We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stodgy and disappointing”
Review of The Coach & Horses - CLOSED

The Coach & Horses
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A 250yr old Cotswold stone building, beamed ceilings, stone floors up to raised original wooden flooring. Large beer garden that is child friendly and has a large climbing castle and double sand pits. Giant garden games can be borrowed for outdoor use. Indoor traditional Cotswold skittles alley, function room, dart board. Overflow car park. Very thoughtfully decorated, a home from home.
Brussels
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Stodgy and disappointing”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The food is heavy, unimaginative and poor value for money. Service is slow, it is hard to catch the server's eye. Main positive feature is proximity to local accommodation.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ML-Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKchef, Owner at The Coach & Horses, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are extremely sorry that you found our menu to be 'heavy' and 'unimaginitive'. We are one of three pubs called "The Coach and Horses" within very close proximity of each other (which can get very confusing for customers) & as such we strive to make our menu as imaginative as possible for a pub, in order we stand out. We do serve traditional pub staples (such as scampi and fish & chips) as a lot of our clientele expect to find such dishes on the menu - but 2/3rds of our dishes are, we believe, of a higher 'calibre' than stodgy 'pub grub' and show thought and effort - especially taking into consideration our daily specials board.

All I can do is to apologise to you if our food is not to your liking. Unfortunately none of our customers at the time of your visit had anything negative to say when asked if everything was okay during check-backs and at the time of clearing tables and then yet again upon handing over bills and collecting payment - something that we could have addressed and possibly rectified at the time in question.

We do hope to see you in the future when our menu will have changed again (along with the daily specials, obviously) and to show you that our food is, in fact, imaginitive and less stodgy than you felt it was upon your visit to The Coach and Horses, Ganborough.

Apologies & Kind Regards,
J.Kerr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    30
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“What a place, it has it all”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have just returned from a few days in the Cotswold's, and I spent some time with the owners of this charming Inn.
The welcome was warm & friendly.
The local beer is excellent.
The food is just Fabulous. Must try the Belly Pork.
And Albert, well Albert is Albert, 80 something years young, and still has his own teeth. Just ask and Jane will introduce you.
So if you want a warm greeting, cold beer, and great food and good company. This is the place to go.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Food & Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I quite often attend the Coach & Horses with the family and can confidently say it never fails to impress. The food is fantastic and Jane always provides service with smile.

I highly recommend you give it a try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great Cotswold Pub that offers more than most.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had another great Sunday Lunch at The Coach & Horses (Ganborough) yesterday. Because of the fine weather we asked if we could eat in the garden which wasn't a problem even though we had an inside table already laid for us. For family dining with friends it is a change to be able to finish your meal and drinks in peace whilst the kids play rounders in the garden. Having eaten there several times now we have never been disappointed and find the standards to be very high when compared to other pubs in the area. The pub manages the difficult balance of being somewhere great to eat whilst still being a proper local pub. The added amenities of the skittles alley, which we booked for a fund raiser last year, and the large beer garden really do help differentiate the Coach & Horses from other pubs around the North Cotswolds.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cozy pub, great food and beer, staff lovely”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Had a lazy Saturday lunch with friends. Food was delicious and brilliantly presented (try the rabbit to see what I mean). Local beers very nice and the staff went out of their way to please. Will definitely return! (Note: Although we didn't book, I think we may have been lucky to get a table at the weekend, so I advise phoning ahead to save disappointment!)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coach & Horses also viewed

Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing