We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Batsford-Bliss” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Batsford Arboretum

Batsford Arboretum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to one of the largest private tree collections in the country, Batsford Arboretum offers visitors year round interest - from lush, spring colour provided by the beautiful Japanese flowering cherries to autumn’s spectacular natural fireworks display. Wander along 56 acres of wild gardens, paths and streams, enjoy stunning views across the Evenlode Valley and discover the beautiful oriental-influenced statues hidden in glades around the grounds.Freshly-baked food available all day in the Garden Terrace Café; Beautiful, quality plants, gifts and garden sundries; Expert gardening advice and unique shabby chic interior ideas from the Applestore.
Broadway, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Batsford-Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We drove in to the car park thinking maybe we should have come on a quieter day, but while walking round saw very few people. With seats dotted around you can take as many breaks just to "sit and stare" as you like. Went for lunch after we had walked part way, good food, good service & although they were busy the wait was minimal. Back to a stroll round, such a variety of trees & plants, a surprise around every corner. We will go back in a different season to see the difference. Very relaxing and serene day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    258
    45
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Loved this Arboretum but we were unable to spend much time here as our puppy has recently had surgery and is on time limited walks. There were some amazing panoramic views and I particularly liked that the Mitford sisters were raised at Batsford House which can be seen during the walk that is shown on a map given on paying the entrance fee. There was also a range of goods on sale (similar to what you buy at a good garden centre) including plants and garden stuff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 258Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Really worth a visit. You can spend a lovely day here. The arboretum is situated on a hill surrounded by beautiful countryside and is a pleasure to walk around, very peaceful. There is a well stocked garden centre and the café/restaurant offers excellent food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank moonraker742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One for the Acer-holics”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

A wet weekend in the Cotswolds, we didn't fancy wandering around Moreton-in-Marsh in the rain, and curiosity caused us to follow the signs to the Arboretum. A lovely location, but frankly we didn't have the wet weather gear to wander around outside so decided to have a look at the attached garden center. So glad we did. My thing is Acers - we currently have around 20 varieties in the garden. No, it's not a big garden - only seven are in the ground, the rest in pots. I usually get bored looking around my local garden centers because they tend to keep only a few of the popular varieties. Heaven - they had 30+ varieties, most of which I hadn't come across before. I've worked out that I can get here from home in about 1.5 hours, so I'm planning a shopping trip.
Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A different sort of garden ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Batsford Arboretum is different but nonetheless interesting if you like gardens and especially trees: you can have a lovely walk around the extensive grounds, visit the Church which is beautiful, and then call at the cafe for refreshments, and buy some plants in the garden centre - all in all a good afternoon out!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hils0591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Batsford Arboretum also viewed

Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to Batsford Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing