We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely "Terrible"”
Review of The Spice Room

The Spice Room
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely "Terrible"”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We ordered a take away from The Spice Room on 11 June 2012 and invited friends around for dinner. We thought we would try out this restaurant in Moreton (as the Thai has now closed) to give it a go. What a disaster. The food arrived on time, massive portions, huge lumps of vegetables and chicken. The Aloo Gobi and vegetable curry was like a tastleless, left over stew, in brown sauce, fowsty gone-off taste and stank to high heaven. The chicken (and Naan bread) was also terrible with tons of sugar chucked over it - yes actually sprinkeld all over it. We did phone to make a complaint and unfortunately they hung up on us after the word complaint. We have lived all over the world, and this is the worst curry we have every had. Honestly. Any supermarket curry is far superior to this. Not only after attempting to eat a little of this "food", everyone has been queueing for the bathroom eve rsince. Not good. Sorry - really not recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    85
    35
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great food in a great environment”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I agree with other reviewers that they offer very good food at reasonable prices and will give Hassan Balti a good run for their money. My wife an I eat there last week for the first time and we are going back with friends next week.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DerekParsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Indian/Bangladeshi Food in a great environment”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This restaurant is the sister of the renowned and award winning Arzoo Restaurant in Bicester, so with that in mind we set off to Moreton In Marsh to see whether it was as good. First impressions were good with a lovely building and welcoming staff. This was followed up by attentive service and good food. We were told that the restaurant will operate as a cafe during the day looking attract a diferent clientelle. Not sure that we will visit during the cafe hours but we will definitely be going back for the restaurant experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cliveandsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It's ok, but Hassan Balti is far better”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This place is pretentious, and the food whilst not bad is not great.
Hassan Balti is still the best.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Fudgepucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evesham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“what can be said.....”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

A fantastic restaurant that will definitely be giving both Hassan Balti and The Cotswold Spice a run for there money, large portions of amazingly tasty food, all very reasonably priced, have both eaten in and had a takewaway and could not fsulf either..

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kkkkk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spice Room also viewed

Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 
Longborough, Moreton-in-Marsh
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Spice Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing