We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent if you can cope with no sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Hart Royal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Staying for one night, paid £175 incl breakfast, brilliant hotel, nice staff wonderful courtyard for pre dinner drinks, at first sight everything you need and expect when paying a high price, it is right you have high expectations.

Until night falls, room 201, Friday night 20th June, fantastic evening, straight to bed before a busy day, its hot, windows open, no air conditioning, a simple table top fan, away we go. Until 04:00hrs, all hell let loose, lorries to be honest, followed by motorbikes, then a massive clank and the fan cover fell to the floor.

The worst nights sleep for years, we cat napped until 06:30am, showered and down for breakfast. I don't accept below standard, I told the receptionist who immediately offered a 10% reduction on our bill. Including an evening meal and drinks for two £235 for one sleepless night.

Shop around, the competition is high in the area and there ar some fantastic options locally but keep well away from road side Hotels and in particular ones which require the window to be open for comfort.

There is inadequate parking so we left the car on the road side, crossing the busy road with our luggage, the restaurant is nice but cannot possibly accommodate a full house as it is tiny. Breakfast was really nice, but our table so small it was a balancing act, and as we were adjacent to the cold drinks table we were constantly on edge making sure passers by didn't knock our table.

In summary, its a pity this place is lovely but until the noise is sorted out its only worth considering as a last option.

Room Tip: Chose one not on the roadside of the hotel, we had room 201, nightmare !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gilman12_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,290 - 1,296 of 1,998 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel itself is very nice with very polite staff. Our double standard room was smart but it was at the front of the hotel and is on a busy main road. It was really warm but we couldn't leave the windows open because of the through traffic. On our first morning our full English breakfast was undercooked. The sausage had barely been cooked. Some people were sending theirs back over the 3 days we were booked in which is a shame. I enjoyed my stay but would not return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here as above on the Sunday slumber rate at the start of a 3 night break in the Cotswolds. The hotel is really easy to find, although set on the main road we stayed in The Hayloft which is situated the the courtyard, the room was really pretty we had a small box of Belgian chocolates on the bed. The 3 course Sunday roast was delicious and included a bottle of wine with the offer! Breakfast the next morning was also really nice. If you want a central base to travel around the Cotswolds this hotel is ideal and the Sunday night rate is hard to beat with all that is included! If there are any criticisms to make it would be that the bed in the Hayloft is on the small side, other than that a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacblenners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We decided to book a last minute break to the Cotswolds - not knowing anything about the Cotswolds we decided to look on Trip Advisor, this is where we found The White Hart Royal Hotel. We made a call around 22:30 to see if they had any availability. We were amazed at how nice the gentleman on the phone was, he found us a room told us about a summer sizzler promotion and told us what we can do whilst visiting, he was very informative, kind and very polite (sorry I cannot remember your name) so we decided to look no further and book. We told him that we will be travelling with our 1 year old daughter, he made sure that we got one of the bigger outer feature rooms which we thought was very accommodating of him.

We arrived around 2pm and check in was 3pm, so we decided to Park up at the hotel and take a walk up the High Street, the Hotel is located in a very convenient location with lots of shops and Restraunts in walking distance. We checked in at 3pm, ALL the staff here are amazing, they go the extra mile and always keep a smile on their faces.

Our daughter is still eating baby food and has milk twice a day (early morning/evening). I went to the Tesco across the road to get some Milk, the Staff happily put this in there and they were very happy to warm the milk up when required, even her food was warmed up without a fuss.

We stayed in the Old Stable Room, I must say the room was great, very clean had AC and a big TV and a big bed! Our daughter loved all the space she had to run around in. The staff had set up a cot with lovely bedding and to our surprise in the bathroom they provided a baby bath with all the Johnson products, absolutely perfect and first class service. We were given complimentary bottle of sherry along with a jug of Pimms.. We only had the breakfast at the hotel which was very tasty and the menu was great from the full traditional English to Egg benedict just perfect!

Overall this Hotel was amazing the staff were all lovely, courteous and happy to help whether it's was at 6am or 10pm, they definatly make your stay an amazing experience. Some really nice places are located just down the road like Stow on the Wold, Bourton on the Water, Broadway etc. We would definatly come back here and have already recommended this to Friends and family.

Room Tip: The feature rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SiennaRia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We were looking for a short break after the poor weather recently and as we had been to the White Hart before we decided to go again,
On our last visit we found everything to be as we would wish and this visit was as good as before .
We would certainly recommend this Hotel
John & Jean Cooper

Room Tip: Room at front overlooking town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johncooper28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed here recently with my elderly mother. There are no lifts, I knew that before I booked as I contacted the hotel and they arranged for us to stay in a twin room with one flight of stairs to negotiate. The staff were fantastic and helped us with our bags and kept her disabled Walker downstairs for us. They were all very helpful and I can't thank them enough for their help.

None of the walls or floors are straight, but this is in keeping with the age of the building. It was very clean and altogether a very pleasant stay. The menu is ok but nothing special, it is the same in the restaurant as it is in the bar area.

The bed linen was good and the beds were fine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for two nights on a half board deal, only one night is the dinner.
We had the garden room, beautiful large room with large bathroom and private garden.

Staff were outstanding and very friendly, dunan the manager of great assistance as on arrival our room was not ready but he did everything to make us feel accommodated, they had a wedding and bride was using the room and had got delayed.

evening dinner was lovely I had scallops and fillet of beef with a desert , excellent, service excellent and the maître d was lovely.

décor in restaurant is lovely.

village of Moreton is lovely very upmarket with nice shops and plenty to eat and drink

would come back in a heart beat and shall.

Room Tip: opt for a feature room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucywoozyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,144 reviews
4.5 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,179 reviews
8.0 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
456 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Royal Hotel

Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range: £89 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Royal Hotel is conveniently located in the market town of Moreton-in-Marsh at the head of the beautiful Evenlode Valley in the English Cotswolds. The principal part of the hotel is early 17th century and has recently reopened following a major restoration and refurbishment program utilising the original building. Its collection of period artifacts and paintings reflects the four centuries of the hotel's evolution while guests now have use of 21st-century facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your White Hart Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Royal Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing