We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing magnolia trees”
Review of Batsford Arboretum

Batsford Arboretum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to one of the largest private tree collections in the country, Batsford Arboretum offers visitors year round interest - from lush, spring colour provided by the beautiful Japanese flowering cherries to autumn’s spectacular natural fireworks display. Wander along 56 acres of wild gardens, paths and streams, enjoy stunning views across the Evenlode Valley and discover the beautiful oriental-influenced statues hidden in glades around the grounds.Freshly-baked food available all day in the Garden Terrace Café; Beautiful, quality plants, gifts and garden sundries; Expert gardening advice and unique shabby chic interior ideas from the Applestore.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing magnolia trees”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Visited with my wife in early April. The magnolia trees, blossom trees and helliborus plants were at there very best, with some amazing vistas.
As my wife has mobility issues, we hired one of the garden's "Tramper" mobility vehicles. This was exceptional, like a 4x4 on some steep paths - thoroughly recommended.
We look forwards to re-visiting in the autumn to see the colours of the acer trees.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wilfred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    282
    46
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford upon Avon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An arboretum for all seasons”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

When is a good time to visit Batsford Arboretum? Well, anytime is a good time to go and see this lovely piece of the Cotswolds but, at the moment (March/early April) it is looking fabulous. Large swathes of the arboretum are carpeted in the yellow of thousands of bold daffodils and fringed by the delicate colours of the graceful hellebores. The magnolias are magnificent from the fragile stellata blooms to the huge blooms of their relations and so far this year they have escaped any frost damage. The national collection of Japanese flowering cherries is now displaying its gorgeous confetti blossom and the Japanese maples are not far behind.
Earlier this year the arboretum was carpeted in winter white with snowdrops and the colours continue to change with the seasons. Soon summer will be here and the broad leafed trees provide a wonderful canopy under which to wander and take in the views across the deer park and the rather grand home of Lord Dulverton. The Japanese summer house is lovely place to sit and enjoy this lovely place and there are plenty of seats throughout the arboretum.
Once again the vista changes as autumn brings the trees into their wonderful golden hues and reminds of the onset of winter.
At the far end of the arboretum is the lovely village church and within it are many memorials to the famous families that have lived here. After your walk back from there do stop at the garden terrace cafe. The food is excellent and the sun terrace is a perfect place to sit down with a drink. On your way out there is a well stocked garden centre to tempt further.
The annual membership is a bargain and allows frequent and most enjoyable visits to Batsford with the added bonus of reciprocal entry to both Westonbirt and Bodenham arboretums.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leamington spa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful walk”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed locally and decided to visit here after reading all the wonderful reviews. We were very lucky with the weather and spent 2 hours walking around this amazing place. There were daffodils as far as the eye could see and many different varieties of magnolia which were in full bloom.
We had lunch in the cafe which was a lovely panini but the wait was very long for what we had!!!! We were just lucky enough to be sitting in the sunshine on the terrace whilst we waited.
I would highly recommend a visit here and we definitely return when in the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rachelgreen_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie H, Public Relations Manager at Batsford Arboretum, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Delighted you had such a lovely time at Batsford - though sorry about the long wait for your lunch. Hope to see you again very soon - thanks for taking the trouble to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Called for lunch after a look around the garden centre and arboretum had pan fried chicken with all the trimmings very very tasty and cooked to perfection well worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank teddy197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Well Organised & Lovely Spot”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We wandered in on our circular walk from Chipping Campden. Did not bother with the garden centre but had a nice coffee & cake before entering the Arboretum. Nearly £8 each but we had a 2 4 1 voucher - have a look in those free leaflets folks! Very well laid out & some interesting trees & flowers on show - and in late March so likely to bloom further in the months to come.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank OzzyKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Batsford Arboretum also viewed

Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh
 

Been to Batsford Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing