We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
88
74
29
22
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
74
29
22
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub beer garden dog friendly pub peas staff was very friendly and helpful nice room comfortable bed nice atmosphere high street train station tea coffee cooked breakfast pudding central location full english breakfast sunday lunch biscuits
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed at the Bell Inn for three nights last September as part of a four-person travel party who stayed in two rooms.

From the time we set foot into the Bell Inn, we all felt as though we were staying with old friends. We were immediately welcomed by the owner, the barman, and other staff who took time to talk story about our travels from Minnesota, USA to England. Every staff member we encountered included us in festivities at the pub and were good to point out local attractions. The Bell Inn is in the heart of Moreton-In-Marsh; close to the rail station, restaurants, shops, and for you single ladies...........it is close to the UK's largest fire college (good-looking firefighters most nights of the week!!) Every time we came back from sight-seeing we would sit down and chat with the staff at the pub, who truly seemed interested in getting to know us.

The breakfast was included and made-to-order. Everyone in our group was very pleased.

The only hang-up we had was that one of the rooms wasn't ready when we checked in. No big deal as we hung out at the pub while the owner personally cleaned the room, then joined us for conversation.

I have traveled extensively in the US and this was my first trip to Europe. If you are looking for Ritz-like accommodations, look elsewhere. But if you are looking for a clean place that is close to the action and to meet and connect with locals, then this is your place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawaiiandaydreamer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed at Bell Inn for two nights in July 2013 in the Broadway room. The room was clean and spacious. The bathroom needs a bit of TLC. The staff were friendly and approachable. Breakfast which is included in the room price, was very good with few choices. The whole town is unique. The hotel is a very short walk from the rail station. The Market runs on Tuesdays right in front of the hotel, and is quite an attraction for both the locals and tourists. The only problem was the heat wave... No air conditioning and no fans.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tzuchi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Booked early in year to stay in June at the beginning and end of walking the Cotswold Diamond way. When trying to check everything was ok 2 days before arrival was unable to make contact by phone or email. Eventually made contact and there was some confusion over whether we had the booking. As the room was available everything turned out Ok. The room was Ok but considering other places we have stayed a bit over priced for standard. Breakfast was basic. No fruit and we were just given a carton of orange juice on the table to help ourselves.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Hotel itself ok, bit tacky though. Room (Broadway)accessible from outside up wooden steps, room was very spacious and quite clean, bed ok. Breakfast was a bit of a muddle and breakfast area needs a good clean, there was only one menu which had to be shared!!! Some organisation is needed in this hotel. It's overpriced for what it is. We wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Broadway room is spacious and quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzannelouis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Booked by phone fpr 6 adults in two triples , manager advised me he would send confirmation , i called twice to be assured confirmation would be sent but never arrived !
Arrived early evening to be told there was no reservation for our group . I was approached by owner to be told that some one pretending to be me had phoned to cancel the previous day !
He did arrange for some of our party to stay in the Bell inn and some down the road in a B & B , the owner of the B & B said this was not the first time .
Ensure you have booking confirmation !!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank windygales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khrischard, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

This one will baffle me for ever. What the reviewer does not disclose - and I told him at once what had happened - is that I had received a phone call four days earlier cancelling his booking.

One - or both - of us was well and truly done over. We always give confirmation of bookings - in future I will not accept cancellations by phone..

Definitely "mea culpa" but as Mr Gales kindly says everyone was accommodated and yes I do have an arrangement with an excellent local bed and breakfast to which we recommend people when - for whatever reason - I am unable to accommodate

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews