We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem.”

Painswick Rococo Garden
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Painswick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Painswick Rococo Garden is a unique 18th century garden set in a hidden valley with lovely views of the surrounding countryside. Painswick Rococo Garden was designed in the 1740s as an English country gentleman's pleasure garden, a place for holding intimate garden parties. Laid out in a hidden valley around Painswick House, the Garden is now the country's only complete surviving rococo garden. Since 1984, an ambitious restoration programme has transformed the Garden from a woodland wilderness into a stunning place to escape the busy world. Enjoy beautifully-framed views or snuggle in one of the fanciful garden buildings. Battle to find the centre of the unusual maze and enjoy homemade food in the cafe afterwards. The Garden is famous for its snowdrop displays in winter, usually February
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The garden though not huge, seemed to swallow the other visitors and we felt as if we were there alone, just how we like it!
A fascinating insight to how gardens have developed.
The garden is beautifully kept with helpful labels of what plants are in each bed.
We were there for two hours not counting lunch, we visited on a glorious day which obvious helped. Bet the owners of the house wish it was still theirs.
The cafe is also very good, we had lovely sandwiches, the waitress very helpfully brought the coffee after we had eaten (I do get fed up with coffee that arrives before the food!) and volunteered water with ice, lemon and mint!
The plants for sale are also very reasonably priced.
What more could you want?

1  Thank weekender79584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Painswick Rococo Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the Garden and restaurant. I will pass on your comments to the staff in the restaurant and send them off to pick some more mint!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 363 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Happily spent 90 minutes going through the Gardens. Lots to see and do, and the maze was lots of fun.

Thank DavidFarrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Painswick Rococo Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed the Garden and our unusual maze.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a grand example of the rococo gardens which existed for no other reason but for the owner's pleasure. It is not very large but can be carefully covered in 45 minutes to an hour.

Thank Asheville-rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Painswick Rococo Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Very pleased that the original owner's pleasure became your pleasure as well. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Really nice gardens spread out with some great views, only criticism is that it has a maze which was a let down, it was small and you could see through the hedges so not much fun!!!

Thank Shu1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Painswick Rococo Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write you review. We are delighted you found the gardens lovely, we are sorry the maze fell short of your standards, admittedly we have only recently had to give it its annual haircut and this does mean that the hedges can take a couple of weeks to thicken up again. it is always a problem in maintaining a Garden that plants need cutting back at times!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Really pretty gardens and plenty of photo opportunities. Pretty little cafe that served fantastic cakes and food.

Thank Dionne700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Painswick Rococo Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed the Garden and the cakes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Painswick Rococo Garden also viewed

Painswick, Cotswolds
 

Been to Painswick Rococo Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing