactly as reviewed by others on Trip Advisor. It was clean and comfortable. The bed was a bit hard for us. It consists of a matress with no foundation on a hard board base. The only drawback is that I thought it was a bit over priced.

The hot breakfast was cooked to order and much better than we have experienced at the last several hotels where we have stayed that serve a hot buffet. We did not use the dining room but friends who were staying elsewhere in Moreton in Marsh did eat at the White Hart and found it to be excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Recently had just a 1 night stay and booked last minute, got a deal for one of the stable rooms. The member of staff on reception was very friendly, showed us to our room which was lovely, a converted stable, nicely decorated with a large bathroom/wet room. Breakfast was really nice with a very good choice included in our price. Ideally situated for all local places of interest and although its situated on the main road the stable room is at the back so was lovely and quiet. Had checked out some other hotels prior to booking and was really pleased with this one. Would definately stay there again and would choose that room again, stable room 303.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GW C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Recently stayed here in one of the large and airy converted stable rooms. The bathroom looked fantastic, great roll-top freestanding bath, huge shower, lovely decor - separated from the room by frosted glass. The breakfast was good, with a big selection and the bar was cosy. Just a couple of niggly things - the shower pressure was pretty low, the refreshments weren't as good as some of the other Cotswold hotels and the big bed was made up of two singles pushed together which meant you couldn't sleep in the middle. However, overall, a lovely place to stay in the centre of Moreton-in-Marsh.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChloeVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with my husband and our small 16 year old terrier. The hotel is right in the middle of the town-it has limited parking but there is free parking outside to the front and the side of the hotel. You can book this hotel online where the rates are probably cheaper and you can also choose your room as well. Moreton-in-Marsh is a small town with a few pubs, tea rooms and restaurants but a good location for exploring the Cotswolds. It could do with a few more shops to be honest, but internet shopping has it's price and hit the High Streets.

Our first room was the Garden Four Poster which was a lovely room with a Four Poster bed and a patio outside. However, the bed is quite small as it is only a double and if you have a husband like mine who hogs the bed and duvet and snores you are better off with a different room! Also the floor has wooden boards and if your dog is restless like our Winston, all you can hear is the clack of nails on floor boards. He struggles with steps due to his age and there was a bit of a jump to get onto the outside patio. So we asked the next day if we could move to the Oxford Garden Room, which was available and the hotel manager Jared kindly let us do, which was perfect. The room has a king size bed, air conditioning, a bigger bathroom with bath (for us that prefer a bath and not a shower), the patio has a good size grassed garden area as well and there is carpet in the room-bliss, no doggy sound, but unfortunately plenty of hubby snoring noise after 6 pints of Hooky ale! Winst loved to wander through the patio doors onto the garden. He was also allowed to go into the bar and lounges which was wonderful and we didn't have to leave him in the room.

We had dinner in the hotel-my husband had the hake which he said was fantastic and I had the lamb and mint pie with green veg and minted new potatoes and it was really good.Good wine menu as well. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The only drawback was breakfast-service was a bit slow -would be better if the order was taken once the tea and coffee were brought to the table as the waitresses tended to forget to ask what you wanted. Also I would say they should invest in better quality bread as it was just packaged sliced bread (which you toasted yourself on a toasting machine), and better tasting bacon, sausages and black pudding. The tv chef Nigel Slater was seen at the hotel-I think he may have been staying there.

We can recommend the Redesdale Arms also for a meal-hubby had the white bait which was a massive portion-big enough for two-and we both had the trio of sausages, with mustard mash and onion gravy. Another hotel nice for a drink is the Manor Hotel at the end of the street-don't forget to check out the beautiful gardens there.

A very enjoyable stay-we would go back to the White Hart Royal.

Room Tip: The coach house rooms are at the back of the hotel and are very quiet and very dog friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbie274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Picking a hotel in the Cotswolds when you've never been can be fraught. Will it live up to my romantic expectations? Will it be so 'quaint' nothing's worked for 400 years? Is there a decent pub / restaurant within walking distance?

We chose Moreton in Marsh at random and the White Hart Royal Inn based on TripAdvisor recommendations. It was all we could have hoped for and we had an excellent stay. Here are some minor observations that might help your decision making.

* The town is pretty but small, don't expect more nightlife than a good meal and a drink at the pub.
* The Inn is over 400 years old. As such, the floors slope and creak, the water pressure isn't up to much and the en suites are tiny but its history and charm are why you're going to overlook these idiosyncrasies.
* The windows are double glazed so whilst the Inn is on the high street, there's negligible street noise.
* The restaurant is well worth a visit for more than breakfast. We had a superb evening meal there too.
* Although you can of course drink the tap water, two small bottles of complimentary water are provided, as are tea/coffee/hot chocolate making facilities - and biscuits.
* There's free WiFi throughout the Inn.

Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozzielass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Just spent three nights at this lovely hotel and cannot speak highly enough about it - the staff, the food, the whole experience. The building is several centuries old, so you get the quirks that accompany that kind of age: uneven floors, creaky hallways, sink that doesn't drain rapidly ... but those issues are more than compensated for by the friendliness of the staff, the calibre of the breakfast that is included (strongly recommend the Eggs Benedict), the ambiance of the pub, and the courteous amenities: newspaper, reading rooms, outdoor patio, spaciousness of the room (we stayed in the American twin), and the cleanliness. This stay has been followed by a stay at a Hilton in Birmingham and have to say, sorely missing the White Hart experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artquilter60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,151 reviews
8 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,063 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,086 reviews
0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Royal Hotel

Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range: £72 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Royal Hotel is conveniently located in the market town of Moreton-in-Marsh at the head of the beautiful Evenlode Valley in the English Cotswolds. The principal part of the hotel is early 17th century and has recently reopened following a major restoration and refurbishment program utilising the original building. Its collection of period artifacts and paintings reflects the four centuries of the hotel's evolution while guests now have use of 21st-century facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your White Hart Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Royal Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing