We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Sunday Lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Hart Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Hart Royal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Easter Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Popped to Moreton for Easter Sunday lunch food was great and the environment excellent, BUT service was slow not just for us as two couples on the tables either side also asked where their food was, not too busy so no excuse, young and very lovely waiting staff but their attention to the times and apologies about delays before you need to ask would save the embarrassment for staff. In short great food atmosphere but staff need to match the environment. Would I go agIn yes defiantly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your food and the Hotel. I do agree wholeheartedly with your comments on communication with our customers and will provide additional training on this. Apologies that on the day the kitchen team were slow with your order, I am pleased to hear that you would return, thank you.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,061
    525
    117
    33
    14
See reviews for
219
1,154
47
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch here. I rang a few days before to book, it seemed to take an age for the girl to book the table, constantly asking someone else everything I asked, annoying. Got there the restaurant was lovely, setting was nice and a nice atmosphere. It took a good 20 minutes for someone to take our order, the starters came within 10-15 mins and they were lovely, I asked for some bread for my daughter but this never turned up!!! But the biggest let down was it took an hour to then get our Sunday roast!!! In the main it was ok but 3 of us had the beef which all had a HUGE Bit of fat running straight through it, literally half of each slice!!! Not great. When asked if our meal was ok, I mentioned the lack of bread and the huge bit of fat in all of our meals but she just said "oh sorry"!!! No reflection in the bill at all for this, plus my Yorkie was burnt too :( lots of potential but they need to sort these issues for me to want to return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
I’m sorry that you did not fully enjoy your visit over Easter. We are currently training a new member of staff on reception and she wanted to check that she was giving all the correct information to you. Thank you for your comments about the service in the restaurant over lunch. The wait time between starters and main courses shouldn’t have been that long and I apologise for that. The joint of beef we serve is rib of beef, which does tend to be the fattiest roasting joint but equally the best and tastiest, however, I apologise if your beef was too fatty for you.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We enjoyed a good meal in the Bar area which was warm and welcoming the staff were friendly although we did wait a while for our meal. Very impressed with the lounge areas. The menu was quite varied and they were some good specials on offer the atmosphere was good and the hotel was busy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at White Hart Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed the food and the atmosphere at the White Hart Royal. We do have some great areas for guests to sit and enjoy their food and drink. The Easter Holiday was a busy time in Moreton in Marsh with lots of visitors basing themselves here to explore all the Cotswolds has to offer.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Duncan Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great place to take "your best friend"

We had the 2 garden rooms. I forget the numbers and even tho the same price are quite different. The one with the 4 poster bed is normal sized, has wooden floors, is quite dark with a paved courtyard. The non 4 poster room is about 50% larger, has carpet and a bath, is much brighter with a very big grassed garden. I much preferred the bigger room but if its wet you will have muddy dog on the carpet!
Altogether we enjoyed our stay. The staff were great and the food was fine. We had dinner 3 nights in the bar which is the same as the restaurant. Would go there again but take own pillow

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wythall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The White Hart Royal hotel just oozes history, it’s the real deal. The fireplace in the Snug bar dates from 1627. King Charles 1st must once have stood on that very spot when he stopped off at the White Hart after losing the Battle of Marston Moor against the Parliamentarians.

Sitting in the Snug enjoying a fine Hook Norton ale from the bar it is easy to ponder about how many other folk over the years have sat in exactly the same spot, chatting over a foaming beer.

My wife and I were enjoying a 2 night ‘voucher’ stay at the hotel. Our room was on the front of the hotel and was clean and comfortable. Secondary glazing allowed a view of the interesting but busy high street without any significant noise problems.

The hotel staff (Reception, bar, restaurant, cleaners) were a friendly bunch of folk. Breakfast was lovely. I opted for smoked salmon and scrambled egg on both mornings. The deal even came with a free glass of champagne each - living the dream!

Resident’s lounges were sumptuous, comfortable and relaxing, in fact bordering on decadent.

Apparently King Charles left without paying his bill (the bill can still be seen at the hotel). Further comment would be superfluous.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldvicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, MA
Level Contributor
318 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We got off on the wrong foot when we checked in. The one person at the front desk was on the phone helping someone make a room reservation for some future visit. While I commend the staff person for staying on the phone a long time patiently answering the many questions the future guest had, not once did he make eye contact with us or indicate in any way that he acknowledged our presence and would be with us as soon as possible. And no other staff person came out to the front desk to assist. I was prepared to be really annoyed, but when he did finally get off the phone he apologized profusely for the delay and was very pleasant and welcoming. For the rest of my stay I often saw two staff people at the front desk, so why this one staff person was left on his own there at check in time on a busy Saturday holiday weekend with responsibility for making future reservations in addition to checking in new guests was beyond me. Luckily that was the only problem we encountered, and after that all was good. We had a room on an upper floor at the end of a very long corridor, which meant we didn't have other guests walking by our door. The room faced onto the main street, and with the hotel in the center of town we were concerned it would be noisy, but the staff person assured us the double glazed window would keep out the noise even with the holiday fun fair running just a short distance away. He was right, thank goodness, and we slept just fine. The room was nice, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was fine, and the breakfast was good. Breakfast included the usual buffet of cereal, fruit, yogurt, and breads, plus a hot cooked entrée. We were pretty impressed with the scrambled eggs topped with smoked salmon, because it was very tasty and beautifully presented. We had dinner in the hotel one night, and we thought the menu selection and the food were all very good. This is a good place to stay if you want to be right in the center of town so you can easily explore on foot. Just remember Moreton is a tourist destination and it was busy enough in early April that I'm sure it gets really busy when it's the summer tourist season.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 65Wagonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

stopped off here on our way further down the map ,doesn't look that enticing from the outside but we sat in the bar and were served by a very friendly lady behind the counter we had a baguette with salad which was lovely and fresh and very good value, would certainlt recommend this place to eat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Royal Hotel

Property: White Hart Royal Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Royal Hotel is conveniently located in the market town of Moreton-in-Marsh at the head of the beautiful Evenlode Valley in the English Cotswolds. The principal part of the hotel is early 17th century and has recently reopened following a major restoration and refurbishment program utilising the original building. Its collection of period artifacts and paintings reflects the four centuries of the hotel's evolution while guests now have use of 21st-century facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your White Hart Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Royal Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing