We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day out with dog and friends”
Review of Batsford Arboretum

Batsford Arboretum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to one of the largest private tree collections in the country, Batsford Arboretum offers visitors year round interest - from lush, spring colour provided by the beautiful Japanese flowering cherries to autumn’s spectacular natural fireworks display. Wander along 56 acres of wild gardens, paths and streams, enjoy stunning views across the Evenlode Valley and discover the beautiful oriental-influenced statues hidden in glades around the grounds.Freshly-baked food available all day in the Garden Terrace Café; Beautiful, quality plants, gifts and garden sundries; Expert gardening advice and unique shabby chic interior ideas from the Applestore.
Bourton-on-the-Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Day out with dog and friends”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Found the arboretum wonderful so peaceful. Dog loved it. Garden centre although limited on plants was well laid out . Coffee and cake was very good but when you have a group of four adults added onto the entrance fee makes it an expensive trip. However as we live within a 20 mins drive looking at joining friends of Batsford.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DianeM662013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    277
    45
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely stroll”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Dog friendly, very quiet, beautiful stroll around the arboretum. Nicely laid paths and easy to follow the trails. Great views from the high points and we had scorching hot sun too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Snowy747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich Spa Worcs
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Peaceful Location”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Following and offer on Travel Zoo we spent a few peaceful hour wandering around the grounds.
could have spent all day there - especially when it was such a sunny day. Excellent garden centre - with a good range of healthy plants at very reasonable prices. Would recommend a visit good place to take a picnic. Certainly visit again in the future.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MalViDroitwichWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“So peaceful”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were lucky enough to pick a gorgeous sunny day to visit and it was beautiful - so many different plants, trees and flowers, some nice photos to take. Would be nice to visit in the different seasons to see how it changes. Plenty of space so good to take kids and dogs (must be on lead) (dogs that is not kids). Will definitely visit again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank hawkins186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset, uk
Level Contributor
417 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Highly recommended especially on a Monday - peace & quiet”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I visited the Arboretum on a Monday afternoon on our way home from a weekend in Great Risslington.
Very easy to find and well sign posted. Large car park. Stairs down to the garden centre/entrance to the Arboretum.
We were given a map which was numbered with areas of interest - which we followed and had a lovely walk around the grounds - very peaceful and only saw a few other couples during our visit. Lots of benches /seats around the grounds.
There is a manor house on site but not open to the public still very impressive from the outside. On leaving we visited the café on our way out which is in the garden centre - we ordered a pot of tea but there are food options and desserts with vegetarian options.
I did buy a plant in the garden centre - they do not accept debit cards under £5 so best to have some change just in case.
I booked this mainly for my husband as he is more into trees and myself gardens - however we both agreed a very enjoyable 3 hours walking around the grounds - helped by the gorgeous weather

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LAD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Batsford Arboretum also viewed

Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh
 

Been to Batsford Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing