We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice in a pinch, friendly and very bustling” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bell Inn
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice in a pinch, friendly and very bustling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

I'm surprised by the bad reviews. Granted, this is not a state of the art BnB with a Heston Blumenthal gastro Pub attached and my husband and I are dog owners who know the UK very well (my hubby is a Brit) so there was no culture shock with British humour or dogs in pubs. Firstly we were treated VERY kindly by the staff. We came into Moreton on a 7:00 am train and were able to have breakfast at the Bell, leave our bags there while we explored and waited for our room in a nearby village BnB to be ready. The staff were SO helpful! The man at the bar called us a cab (cabs are VERY hard to get in the Costwolds) they figured out a bus schedule when the cab could not be found and they even called our BnB to find out if we could check in much earlier (we could:)-this was all WITHOUT staying there! When we returned for a last minute one night stay at the end of out holiday, they were equally as accommodating. We were able to leave our bags in the break room and be gone for a few hours to explore the beautiful Batsford arboretum. We even had an extra hour before check out. The room we had was in a separate building in the back, up left. Roomy with so so sheets (clean but not fitted so they move around...), the tea pot's cord did not reach the outlet but there was plenty of tea and biscuits so no big deal. The telly was older but we had fun watching an old Hammer House film on it and slept well. The duvet was clean but thin though there was a warm spare blanket in the wardrobe and the hater worked ok. Granted the ceilings in our room were VERY, VERY high (enough for a few black riders to appear!!) so heating was going to be a bit challenging by default. When we left our building (we missed breakfast but the one I had earlier in the week was excellent and 7 to 10 is a great time frame for patrons). I think for the price and location you can't go wrong. Don't miss the Toy Shoppe up the road as well!

Warning: if you have children and stay in any of these semi-detached upstairs/courtyard rooms do note there is a window at a child's level that if left open would be dangerous. Best to not open at all or stay at ground level.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaKevinWhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    54
    24
    21
    20
See reviews for
34
97
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

This pub is the worst we have ever had the misfortune to visit. Apart from the rude staff and very un -hygenic kitchen,.to be charged £3.80 for two very small cups of tea is beyond belief.Maybe we got the name of the pub wrong, it should be called the 'Bell End'

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10089475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khrischard, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Under new Management since 1 February 2011 - please try again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Moreton-in-Marsh hotels

Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

Quite a nice young man booked us in and showed us to our room but we got to it from a grotty outside staircase , the room was shabby it was supposed to be a luxury room only the sofa was luxurious the bed was hard and lumpy and the bathroom poor. We got back to our room at ablut 11pm the noise was awful and lots of swearing, then at 7.30 the fan in the kitchen was swithched on the noise was awful and the room vibrated it was the stuff of headaches. The staff had obviously had no training and the female staff ignored us, The breakfast was ok but the table so small that the plates and cutlery would not fit. luckily we could only book one night we were glad to leave.It was very poor value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BridgetEvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcountry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

Awful place! Dark room that stunk of damp. No plug in the sink and no cover on loo seat. In the morning our clothes were covered in snail trails. The smoke alarm was beeping through the night and we had to disconnect it. In the morning we had to walk past a pile of vomit on our way to breakfast - not pleasant! Staff were mostly unhelpful and bordered on rude. Thank god it was just for one night!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crovect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennellville, New York
Level Contributor
233 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

I stayed at The Bell with my friend from London/drinking buddy during a pub crawl through the Cotswolds. We each paid @$80.00 U.S. for a room with breakfast. Oddly,there was no price break for a double so we each got our own room.( In other words, 2 people in one room costs the same as two single rooms.) This place is the real deal. It's old,friendly, and quintessentially British. The room was large. The bed was comfortable. I can see how the noise from the patio might get a little noisy, but the pub closes at 11:00 pm.The full English breakfast was very good. The beer was excellent as was the service. The Tolkien connection is a nice touch, but really quite understated. Moreton in Marsh is a nice town and The Bell offers nice accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verybigv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cudahy, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
302 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

I booked a room here because almost everything else was booked. I was worried because this place had some negative reviews. The people who didn't like it must have stayed somewhere else. The room was clean, comfortable and cozy. The staff was very friendly. The fact that J.R.R. Tolkien was a former guest and modeled the Inn at Bree on it was huge plus.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cashelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

Pleasant staff, but on the hotel side, the bed creaked terribly, mattress lumpy and bumpy, pillows too hard and no hot water for bath or husband to shave the next morning. Manager apologised and reduced the tarriff. Said that he had told the owner about the problems but he didnt seem to believe him!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
5.3 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
4.4 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn

Property: The Bell Inn
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered by many to be Tolkeins inspiration for the "Prancing Pony" in Lord of the rings, the Bell Inn is a fine example of a traditional coaching Inn set in the historic Cotswolds. Having been taken over in June 2015, the pub and guest rooms are in safe hands and offer great service and quality accommodation. The pub offers meals a great selection of food, including lunches and evening meals which compliment the wide range of drinks including a selection of real ales. On a sunny day why not sit in the beer garden and soak up the sunshine in peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh
The Bell Inn Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing