We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
White Hart Royal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“wonderful New Year”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A two day New Year break exceeded expectations. A beautiful 4 poster room that would have been big enough to live in (if it had a kitchen!!) Excellent meals with very attentive staff and a great night's entertainment on the night.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to be really spoiled!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRJM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,134
    543
    124
    37
    15
See reviews for
235
1,222
51
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Could not fault this hotel. Stayed for 2 nights and we were very impressed. Our room was lovely even though it was supposed to be a standard one!. The staff were very efficient and the hotel was run like a well oiled machine (but with the lovely friendly personal touch). Food was gorgeous. We had our evening meal here both nights. Would highly recommend and will return if we get the chance!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly0140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked this through an Amazon Local deal so had no prior knowledge of this hotel but were so pleased to have had the opportunity that we will definitely stay again. From the moment we arrived it was just lovely. The breakfast, lunches and dinners were just wonderful with lots of choice - all served by staff who could not do enough. My only suggestion if you stay and you are a light sleeper is don't have Room 113. I understand it is a large family room above - enough said with no one going to sleep before 1am. Overall brilliant and will be booking again in the near future as we love all the antique and art shops in Moreton and Stow.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We decided to have a couple if days in the Cotswolds and chose the White Hart Royal and were very impressed.

The rooms were spotless, the staff very polite and friendly - nothing was too much trouble for them.

There breakfasts were great and they even offered Gluten free bread for the wife.

There is an excellent free WiFi system which was very useful for finding places to go.

We ate in the restaurant on the second night and really enjoyed every course.

Would highly recommend the White Hart Royal

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RonBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Moreton over Christmas and frequented this pub a little too often! Roaring fire, relaxing atmosphere and knowledgable friendly staff. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. This pub is exactly what visiting the Cotswolds is all about.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenGooders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Jen Gooders
Thank you for your kind comments. I’m not sure that you can ever frequent a Pub too much over the Christmas period! I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.

Regards Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We were lucky enough to find a special deal for two nights at the White Hart Royal Hotel just after Christmas. On arrival, we were charmed by the historic exterior and interior of the hotel, and the welcome we got from staff more than matched the initial good impressions. The hotel staff - from reception to restaurant to cleaning staff - were friendly and welcoming and could not do enough for us.

My boyfriend is vegan, and although nothing on the menu was suitable for him, we had let the hotel know in advance and the chef had prepared a special vegan menu for him to choose from: what wonderful service!

Our room was at the back of the hotel and was lovely and peaceful - I do think it a shame that the furniture in our room was rather modern and didn't quite match the historic atmosphere of other areas, but it was nevertheless a pleasant room.

The Snug Bar was fabulous, with a warm fire, plenty of atmosphere and very reasonable drinks prices. Food in the restaurant was good and breakfasts were plentiful with lots of choice. Overall a wonderful stay, would certainly recommend this.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbistheinitial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am very pleased that you so enjoyed your Twixmas Break with us.
Our Chef loves to please our guests and was very happy to accommodate your boyfriends dietary requirements.
All our bedrooms can be viewed on our website and offer a choice of modern or those furnished with period furniture. If you require any help with choosing the perfect room for you on a future visit, then please do not hesitate to contact me.

Regards Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

What a truly lovely place! This was our second stay and we were very happy to be back. This time we stayed over Christmas and had our one year old with us. The White Hart has a great team of staff, led by Duncan, who were so welcoming, thoughtful and helpful. They bent over backwards to ensure we had everything we needed, nothing was too much trouble for them. This led to a very relaxing break! The room was large and very comfortable and had lovely touches such as a card and presents left in the room. Everything from the mulled wine and mince pies on Christmas eve round a wood fire to the scrummy evening three course dinners were fantastic. The hotel has lots of lounge space, beautifully decorated, to relax in and the snug bar is just so atmospheric and cosy. This hotel sets itself very high standards across all areas and delivers; but maintains it's warm and welcoming charm. We didn't want to leave.... so we stayed another night! Which the staff sorted out for us very efficiently. We were pulling out of the car park on our way home when the chef reminded us we still had baby food in their fridge (which they had stored and heated when needed without any fuss) and ran and got it for us! We've stayed in expensive places that claim to be five star but don't come close to the service and atmosphere in the White Hart.
It was home away from home, a really lovely Cotswolds country Christmas. Thank you very much! We will be back.... soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieQ025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Susie
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. I was quite moved when I read them. It truly was a wonderful Christmas and I’m so pleased that you were able to relax and enjoy yourselves.
I’m very proud of all of my team and will delight in sharing your comments with them.

Regards
Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,116 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,068 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,026 reviews
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
955 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Royal Hotel

Property: White Hart Royal Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Royal Hotel is conveniently located in the market town of Moreton-in-Marsh at the head of the beautiful Evenlode Valley in the English Cotswolds. The principal part of the hotel is early 17th century and has recently reopened following a major restoration and refurbishment program utilising the original building. Its collection of period artifacts and paintings reflects the four centuries of the hotel's evolution while guests now have use of 21st-century facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your White Hart Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Royal Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing