We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Coach & Horses - CLOSED

The Coach & Horses
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A 250yr old Cotswold stone building, beamed ceilings, stone floors up to raised original wooden flooring. Large beer garden that is child friendly and has a large climbing castle and double sand pits. Giant garden games can be borrowed for outdoor use. Indoor traditional Cotswold skittles alley, function room, dart board. Overflow car park. Very thoughtfully decorated, a home from home.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
610 reviews
444 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Lovely food and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014


Coach and Horses

We walked here from the other Coach and Horses in Longborough, where we
were staying. Welcomed and shown to a table straight away and our drinks
brought over - a nice touch.
A varied menu with some specials on the blackboard too. Steak seemed
expensive at £23 so we both selected the duck special £15 each which was Lovely and very well presented. It didn't look like a lot to eat but
turned out OK as it was rich with tastes and different flavours. Friendly
staff and a nice homely atmosphere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JP070766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    30
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food and friendly service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a wonderful meal at the Coach and Horses. We stopped by chance on route to Broadway and received a very warm welcome. The staff were extremely friendly and the atmosphere was cosy and comfortable. We discussed the range of home cooked food, beers and real ales with the chef/ manager John. Decision made we were served at table by his wife Jane also very friendly and helpful. An outstanding meal from a wide choice. All home cooked from locally source produce. We shall certainly call again.
Richard

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent all round experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We travelled up having booked a table and pre-ordered our food on recommendation of friends. All I can say is it is one of the nicest all around experiences of dining out that we have had for a very long time. The staff were friendly from bar to kitchen and the waitress that served us was just about as switched on as is possible. Just enough checks to see we were happy as was the case with the other customers eating. Prompt removal of used glasses plates and service of next courses. Its not often you see customers on different tables express their joy at the service and food quality with other tables but that's what I saw today. Thoroughly deserved IMHO. The pub was a constant bustle of people coming and going, those having eaten smiling at the experience and those about to eat smiling with anticipation. All thoroughly spot on. I can only assume that Cotswoldconsumer had got out of bed the wrong side and had a right monk on.
We will be back without doubt and it wont be long.
Thank you Coach and Horses, see you soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We went for Sunday lunch a few weeks ago, it was nice, food excellent so we returned with the inlaws for sunday lunch again. This time the service was not very good, although the food was still excellent. Our waitress did not listen to us, look us in the eye, smile once, or care how our experience was going. I ordered water, other diner white wine, I got the same as her and a scowl when my husband went to change it. Lunch took a while to come, desert took 30 mins to order and 30 mins to arrive. Our 2nd round of drinks didnt arrive because the 'bar got crazy' and they forgot them, although when chased after 30 mins they came, our deserts did not come for a long time because the chef was busy with 'a table of 12'.
I really think with more staff who are experience waiters/waitresses the meal would have been great, other diners also were grumbling about the time between courses and the dozy waitress.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cotswoldconsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKchef, Owner at The Coach & Horses, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your review, feedback is always welcomed in any form.

I am sorry about the delays you experienced yesterday, as you would have been aware we were extremely busy - in fact we served the most amount of customers on a Sunday (aside from Mothering Sunday) since we took over the pub 4yrs ago.

There were a number of factors that caused delays that were beyond our control, the main one being that a number of bookings did not turn up at their specified booking times and arrived at their own times. Unfortunately this is something we have no power over and we must simply try and 'do our best'. Added to this the large numbers of 'walk-ins' (ie not booked) that included groups of 12, 10 & 14 people (who took advantage of our extra seating outside as we had no availability inside) and the fact that we had a large party in our function room created a 'perfect storm' from a hospitality point of view. The fact we were so busy, continuously, lead to the mix up with your drinks and the delay in getting food to you as quickly as we had liked - but we are delighted that on both of your visits you have found the food to be 'excellent', something we strive to achieve at all times.

The waitress concerned is extremely upset with the 'dozy waitress' label, she is a fantastic employee. Eye contact is important, of course, but when there is so much going on around you and constant changes & dynamics to our daily work sometimes multi-tasking whilst being at one table is something that is undertaken without being spotted by the customer - it would appear this was noted by yourself and was clearly a slip on the waitresses part to allow it to be noticed. The lady concerned is cross with herself for allowing this to happen and both her, and I, apologise and we hope to see you again in the future and to serve you some 'excellent' food again.

Please ask to speak to me personally when you, hopefully, make another reservation.

Kind Regards,
J.Kerr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, atmosphere and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The second time we have eaten at the Coach & Groom. The staff were friendly and the food superb. I would recommend to anyone looking for a good meal in excellent surrounding with a great atmosphere. We will be returning.

Helpful?
Thank DavidRamsey9977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coach & Horses also viewed

Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing