We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trees & more”
Review of Batsford Arboretum

Batsford Arboretum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to one of the largest private tree collections in the country, Batsford Arboretum offers visitors year round interest - from lush, spring colour provided by the beautiful Japanese flowering cherries to autumn’s spectacular natural fireworks display. Wander along 56 acres of wild gardens, paths and streams, enjoy stunning views across the Evenlode Valley and discover the beautiful oriental-influenced statues hidden in glades around the grounds.Freshly-baked food available all day in the Garden Terrace Café; Beautiful, quality plants, gifts and garden sundries; Expert gardening advice and unique shabby chic interior ideas from the Applestore.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Trees & more”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I think we need to go again as there is so much to see! We had a lovely walk among some beautiful trees & the dog was in heaven, as you can imagine! The cafe was incredibly busy when we got there at lunchtime, but mid-afternoon was quite quiet & we thoroughly enjoyed tea & a slice of Victoria sponge (yes, one between 3!)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrswaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    282
    46
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and tranquil”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We spent a relaxing couple of hours here with two young children. We went especially to see the blossom and although there weren't as many blossom trees as we had expected, it is really beautiful and not too manicured. The magnolias and hellebores were particular highlights at this time of year. It helped that there was a 'chicken hunt' trail to keep the children engaged as they might otherwise have got a bit bored, I don't know whether they regularly have trails for children to follow but it would definitely be a good idea. There is a good cafe and garden centre to look forward to at the end. We would definitely think about going back to see it in different seasons if we're in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Schet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Always beautiful.”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I have a season ticket, which is very reasonably priced & I try to get there at least once a month. It's wonderful to see the changes throughout the year. Very happy that it is dog-friendly. The staff are friendly & helpful & if you are lucky enough to be there 'off peak' it really is incredibly peaceful Definitely to be enjoyed if you are in the area.My terrace is looking very colourful with plants & pots bought at the garden centre.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing magnolia trees”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Visited with my wife in early April. The magnolia trees, blossom trees and helliborus plants were at there very best, with some amazing vistas.
As my wife has mobility issues, we hired one of the garden's "Tramper" mobility vehicles. This was exceptional, like a 4x4 on some steep paths - thoroughly recommended.
We look forwards to re-visiting in the autumn to see the colours of the acer trees.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wilfred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An arboretum for all seasons”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

When is a good time to visit Batsford Arboretum? Well, anytime is a good time to go and see this lovely piece of the Cotswolds but, at the moment (March/early April) it is looking fabulous. Large swathes of the arboretum are carpeted in the yellow of thousands of bold daffodils and fringed by the delicate colours of the graceful hellebores. The magnolias are magnificent from the fragile stellata blooms to the huge blooms of their relations and so far this year they have escaped any frost damage. The national collection of Japanese flowering cherries is now displaying its gorgeous confetti blossom and the Japanese maples are not far behind.
Earlier this year the arboretum was carpeted in winter white with snowdrops and the colours continue to change with the seasons. Soon summer will be here and the broad leafed trees provide a wonderful canopy under which to wander and take in the views across the deer park and the rather grand home of Lord Dulverton. The Japanese summer house is lovely place to sit and enjoy this lovely place and there are plenty of seats throughout the arboretum.
Once again the vista changes as autumn brings the trees into their wonderful golden hues and reminds of the onset of winter.
At the far end of the arboretum is the lovely village church and within it are many memorials to the famous families that have lived here. After your walk back from there do stop at the garden terrace cafe. The food is excellent and the sun terrace is a perfect place to sit down with a drink. On your way out there is a well stocked garden centre to tempt further.
The annual membership is a bargain and allows frequent and most enjoyable visits to Batsford with the added bonus of reciprocal entry to both Westonbirt and Bodenham arboretums.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Batsford Arboretum also viewed

Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh
 

Been to Batsford Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing