We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel but don't get the room with the sign outside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Hart Royal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but don't get the room with the sign outside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

My friend treated me to this stay to accompany her to The Open at Cheltenham racecourse.

Lovely breakfast delivered to the room each morning under silver covers! yum at no extra charge. Really liked the decor and the cobblestone reception area. The stairs up to our room were a bit crooked and steep so I wouldnt like to be elderly to stay in the room we had, also the first night it was windy and the sign was swinging back and forth all night long... it drove us mad and sounded like someone getting the wheelie bins out and running up and down the road with them. The next night wasnt windy so it was ok. I also had my car ariel stolen along with alot of the other guests, reception said this was unusual in the town and had never happened before. Just unlucky I guess.

Would like to stay again but not in that room and it was a long taxi ride to Cheltenham. Very pretty countryside though.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    532
    120
    35
    14
See reviews for
227
1,179
49
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cannock
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

Excellent staff/meals/rooms,excellent value for money.
This hotel should be rated as a 4star not a 3 star.

Mr & Mrs Walker

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanwalker833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

We stayed during the cold snap at the start of December and generally I liked this hotel. The customer service was excellent and the manager and other staff were extremely helpful.

The bar downstairs was nice and snug and the food was good.

However, our room was tiny, and the bed seemed quite small and uncomfortable. I have slept better in other places.

The breakfast was excellent and of a very good quality.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellercardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

Great room with a fantastic large bath I was just so impressed.

The Manager Roberto and his staff are outstanding so friendly and willing to go out off thier way to make your stay a time to remember.

Food is great and the steak was the best ever and the breakfast kept you going till the evening.

I would recommend this hotel to everbody as being first class and a must to stay at.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunnerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Decided to stop for lunch on the way back from Stratford on Avon - another fabulous location - only got as far as ordering lunch in the Snug Bar and decided to stay the night!!! Brilliant decision. Roberto the manager, and the staff were very friendly, the food was absolutely lovely, and excellent service. We were given a room overlooking the market place and the room was very nice, a good quality room, and very clean. Towels were big too - always a bonus. After spending the afternoon leisurely strolling through the high street, checking out the other hostelries, we decided we had chosen the best hotel, and returned there to for dinner. Excellent wine selection too. I'm not one for waxing lyrical about hotels, but this was a wonderful stay. Fully recomend it. Wonderful coaching inn, perfectly updated and furnished, without losing any of its charm.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTourist1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, Cambs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

A beautiful Cotswolds setting for a 3 day Christmas break, commencing Christmas Eve. Greeted by the GM, Roberto, supported by his very professional South African assistant and partner, we were made to feel welcome and shown to our room. A good knowledge of the area and what was open over the Christmas period to see and do, was most impressive!

A beautiful 16th Century coaching Inn restored sympathetically by the owners to a very high standard. Good cuisine served with professional care.

One small criticism was the bed in the american suite. Neither of us slept well because I think the mattress was unevenly sprung or was too soft! Not to detract from our overall satisfaction.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyCS-Ely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

Stayed here for New Year 2011. Large, warm olde worlde room with really comfortable four poster bed. clean, modern en-suite, but a bit cold.
New year's eve party was good fun. Buffet a bit limited. Nice lounges.
English breakfast was comprehensive and well cooked. Dinner as part of the package on 2/1/2011 was to a good standard and well presented.
All the staff were exceptionally friendly and attentive including particularly manager Roberto.
This was a really enjoyable and relaxing short break.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank philipo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Royal Hotel

Property: White Hart Royal Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Royal Hotel is conveniently located in the market town of Moreton-in-Marsh at the head of the beautiful Evenlode Valley in the English Cotswolds. The principal part of the hotel is early 17th century and has recently reopened following a major restoration and refurbishment program utilising the original building. Its collection of period artifacts and paintings reflects the four centuries of the hotel's evolution while guests now have use of 21st-century facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your White Hart Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Royal Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing