We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Place”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
s0nny3
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed here for two nights and was great, had everything needed. Great welcome basket was bonus. Good location and easy to access local towns. Would and have recommended the place to friends, Trudie was most helpful prior and during the stay!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel H
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing base for an brilliant weekend!!”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at The Annex at The Rectory for 2 nights and it was great! A lovely space perfect for what we needed which was base for exploring the surrounding villages. It was a lot bigger than we thought lots of space to move around! We were concerned it was going to be a little cold but the electric heater pumps out loads of heat and we were warm in no time! My other half is very particular about showers they need to be power and very hot and the annex did not disappoint so he was a happy bunny! The kitchen was brilliant everything you could possibly need was provided along with a lovely welcome basket with milk jam butter and cereal :) The village shop was adorable with lovely local produce which we stocked up on :) From Longbrough we visited Stroud, Morton-in-Marsh, Chipping Compton, Stow-on-the-Wold, Burton-on-the-Water and loads more and all equally as stunning as the next. We will definitely be heading back :) Thanks for such a great weekend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel C
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Highly recommended, clean studio room. The space in the annex is very well used and feels tremendously spacious. We stayed here over New Year which was a lovely quiet getaway with some beautiful walks around the Cotswold's and surrounding areas Longborough itself being quite central to a lot of walks. The owners, despite being away at the same time, were very approachable and helpful leaving information on walks in the room for our arrival and giving advice on local places to eat and drink. The village is very small and out of the way but has a lovely local shop, a farm shop and two pubs one serving fantastic food the other a friendly little place for drinks. The room was very clean and well presented with everything you need from a kitchen to make some of your own food, a nicely sized bathroom, a large and very comfortable bed, dining table and chairs, two comfortable chairs and TV. The only very minor let down in the room is the lack of a wardrobe type space to hang clothes for the evening however there are some hooks on the bathroom door that was suitable for a few days stay for the two of us; I do realize it would be unreasonable to expect a wardrobe to fit in the room and it was no issue for us. Overall a fantastic place to stay in a must visit area for those who enjoy walking, food and good local real ales. We will look to visit again as we do not feel we have seen everything in the area yet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidfLan...
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A real gem in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My purpose in taking this holiday rental was to experience a few days in a typical Cotswold village. I was not disappointed. The premises, as the name suggests, are in an outbuilding within the grounds of the main house. The accommodation forms the upper half of the building, and is reached by an outside iron staircase, which may be a problem if you have heavy luggage.The effort is, however, well worth while. The property consists if a large room, which would now be described as a studio flat. In my days, it would be called a bed-sitting room. In the main part of the room there is a double bed, two comfortable chairs, a table, television, and two dining chairs. There is a kitchenette in an alcove, which contains a microwave, hob, fridge, a double sink, and cupboards containing kitchen equipment and crockery. Trudie even provides a breakfast pack consisting if breakfast cereal, milk, butter, jam as well as coffee and tea. There is a good sized bathroom containing a toilet, washbasin, and shower. One thing I particularly liked was the entrance door to the accommodation, which was a stable type door, divided into a top and bottom half. I enjoyed opening the top half, and admiring the great country view.
Longborough village is a great village, which even has a shop, staffed by volunteers, which as well as selling a good range of produce, had a cafe. In addition, the village has a good pub, which serves food as well as a good range of beers.
The nearest railway station is Moreton-in Marsh, about 3 miles away. Although there are a number of taxi firms in Moreton-in-Marsh, I found some difficulty in arranging a taxi to take me from the station to and from Longborough.
Finally, remember this is the middle of the country. A free wi-fi is available, but it is not super fast. In addition, mobile phone reception is not reliable.
All in all, a great stay. I would certainly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, peace and quiet, attention to detail.
Liked least: Difficulty in obtaining a taxi from the nearest station
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie1023
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Find!”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We were so impressed with both the owners and the rental. We were greeted with warm smiles and a very clean and updated apartment separate from the house, so we had plenty of privacy. There were all the essentials and more, from a breakfast basket waiting in the room to fresh linens on an oversized bed. While it is only a studio apartment, it was very spacious. Our 1-year old had plenty of room to crawl around and explore. The owners were so helpful too. They pointed us in the right direction for all the good pubs, restaurants and sites. We would definitely stay here again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R
Harwell, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Great weekend at the Annex, we really enjoyed our stay. Good pubs a short walk away. Apartment lovely, clean and welcoming. Trudie helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
callum h
1 review
“Quaint place with great pubs and walks from the door.”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Loved our stay at the Annexe. The owners were very accommodating and full of advise on good food and drink locally. We ate at the pub just up the hill and it was the perfect distance to walk, not too far, not too near. The accommodation was nice and clean, a very comfy bed and chairs to sit in. All round great getaway from the city for the night.
Thank you

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing