We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely oldie worldy Hotel in the Cotswold”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
White Hart Royal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely oldie worldy Hotel in the Cotswold”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hotel is so nice. I stayed for 3 nights in a double room. On arrival the hotel has parking at the rear in a small courtyard, however this only fits around 6 cars, then you have to park out the front of the hotel, which is next to the main road. So no secure parking. On entering the hotel i was greeted by the very helpful receptionist, he even showed me to my room. The room I booked was a single, however they gave me a double. On entering the room, all the old dark beams were running through out. Spotlessly clean, lovely double bed, very comfy, fab feathered pillows and duvet. Lovely egyptian cotton bedding. The room had a plasma tv on the wall, single wardrobe and even a iPod dock to play your music and charge your iPhone very handy indeed. The bathroom was nearly as big as the room. Very clean, bath/shower , and WC. The only issue was that the hotel is right on a busy road and if you open your window then you wont have any peace and quiet. However in the winter, you dont notice the traffic noise as the windows are shut.
Breakfast was fab, small seating area, not cramped and very quant. Lots to choose on the cooked menu, smoke haddock, smoked salmon, full breakfast, eggs bendict, cereals, pastries. The chef was very accomodating and would basically cook whatever you wanted.

Room Tip: If you can, and I'm not if they do rooms on the other side but you really could do with a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drucey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
I’m so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to upgrade you to a double room. The car park is small but the parking outside the Hotel is free plus the town does have minimal crime, so much so that they closed the police station! Thank you for your appreciation of our great quality linen and lovely food and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    531
    120
    35
    14
See reviews for
227
1,179
49
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous overnight stay 18/01 -19/01 We arrived as a party of 3,our initial booking was for 2 people but we contacted the hotel a week prior to our arrival to add a 3rd person to the room, we were told this was no trouble and if we were happy they would set up a camp bed in the room. We received a very friendly welcome from a lovely man on reception who showed to our room - number 117 situated at the back of the hotel (a lovely large and quiet room - BONUS)

I had notified the hotel it was my parents 25th wedding anniversary, to our surprise we were greeted with a lovely card on the bed congratulating my parents on their anniversary, to celebrate they had been provided with a 'pamper package' consisting of dressing gowns, slippers, chocolates and some travel size 'The White Company' toiletries - we were all impressed by this truly thoughtful gesture. Considering our room was a standard room we were more than happy with the price we had paid. The bed and camp bed were both very comfortable. The only criticism i would make if i was being really picky about the room was the view outside our windows faced the bins, as we were out during the day this wasn't an issue and we much preferred to be at the back of the hotel rather than at the front. There is a side door in the room which can be used to the enter the car park outside,we found this very handy for getting luggage in and out of the car. Having been out for the afternoon and evening we returned to our room and all had a comfortable nights sleep.

The staff at the hotel were all pleasant and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We had a fantastic breakfast the following morning, lots of choice such as toast,croissants, yogurt and several hot options. We all chose the Full English. You could chose whether to have your egg fried, scrambled or poached - not many places will give you this option! We all commented on how much we enjoyed the breakfast - particularly the sausage and egg!

All in all I really could not fault our stay at all - we would gladly return again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments, I’m pleased we were able to offer you the extra bed and that you enjoyed the little touches of the pamper hamper. I’m taking on board your comment about the bins being visible from that particular room and we are looking into enhancing that particular area. Next time you come I hope you approve of the changes that we make.

Regards
Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West New York, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed just after New Year. We were most impressed by the staff who were very courteous and dare I say efficient. The public rooms and bar were very comfortable and the standard of the restaurant was very good for such an unpretentious establishment. Our offer was fantastic value. We love the area and on another visit we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid a room above the Bar apparently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We are happy that you started the New Year so well with your visit to the White Hart Royal Hotel! Thank you for your comments and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you returning later in the year.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights when the weather was decidedly miserable, but the hotel accommodation, staff and food more than made up for the rain. We stayed in the Oxford Garden Room, which was quiet and extremely comfortable and also had a very modern and up to date bathroom. The water pressure in the shower was great.
We ate our breakfast and evening meals in the bar as we had our dog with us. Every dish was superb.
The staff at the hotel were first class, nothing was too much trouble. Any request we made was received with a "can do" attitude. They were positive, helpful and friendly. A great asset to a great hotel. We will be returning. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverback_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. The Oxford Garden Room is fantastic and is one of our most requested rooms. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your food in our bar whilst enjoying the company of your dog. As you know we do not permit dogs in our restaurant, but we are happy to lay tables in either our bar or one of our comfortable lounges.

We look forward to you all returning in the future.

Regards
Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Just had a 2 day break there. Very friendly staff. lovely room and excellent food. Moreton has generally lacklustre pubs - this is easily the best to sit next to the fire and have a very good pint ! Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johngarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about our staff, our food and of course a very good beer! Perfect to enjoy next to a welcoming fire on a winters day.

Kind Regards
Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I chose this hotel because it is dog friendly (for our little princess). We stayed in a stable room. We enjoyed our stay:
1. The room was warm and reasonably large with a very good size and modernised bathroom (with a separate bath - great for a soak)
2. The lovely pub with burning fireplace was great for having light meals and breakfasts with our dog - not having to leave her in the room by herself.
3. Tea/coffee making facilities were much appreciated (water jug, cups and hot chocolates)
4. Hotel parking was limited, but there were ample parking spaces on the streets around the hotel.
5. Hotel location is excellent - on the main street (but we did not hear any noise, other than noise from stairs adjacent to room, as we were at the back of the main house). There are other hotels, restaurants and pubs and shops on the main street. Moreton in Marsh is also conveniently located for exploring the Cotswolds (and the Batsford Arboretum is highly recommended).
6. Staff were polite and friendly.
Only thing we were a bit fussy about was that the water pressures for the shower were very weak. And, a bigger bed would be great as the room was large enough for a larger bed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelreviews06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

From the minute we arrived nothing was too much trouble. The staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed in the four poster bed room. I thought it might be a little cold but the rooms were cosy and warm. The food was well prepared and the staff efficient. Really enjoyable stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Royal Hotel

Property: White Hart Royal Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Royal Hotel is conveniently located in the market town of Moreton-in-Marsh at the head of the beautiful Evenlode Valley in the English Cotswolds. The principal part of the hotel is early 17th century and has recently reopened following a major restoration and refurbishment program utilising the original building. Its collection of period artifacts and paintings reflects the four centuries of the hotel's evolution while guests now have use of 21st-century facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Hart Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Royal Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing