We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
White Hart Royal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on an Amazon local deal. Room clean and bed comfortable. Dined in the first night-food was good and reasonably priced. Breakfast offers good range of cereals, fruit, bread, croissants and yogurts. The cooked full English breakfast wasn't great-undercooked sausage and flabby smoked bacon, I steered clear the second day and went for cereal & toast. Recommend a visit to Batsford Arboretum.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenturp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,091
    533
    120
    35
    14
See reviews for
227
1,180
49
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just back from a great weekend in the Cotswolds. Hotel was pretty good. Room was quite small and clean without being spotless. Few minor niggles like toilet not flushing properly but nothing bad enough to complain about. Our room overlooked a small courtyard so we thought it would be very quiet. Wrong. First night we were woken up at 4am by what sounded like people moving furniture about and then people smoking and talking in the courtyard. Second night was fine. Breakfast was OK, nothing special. The snug bar is nice and the small 'sitting rooms' are nice. Overall, not bad but for £110 a night I expect a bit more than 'ok'.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My friend and I had a lovely stay at the White Hart, all the people we had contact with were pleasant and effecient, the food was delicious!

My usual problem is a bad back, I have a memory foam mattress at home and usually find a hotel bed gives me a bad back no matter how comfy it seems...I didnt have a bad back at the White Hart!! There seemed to be a topper of some sort, I think it was a down one, I plan to call the hotel to find out...

Cant recommend this hotel highly enough.

We were using an Amazon Local voucher so it was great value for money.

15 out of 10!

Room Tip: the main road is a bit noisy if you want to leave your windows open so ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lslysimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were lucky in using an Amazon local voucher to stay at this charming coaching inn. Our room was pleasant although not luxurious but our expectations for what we paid were more than met. Some of the rooms at the hotel are quite spectacular and would be well worth the extra cost.

Thereis a cosy bar with good local ales and the restaurant was very good with a to order breakfast with lots to choose from. The hotel has been recently renovated and there are two lovely lounges to use if you want some quiet time. Great location with some really friendly staff, with nothing being too much trouble for them.

We will certainly be going back to explore some more of the Cotswolds charm.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a feature room, check ou the Noir room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Martin
Thank you for your lovely feedback, and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the food here at the White Hart Royal Hotel. At certain points of the year we are able to offer some amazing deals and details can be found on our Bulldog Hotel Group website.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Just had a lovely two day stay at the white hart royal hotel.The food was excellent. Plenty of choice for breakfast, full english, cereal, fresh fruit and yoghurt. The staff couldn't be more helpful. The room was clean and bed very comfy.
This was all on a groupon deal so real good value.
The only negative was our room (102) was right above the door to the kitchens and the staff were in and out constantly banging the door until 11.30pm. They stood outside the door smoking and chatting. We had to have our window open as was a bit warm and all you could smell was smoke. Then at 6.20am a delivery van turned up and the door banging started again with loud voices and rattling about. I mentioned it to reception on departure as i don;t think they realized how loud it all was and they thanked me for pointing it out and they would look into it. Didn't like complaining as everything else couldn't be faulted but thought they could rectify this so no one else has to be disturbed!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and the lovely food we offer here at the hotel. Following your feedback we have spoken with our staff team and our delivery operatives to try and ensure that guests are not affected by any associated noise. Once again please accept my apologies.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The meal was excellent. We had a variety of choices which were all excellent and they welcomed my little four legged friend! I thought that the prices were very varied which allowed choices such as lasagne, fish and chips through to the more gourmet dishes. I would love to stay as the rest of the hotel looked amazing!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathrynruth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about our food. We do hope you will stay with us on your next visit to Moreton in Marsh as we are a dog friendly Hotel and a number of our rooms are ideal for guests travelling with pets and some even have their own private gardens.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

My wife and myself have just returned from two nights at this really delightful hotel.we took advantage of the Amazon deal and found it excellent value. The room was clean and spacious with ample amounts of complimetery tea and coffee. The breakfasts were superb as was the evening meal in the restaurant,but most of all were the friendly and accommodating staff. We will most certainly be making a return visit

Room Tip: Don't have a tip as all rooms appear to pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Trevor
Thank you for your kind comments we are pleased that you had such a good time. I will certainly pass your comments onto the Kitchen team about the food. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel sometime in the future.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
0.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Royal Hotel

Property: White Hart Royal Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Royal Hotel is conveniently located in the market town of Moreton-in-Marsh at the head of the beautiful Evenlode Valley in the English Cotswolds. The principal part of the hotel is early 17th century and has recently reopened following a major restoration and refurbishment program utilising the original building. Its collection of period artifacts and paintings reflects the four centuries of the hotel's evolution while guests now have use of 21st-century facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Hart Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Royal Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing