We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class service and family friendly - a wonderful Christmas break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Hart Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Hart Royal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First class service and family friendly - a wonderful Christmas break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

What a truly lovely place! This was our second stay and we were very happy to be back. This time we stayed over Christmas and had our one year old with us. The White Hart has a great team of staff, led by Duncan, who were so welcoming, thoughtful and helpful. They bent over backwards to ensure we had everything we needed, nothing was too much trouble for them. This led to a very relaxing break! The room was large and very comfortable and had lovely touches such as a card and presents left in the room. Everything from the mulled wine and mince pies on Christmas eve round a wood fire to the scrummy evening three course dinners were fantastic. The hotel has lots of lounge space, beautifully decorated, to relax in and the snug bar is just so atmospheric and cosy. This hotel sets itself very high standards across all areas and delivers; but maintains it's warm and welcoming charm. We didn't want to leave.... so we stayed another night! Which the staff sorted out for us very efficiently. We were pulling out of the car park on our way home when the chef reminded us we still had baby food in their fridge (which they had stored and heated when needed without any fuss) and ran and got it for us! We've stayed in expensive places that claim to be five star but don't come close to the service and atmosphere in the White Hart.
It was home away from home, a really lovely Cotswolds country Christmas. Thank you very much! We will be back.... soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieQ025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Susie
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. I was quite moved when I read them. It truly was a wonderful Christmas and I’m so pleased that you were able to relax and enjoy yourselves.
I’m very proud of all of my team and will delight in sharing your comments with them.

Regards
Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,064
    525
    118
    33
    14
See reviews for
219
1,158
47
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We enjoyed a three night stay over Christmas and had a wonderful time. We were welcomed at the door and shown to our room which was big, warm and very cosy. There was a welcoming box of chocolates as well as a basket of fruit. The bed proved to be about the most comfortable bed that my wife and myself have slept in. Whilst it was on the road side ogf the hotel the double glazing kept it very quiet indeed.

The lounges are more than ample for the hotel and nice and peaceful

The food was wonderful, the menu for the stay was so good and extensive that we had to show it to our friends - it was impresive. The restaurat staff were so helpful and would ask the chefs to accomodate any changes that we required to the menu. We had a cream tea Boxing Day afternoon.

We had a eally enjoyable Christmas, thank you everyone at thte White Hart Royal

Room Tip: We think that any room is a good room and the fact that it is on a main road doesn't seem to mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollybush2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we always really appreciate it when guests take the time to write such great feedback.
I’m pleased that you enjoyed Christmas with us this year, and it was our pleasure to offer you gifts and a small festive hamper. We all try to make it a wonderful Christmas away from home.
Due to the age of the hotel, the rooms are all different shapes and sizes and I’m pleased you enjoyed the size of your room and felt the bed very comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Regards
Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middx
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed at the hotel for the second time with my partner as a birthday treat from him. This time we had a bigger superior room which was very clean and comfortable ,a nice bathroom with shower and bath.
Staff were again extremely helpful ,friendly and efficient.The food was excellent. We had dinner the first night and the breakfasts were great with plenty of choice.
Look forward to staying again sometime soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvieMiddx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for coming back to stay with us again, we love it when guests return because they enjoyed it so much on previous visits. Thank you for the comments it is always good to hear positive comments and the Staff team love to read them.
Regards
Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

This was a surprise early christmas present for me and it was lovely. The hotel has lots of character and is really cosy.
We had a nice room at the front of the hotel (room 110). It was clean and really comfortable. It was quite small but we did not find that any problem at all. There was good choice of tea, coffee and hot chocolate in the room. They also have nice sitting rooms with books and games that guests are able to use.
We could hear the street, but that was only if I was purposely listening for it. I can't say I really noticed it and it didn't keep me awake. We could also hear people moving about in other rooms, but again it did not keep us up and this is what you would expect in a very old building.
The breakfast was great, with the choice of hot and cold food. Hot breakfasts were made to order rather than a buffet which was really good.
The staff were all very friendly and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nihon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. The room that you had is one of our smallest double rooms so I’m especially pleased that you found it comfortable. In the bar there is even a bigger choice of 8 different flavoured Teas.
We are all really pleased that you enjoyed the food. It is a treat to start the day on a full breakfast and we try to make it extra special by cooking everything fresh to order for our guests.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We chose this hotel to celebrate out Wedding Anniversary as my wife wanted to revisit her childhood days staying at The White Hart and it did not disappoint.The Staff were all very professional,friendly and helpful throughout our stay.An unexpected but very welcome upgrade to a feature room was the icing on the cake and made us feel pretty special.We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventurerNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your Wedding Anniversary with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crudwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

My Wife and I decided to treat ourselves to a Festive night away in Moreton-in-Marsh.
After reviewing various Hotels in the town we chose the White Hart Hotel. What a good choice this was!
We were initially given a disabled room outside the Hotel and asked to be moved to a different room.
This was no problem to the friendly staff and we were given a first floor room at the front of the hotel.
We booked a table in the Restaurant which again was a good choice as when we arrived to take our table, we noticed the Restaurant was full.
The food was excellent and the full English breakfast the following day maintained this standard.

The only downside was the lack of hot water in the morning.
Would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We were initially allocated a dis-abled room with a very sparse bathroom. If we were to visit again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Very nice hotel, in a very good location on the high street, Moreton-in-Marsh is a lovely small Cotswold village. Our room overlooked the high street, whilst some people have commented on street noise we did not find this a problem at all. We had evening meal in the restaurant, advisable to book as the restaurant is not very big. The service in the restaurant was first class, the food was very good and reasonably priced. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chelsea021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Royal Hotel

Property: White Hart Royal Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Royal Hotel is conveniently located in the market town of Moreton-in-Marsh at the head of the beautiful Evenlode Valley in the English Cotswolds. The principal part of the hotel is early 17th century and has recently reopened following a major restoration and refurbishment program utilising the original building. Its collection of period artifacts and paintings reflects the four centuries of the hotel's evolution while guests now have use of 21st-century facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your White Hart Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Royal Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing