We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect location for a weekend in the cotswolds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
White Hart Royal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
lincoln
2 reviews
“perfect location for a weekend in the cotswolds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

Just enjoyed a two night stay at the White Hart Royal Hotel. The hotel has been refurbished to a high standard and the room we stayed in was a little small but beautifully decorated and furnished and had everything you need. The restaurant food and the breakfast were both excellent as was the service. There is a comfy lounge to relax in with a drink after dinner. It was a great experience and would recommend to anyone looking for a great place to stay in the cotswolds

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mangotrifle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,091
    533
    120
    35
    14
See reviews for
227
1,180
49
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

My wife and I wanted a restful weekend away in the Cotswolds in a hotel with good food and accommodation.We knew a little about the Bulldog group of hotels ( only four) so decided to try the White Hart Royal in Moreton. What a great choice ! We arrived two hours before the suggested booking in time of 3.00pm and were warmly greeted with "no problem sir your room is ready" . This initial greeting set the standard for the weekend. This ancient hotel has been beautifully refurbished from top to bottom, the food is exceptional and the service was always to the highest standard. Do make an effort to have a drink in the snug bar by a blazing fire the inglenook fireplace. There is a very competent young management team who should all be congratulated on a job well done. Give yourself a real treat and stay at the White Hart Royal, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sands143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

We stayed one night in the old stables. The rooms are great, very modern and clean, fantastic bathrooms and really spacious. Location is good in the heart of moreton with parking. Staff really went out of their way to help us, some of the best service we've ever had.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cs_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

After a bad experience at another hotel we arrived to find that staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly - even the manager took time to welcome us and say if there was anything we needed just let them know.
Room and en-suite beautifully clean and tastefully decorated whilst retaining the character of the old building. Water, tea tray, biscuits etc. all provided as was soap / shampoo etc.
Breakfast very good and served promptly.
Location perfect for visiting the Cotswolds and we felt room was reasonably priced.
Only downside - we felt was the food in the restaurant which was available throughout the bar as well - was more like pub food but priced very high even charging extra for veg! - they need two separate menus for restaurant / bar and the menu for the restaurant needs to coincide with the menu in reception and outside on the wall.
Open fires in residents lounge which was again beautifully decorated and warm. Normally a fire in the bar but being repaired at this time.
All in all a lovely stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bess87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

My friend treated me to this stay to accompany her to The Open at Cheltenham racecourse.

Lovely breakfast delivered to the room each morning under silver covers! yum at no extra charge. Really liked the decor and the cobblestone reception area. The stairs up to our room were a bit crooked and steep so I wouldnt like to be elderly to stay in the room we had, also the first night it was windy and the sign was swinging back and forth all night long... it drove us mad and sounded like someone getting the wheelie bins out and running up and down the road with them. The next night wasnt windy so it was ok. I also had my car ariel stolen along with alot of the other guests, reception said this was unusual in the town and had never happened before. Just unlucky I guess.

Would like to stay again but not in that room and it was a long taxi ride to Cheltenham. Very pretty countryside though.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cannock
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

Excellent staff/meals/rooms,excellent value for money.
This hotel should be rated as a 4star not a 3 star.

Mr & Mrs Walker

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanwalker833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

We stayed during the cold snap at the start of December and generally I liked this hotel. The customer service was excellent and the manager and other staff were extremely helpful.

The bar downstairs was nice and snug and the food was good.

However, our room was tiny, and the bed seemed quite small and uncomfortable. I have slept better in other places.

The breakfast was excellent and of a very good quality.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellercardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
0.0 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
5.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Royal Hotel

Property: White Hart Royal Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Royal Hotel is conveniently located in the market town of Moreton-in-Marsh at the head of the beautiful Evenlode Valley in the English Cotswolds. The principal part of the hotel is early 17th century and has recently reopened following a major restoration and refurbishment program utilising the original building. Its collection of period artifacts and paintings reflects the four centuries of the hotel's evolution while guests now have use of 21st-century facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Hart Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Royal Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing