We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live music in the Pub was GREAT!”
Review of The Bell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bell Inn
Valencia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Live music in the Pub was GREAT!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

After several days of traveling we just needed a relaxing, enjoyable evening at a local pub...and this was the ticket! Friendly bar staff, cozy, comfortable pub environment, and excellent live music! Rick Chase showed up around 9:00 and seriously rocked the place until closing time! We had a fantastic time...would recommend this spot to all!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    59
    25
    22
    20
See reviews for
36
105
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My wife and I visited The Bell one busy 'Market Day' lunchtime in July.The weather was very hot, so we were glad to find a large table outside in the courtyard which we shared with some charming elderly ladies from Yorkshire, who were on holiday locally. We were immediately struck by the dirty and untidy condition of the courtyard area in general, and the area surrounding our table in particular, which was littered with cigarette ends and detritus from several days (if not weeks) of no maintenance/cleaning. If we hadn't been so in need of a little rest and refreshment, we would have left the premises at that point.
On entering the bar area I waited in line to be served, and eventually was literally 'grunted' at by a very surly woman, whom I took for being either a manageress or the proprietor, who asked what I wanted!....I had noticed a large 'Daily Specials' blackboard of chalked-up dishes which I used to order two appropriate dishes, only to be told impatiently and in raised tone that "This IS MARKET DAY, and that menu-board does NOT apply on market day".....Oooops! silly me....So sorry I stammered! Of course, as a total stranger, perhaps I should have known of their quirky custom of displaying daily specials which are not available every day!!....I tried to make light of it with a smile and a pleasant and witty remark, but this unamused battleaxe was having none of it, so I hastily ordered two sandwiches and two ales instead, and retreated back to the dirty courtyard to await delivery of our lunch. On relating my unpleasant experience with the lovely,chatty Yorkshire ladies, they agreed that the service and attitude by the very same 'lady' in the bar was exactly similar to their own experiences earlier, and they also advised "Don't use the toilets if you can avoid it"! Anyway, to cut a long story short, we will not return to The Bell any time soon, as the dirty, unkempt conditions of the place (the toilets, as we later found out, were disgusting), coupled with an unfriendly attitude and sour-service will ensure that we take our money and custom elsewhere. It is a pity, as this centre-of-town pub has huge potential in the right hands!

The issue of the dirty and unkempt courtyard is, unfortunately, not confined to The Bell Inn!! We have found similar issues with some other establishments all over the country, where potentially very pretty country pubs/hotels with outside terrace/patio areas, are allowed to deteriorate to the point of being unpleasant to use, and all for the want of proper, regular maintenance and care by the owners/managers. It doesn't take much surely?, just regular sweeping, weeding and occasional pressure washing of paving is all that is required!!

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight....WOULD NOT stay overnight!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RangeRover29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed at the Bell Inn for three nights last September as part of a four-person travel party who stayed in two rooms.

From the time we set foot into the Bell Inn, we all felt as though we were staying with old friends. We were immediately welcomed by the owner, the barman, and other staff who took time to talk story about our travels from Minnesota, USA to England. Every staff member we encountered included us in festivities at the pub and were good to point out local attractions. The Bell Inn is in the heart of Moreton-In-Marsh; close to the rail station, restaurants, shops, and for you single ladies...........it is close to the UK's largest fire college (good-looking firefighters most nights of the week!!) Every time we came back from sight-seeing we would sit down and chat with the staff at the pub, who truly seemed interested in getting to know us.

The breakfast was included and made-to-order. Everyone in our group was very pleased.

The only hang-up we had was that one of the rooms wasn't ready when we checked in. No big deal as we hung out at the pub while the owner personally cleaned the room, then joined us for conversation.

I have traveled extensively in the US and this was my first trip to Europe. If you are looking for Ritz-like accommodations, look elsewhere. But if you are looking for a clean place that is close to the action and to meet and connect with locals, then this is your place!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawaiiandaydreamer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Bell Inn for two nights in July 2013 in the Broadway room. The room was clean and spacious. The bathroom needs a bit of TLC. The staff were friendly and approachable. Breakfast which is included in the room price, was very good with few choices. The whole town is unique. The hotel is a very short walk from the rail station. The Market runs on Tuesdays right in front of the hotel, and is quite an attraction for both the locals and tourists. The only problem was the heat wave... No air conditioning and no fans.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tzuchi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Booked early in year to stay in June at the beginning and end of walking the Cotswold Diamond way. When trying to check everything was ok 2 days before arrival was unable to make contact by phone or email. Eventually made contact and there was some confusion over whether we had the booking. As the room was available everything turned out Ok. The room was Ok but considering other places we have stayed a bit over priced for standard. Breakfast was basic. No fruit and we were just given a carton of orange juice on the table to help ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Hotel itself ok, bit tacky though. Room (Broadway)accessible from outside up wooden steps, room was very spacious and quite clean, bed ok. Breakfast was a bit of a muddle and breakfast area needs a good clean, there was only one menu which had to be shared!!! Some organisation is needed in this hotel. It's overpriced for what it is. We wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Broadway room is spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzannelouis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Booked by phone fpr 6 adults in two triples , manager advised me he would send confirmation , i called twice to be assured confirmation would be sent but never arrived !
Arrived early evening to be told there was no reservation for our group . I was approached by owner to be told that some one pretending to be me had phoned to cancel the previous day !
He did arrange for some of our party to stay in the Bell inn and some down the road in a B & B , the owner of the B & B said this was not the first time .
Ensure you have booking confirmation !!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank windygales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khrischard, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
This one will baffle me for ever. What the reviewer does not disclose - and I told him at once what had happened - is that I had received a phone call four days earlier cancelling his booking.

One - or both - of us was well and truly done over. We always give confirmation of bookings - in future I will not accept cancellations by phone..

Definitely "mea culpa" but as Mr Gales kindly says everyone was accommodated and yes I do have an arrangement with an excellent local bed and breakfast to which we recommend people when - for whatever reason - I am unable to accommodate

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
233 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,219 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn

Property: The Bell Inn
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered by many to be Tolkeins inspiration for the "Prancing Pony" in Lord of the rings, the Bell Inn is a fine example of a traditional coaching Inn set in the historic Cotswolds. Having been taken over in June 2015, the pub and guest rooms are in safe hands and offer great service and quality accommodation. The pub offers meals a great selection of food, including lunches and evening meals which compliment the wide range of drinks including a selection of real ales. On a sunny day why not sit in the beer garden and soak up the sunshine in peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your The Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh
The Bell Inn Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing