We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
Price range: US$13 - US$39
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Relaxed informal dining
Lorton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

If we had only checked these reviews first we could have avoided that awful meal. My husband and I shared the sausage and mash which was...edible. My friend ordered their soup of the day, Leek and Potato which was not edible.

Don't waste your time or your money here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DawnStayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    14
    5
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stopped by for a pint and a sandwich. I asked if they did sandwiches? The barmaid said they did the food on the board. I asked again if they did sandwiches? She said "it's not on the board is it?" We left at that point. The whole place looked awful so I am glad we didn't stop.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

First night in the Cotswold's and we chose the worst place to eat. Should have read reviews. The food was awful.
Things can only get better

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent Beer but woeful food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We went to this pub for a meal after stopping the day before for a few pints of nice ale, and noting that it was dog friendly ( one of it's plus points ). The decor in place is a bit "tired" but not too bad and has a large sunny courtyard.However, that's where the plus points end as the food is probably as poor as you will get in this area.Having had a lovely lunch of hand carved ham at the Rose Revived in Standlake a few days earlier,my wife ordered a "safe" choice of ham,eggs and chips and was served up three slices of the cheapest thin cuts of economy style gammon available from any supermarket value lines,2 small eggs and a tub of frozen chips,for which she was charged £8.50.My meal was a bit better but not good, and both meals were really poor value compared to what's on offer in most other inns in this area.We visited on a Monday (had tried the Sunday but no food is served on Sunday nights, which is strange given their sign saying food served every day !) and there were only 2 other tables occupied and I'm not surprised.The place next door was almost full with diners but don't allow dogs so we were stuck with this.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dougie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unwelcome attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stopped off for a meal on our way home, we were on a BMW1600 bike in our bike gear (all apart from helmets) not scruffy dressed.. got the impression from the start we werent welcome. We were advised that they were only serving roasts so we ordered out meals and drinks and sat down to wait. To be told indirectly by the Barman via another family sitting behind us, that they didnt have any food left from lunch time and that as they made a fuss about this they were told "if you dont tell the boss, ill give you some money back from your drinks order" !! we were ignored again and overheard him tell the family they only had chicken curry left. We then drank up our drinks and left, to be folllowed out by the barman who said he was going to remove the food boards off the display. As we were riding away we noticed the food boards had been placed back on the wall again and no one else left the pub. !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing