We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous, highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Hart Royal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous, highly recommended”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

By far the best place we have found to stay, especially with our dog. Room was beautiful with 4 poster bed and our own patio doors leading out onto our own little garden - ideal for the dog.
Perfectly clean and although we couldn't use the restaurant with the dog, we were very welcome in the "pub" bit, even for breakfast where a table was laid for us and they even cooked and served a sausage specially for the dog, which he appreciated! Amazing place.

Room Tip: Our room was the "Garden Four Poster" but to be honest, they all look lovely. Choose one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,105
    539
    122
    37
    14
See reviews for
229
1,199
50
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We were 4 women touring together and wanted to catch the flavor of the Cotswold s area. We chose the White Hart Royal hotel because it was located right in the heart of the Cotswold's. The hotel restaurant was excellent on all counts. It is located right on the small main street so that we were able to walk to visit the shops

Room Tip: This is an old hotel with all the flavor of something that has been around for many years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamagoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel was great value for money, the room was really comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly. The food was absolutely amazing, with every attention to detail. The breakfast is extremely generous and there is so much to choose from! We would definitely go back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Leigh1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

I think I expected a little more modern decor in the hotel- outside the rooms seemed up to date but the carpet and old fittings (curtains, cushions) made me think I was in my grandparents' house. We were in Rm116 on the roadside so maybe this one was different to others.
In contrast, great modern bathroom with powerful shower- so powerful though that we had to hand-hold the shower head to stop it spraying the bathroom!
Very comfy bed that's an actual double and not 2 singles pushed together- hallelujah!
Great town, great 24-hr bar downstairs to stay cozied up all night and stumble back to your room only to wake up and head outside to realise you've met half the town already.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddlemug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Overall the experience was very good. It's great to find a hotel in the area that you can book for just one night at the weekend. The check in was friendly and efficient. The hotel is pleasantly refurbished with a good mix of modern decor but retaining the charm of the 600 year old building. The atmosphere and service in the bar in the evening and the quality of the cooked breakfast in the morning were both excellent. Our room, the Hayloft, was a good size but would not be recommended for anyone tall as the ceilings were very sloping. Because of this there was no proper shower, just an ineffective hand held attachment over the bath. We also found the bed too soft for our taste and the base seemed to be broken. A shower and comfortable bed are the most important things to get right in a hotel so my rating is only very good. We would return but would take a different room next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank advice55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
251 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This old hotel had been tastefully modernised. The room was large as was the bed which was a little too soft my liking. The en suite bathroom was large and had both a bath and separate shower. Nice touch was free bottled water and a carafe of sherry! Staff were friendly and the hotel pub was cosy and welcoming. Very quiet room. Would certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 304 (Oxford garden room) was large and had its own private garden with no one overlooking it. i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed recently with two other couples for our annual 'uni' reunion. We all loved the hotel and have re-booked to return next year, again in October. We only manage one night each year so it's important it's enjoyable.

Loved the entrance into reception which was obviously the original entrance off the road for the carriages to drive into the inn yard at the rear - now a nice little outside seating area where my husband and I enjoyed a lovely glass of wine in the afternoon - the cobbles are still there on the entrance floor!

The bar is great. Loads of atmosphere, lively with good food. The restaurant where we had dinner and breakfast was very nice and our food was excellent - best scrambled eggs with, (very generous), smoked salmon that I have ever had. Breakfast was a bit busy, but you would expect that at nine-ish on a Sunday morning, and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

We had room 115, a superb old four poster room. You can get into it straight off the high street or through the hotel. There are a number of photos of it already on the site so won't add any further. There the ones showing the open grate with 2 large old red covered wooden chairs with four poster to match. The bed was very comfortable. Our only comment, and it is purely a personal note. We love a bath in our room - -very old fashioned I know - and this room has a shower room. It is a lovely modern shower room, not internal, as are so many these days -with a window looking out over the courtyard at the rear towards the stable rooms. Just a quick note on those stable rooms. We did look at them before we left and were very tempted by them. They are more costly , but if I was going back and wanted to treat myself I would definitely book one of them. The room and the bathroom was fab.

Dinner in the restaurant was, I thought, value for money. Not your cheap pub meal but a very good restaurant meal with service to match. Nice white linen on the tables and for the napkins -very nice.

All round would definitely recommend it. Thanks to everyone there for a thoroughly enjoyable break. Looking forward to returning next October.

Room Tip: there are a variety of different rooms available.Probably best speaking directly to the hotel and ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LancashireSuem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Royal Hotel

Property: White Hart Royal Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Royal Hotel is conveniently located in the market town of Moreton-in-Marsh at the head of the beautiful Evenlode Valley in the English Cotswolds. The principal part of the hotel is early 17th century and has recently reopened following a major restoration and refurbishment program utilising the original building. Its collection of period artifacts and paintings reflects the four centuries of the hotel's evolution while guests now have use of 21st-century facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Hart Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Royal Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing