We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming destination, low impact and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Batsford Arboretum

Batsford Arboretum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to one of the largest private tree collections in the country, Batsford Arboretum offers visitors year round interest - from lush, spring colour provided by the beautiful Japanese flowering cherries to autumn’s spectacular natural fireworks display. Wander along 56 acres of wild gardens, paths and streams, enjoy stunning views across the Evenlode Valley and discover the beautiful oriental-influenced statues hidden in glades around the grounds.Freshly-baked food available all day in the Garden Terrace Café; Beautiful, quality plants, gifts and garden sundries; Expert gardening advice and unique shabby chic interior ideas from the Applestore.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Charming destination, low impact and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Beware the lunch hour at high season, because it can get very busy. But we ate good hearty food and the manager was happy to find us a place when we needed to seat 4 amidst a sea of only 2-tops available. The walk through the big tree and fluffy hydrangeas was a welcome break, very civilized and low key. Our family friend's dog came along and that was great - how utterly English and sweet to enjoy both our lunch and our little walk round with a spaniel along side.

Very nice and no pretense gift shop with a surprisingly well stocked books area. Interesting selection around the Mitford sisters, intelligently chosen. Amazing garden centre - lord I would have to lock away my wallet if I lived in the area and wanted to shop for garden goods.

We didn't make it to the falconry centre today as we opted not to lock dear little Truffles in the car (see above - spaniel in tow). But that would be my focus on a second visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsCOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    265
    45
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Well worth the entrance fee. Although we didn't have our grandchildren with us we saw lots of youngsters having great fun trying to find the hidden insects etc! Relaxing walking with lovely views and lots of benches to sit on.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grannyjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
421 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The arboretum isn't quite what I expected, having been to Westonbirt I expected something similar but I have to say Batsford knocks spots off Westonbirt. It really feels like you are walking through someone's garden, the collection of trees and plants is interesting as well as beautiful, I will definitely have to go back as we ran out of time. The garden centre was also very well stocked with some unusual plants and trees. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank No1Scribbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Batsford-Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We drove in to the car park thinking maybe we should have come on a quieter day, but while walking round saw very few people. With seats dotted around you can take as many breaks just to "sit and stare" as you like. Went for lunch after we had walked part way, good food, good service & although they were busy the wait was minimal. Back to a stroll round, such a variety of trees & plants, a surprise around every corner. We will go back in a different season to see the difference. Very relaxing and serene day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Loved this Arboretum but we were unable to spend much time here as our puppy has recently had surgery and is on time limited walks. There were some amazing panoramic views and I particularly liked that the Mitford sisters were raised at Batsford House which can be seen during the walk that is shown on a map given on paying the entrance fee. There was also a range of goods on sale (similar to what you buy at a good garden centre) including plants and garden stuff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 258Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Batsford Arboretum also viewed

Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to Batsford Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing